We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
34 Cricket St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in a double room for 3 nights. The location is great, just a 10 minute walk into the City and 10 minute walk to the stadium (we went to a Broncos game as well). We were in a house with just two other couples so it was nice and cozy and quiet. There is a Coles and cafe´s just a few minutes walk away. The staff was very friendly and everything nice and clean.

We had a car as well. There is street parking for 2 hours or you can ask the hostel about a parking pass for a $50 deposit (you get the money back when you return the pass). I am not sure how many parking passes they have, so if you have a car, you should contact them and ask.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The 'dressing room' has a walk-in closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    44
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
46
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights. It has a good location for the price and it's just 15 mins walk from the bus centre which has all main bus / rail routes and greyhound departures. I stayed in a double room which was clean and a good size. It has a vintage feel about it as it is quite old but has lots of character! The shared bathroom was clean and I always had a warm shower which was great! The kitchen is great for cooking and the tv channel options are also good for chilling. The only negative was the lack of wifi but i think it may have been more of a problem with picking it up on the iphone as people with laptops seemed to access it fine! Overall, this is cheap and cheerful!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
It was so nice to read your report. Thank you verry much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Hostel Location: On a residential street so it's nice and quiet. A 5min walk from a shopping centre with a supermarket and cinema,a 10min walk to Roma Street Station and 20min from Brisbane CBD.

Positives of Aussie Way;
+ Building's character. A proper 'Aussie' house from the outside and well finished wooden furniture inside.
+ It's own pool.
+ Foxtel TV in communal lounge.
+ Fantastic character bathroom with powerful shower.
+ A kitchen with an oven and well stocked utensils.

Negatives of Aussie Way;
- A fan but no air-con in rooms, just poorly working 'humidifiers'.
- Staff. Girl working on reception seemed like it was the last job in the world she wanted to do with short, one word answers ans no hint of a smile.

Would I Recommend To Friends: I'd definitely recommend the double room we had in the back building.

***Australia Zoo; It might seem a complicated trek from Brisbane but don't be put off. Simply go to Roma Street Station and you can get a direct train to Beerwah and the free courtesy coach to zoo from there. Pricey entrance but worth it, allow a whole day.***

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for that you would recommend our double rooms. All rooms have an aircondition unit except one room and maybe this is the room you stayed in.We didn't aircon this room because we have a small amount of people who would prefer not to have aircon. We did put a water cooler and ceiling fan in the room. I am so sorry that you were given this room and not an airconed one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Aussie Way Backpackers is a small, clean and friendly hostel. You can walk in the city and the next supermarkt is 5 minutes away. In my two month stay I had had a great time and it felt like a second home. Clean rooms with a locker and a fridge in every room. The kitchen is well-equipped and if its getting too hot you can jump in the pool to cool off. The staff is always helpful and friendly. I am looking forward to come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
It's been great having you as a guest here. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You're always welcome back here. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed long term in Aussie Way Backpackers, from November 2012 to January 2013, the staff were really friendly, a very homely hostel with a good friendly vibe where I had some amazing times.

The hostel is cleaned every morning.

Nice quiet hostel, to get some decent sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and felt so at home. We were very happy to have you stay with us too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was staying at the Aussie way backpackers in January 2013. It is not a party hostel, but a really good location for relaxing. It has a great pool and the rooms are in a very good condition. The staff is helpfull and pays a lot of attention on the cleanliness of the accommodations.

The hostel has a variety of rooms available. It even has some rooms available for families.

Once you have been to the Aussie Way Hostel, I'm very sure of it, that you'll get back there when you are in Brisbane. So if you are looking for a good hostel, where you can relax and meet some nice people, I really recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our hostel. We're pleased to hear you could relax at our hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend when travelling in Summer 2012 (Oz's winter). The owner was a very friendly man who helped us with all aspects of our stay; where to go, directions and bus times etc.

Now I have a bit of hostel-phobia so the idea of bunking up with several others doesn't appeal at all, however we had a lovely double room to ourselves which was basic but had everything we required.

The hostel has two buildings; the one at the front houses the bunk rooms and a communal kitchen and dining area and the building at the back was more of an apartment which is where we stayed both times we visited. That had a small kitchen and living room area with three bedrooms - as it was off-season it was very quiet and we never saw the other people in the apartment.

Overall a lovely stay in a very traditional colonial building - opt for a private double in the back house, the bathroom is great and as it backs onto a side road there's no car noise which is handy when you're super jet-lagged!

If I ever re-visit Brisbane on a budget, I'll definitely opt to stay here again. Oh, and the main business district of this beautiful city is literally a 5 -10 minute walk away - easy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel

Address: 34 Cricket St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.