We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place for a night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
34 Cricket St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Ok place for a night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Aussie way was a ok place the rooms were clean and had a fridge in which you had to keep your food in as no fridge in the kitchen! You have to make your own beds and return your sheets the next day
The staff sat drinking the day we were there i had to interupt to ask for a towel while she was smoking
One toliet/shower per floor and they are together so if you need to pee and someones in the shower your in trouble!! Certainly woulf not want to stay in the summer!!
Guests were drunk and nosiey at night and very noisey in the morning! A good 10 min walk with your backpacks from the bus station and close to city centre

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
You seem to have mixed feelings about your stay at Aussie Way. The Hostel is registered for 35 people. We do have 4 bathrooms and a urinal, 2 bathrooms upstairs and 2 bathrooms downstairs. The building code is 1 bathroom and toilet to every 10 persons. So as you can see we have more than the adequate facilities. As for staff drinking that just doesn't happen while on duty. Several staff do work and live at the hostel. What you saw was a staff member not working that day enjoying a drink with friends. I hope that explanation is to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    38
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
40
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We loved Aussie Way hostel because it was so peaceful and clean. Location is good, about 15 min walk to Brisbane city. WI-FI worked well! Staff were so friendly. There was swimming pool area and yard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with Aussie Way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Booked a double room for a few nights and stayed in the 'house at the rear' with only two other double rooms on your floor with its own kitchen and lounge area. Close to the river and CBD we would highly recommend this place to couples. Clean rooms and well equipped kitchen/lounge it's a beautiful building in a buzzing city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your report. It is so satisfying to read your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Aussie Way Backpackers was my introduction to Brisbane as well as Australia, and is my 1st choice of accommodation next time I go back! It was the perfect place to begin my stay in Australia. I stayed a week and the cleaning lady came in every day; laid back and relaxing, rather than a "party hard" hostel; friendly guests, staff, & owner - I was sorry to leave!! It's true they don't refund nights that have already been paid for, but they do give vouchers which you can use next time you're in town or you can sell the voucher to someone else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Sarah thank you for your good review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hostel was pleasant enough (although we have been in a lot better since) but the most annoying thing was all the rules the hostel enforced. It was like they were dealing with children.

Maybe it's because most of the backpacking clientele in Australia are young but after the freedom of Asian hostels it was a bit of a shock to the system. We did meet some nice travelers there though and thank god it was not one of the infamous party hostels.

Its a slight walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Good to read that you found the hostel pleasant. Sorry about the signage but we are hostel in a residential street and the signs are to remind people the we must have a quiet hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I am 60 yrs old male. I really had a wonderful time in my 1st stay at a backpackers! I met a lot of really nice young people. I had to use gents a lot more than anyone and I never had any trouble finding it vacant. Bill r

Room Tip: The bigger the dorm the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Bill thank you for such a lovely report.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in a double room for 3 nights. The location is great, just a 10 minute walk into the City and 10 minute walk to the stadium (we went to a Broncos game as well). We were in a house with just two other couples so it was nice and cozy and quiet. There is a Coles and cafe´s just a few minutes walk away. The staff was very friendly and everything nice and clean.

We had a car as well. There is street parking for 2 hours or you can ask the hostel about a parking pass for a $50 deposit (you get the money back when you return the pass). I am not sure how many parking passes they have, so if you have a car, you should contact them and ask.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The 'dressing room' has a walk-in closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel

Address: 34 Cricket St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.