We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service & atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Cafe

Verve Cafe
109 Edward Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
3221 5691
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 3,101 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $16 - $33
Cuisines: Dessert, Italian, Vegetarian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food, service & atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I've dined here a couple of times and stopped by for after-work drinks to sample some of their cider collection. The food is nice italian, not too expensive and there is a reasonable wine list. It is underground and the decor is quite funky. Definitely recommend for dinner or a couple of drinks with friends. I've had the gnocchi which was great and a couple of pizzas which were both good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    61
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“NICE AMBIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Visited Verve Cafe today with my daughter for lunch. I really enjoyed my experience. Food and service was excellent. A great cider list as well. Only criticism I have is that it is so dark that I actually used the light on my mobile phone to read the menu which was a laugh. Perhaps a torch or table lamp would be good. Will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Bohemian atmosphere - excellent food - heaven on a stick!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I visit here about 4 times a year with 2 very good mates We use this as our "boys" time to sit and reflect upon a wild and wacky world.

The food, especially the Risottos are brilliant and I always seem to end up with the seafood combo risotto. Absolutely brillaint.

The cider and beer are great and the wine cellar whilst not overly extensive is always, ALWAYS filled with pleasent surprises that are well within budget.

The staff are friendly, competent, respectful and friendly without being in your face or intrusive. It is hard to find a "dpwner" about Verve - so I guess I can call the elephant in the room - it is teh location of the tolilets. And IF that is the worst thing about a great restaurant I need a mouthful of cement to harden up.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Becoming my local "Cider House" when I travel to Brisbane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

A few things worth noting:
_they are a "Cider House" and have a very comprehensive cider menu featuring ciders from all over the world - something a little different
_this restaurant is in a basement, hence a number of reviews mentioning the noise as the eating area is surrounded by hard surfaces
_the service is friendly, fast and efficient - so you can get in and out quickly if you want to, but in my experience they don't rush you away if you linger at your table.
_the food is italian, very solid and great value

Just really solid, all around.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“You have to be in the right mood for this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Please don't get me wrong: the food is very good, and prices are honest. There is a bar at the rear where where you stand and sip up you favourite beer, hanging out with your mates. However, this is not a place to go for a talk-over-dinner. It is quite noisy in there and the waiters are pushed to serve you as quickly as they can, which not always results in great service.

This is not the place you want go to if you are feeling like having that thoughtful conversation about your future with your fianceé. This is that funky cafe your younger friends will be talking about, where you go to grab a quick meal and have a few drinks, heading for a night out.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verve Cafe also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
 
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Verve Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.