We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, homey feel, nice rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
34 Cricket St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, homey feel, nice rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in a private double room for 2 nights in December 2012. We really liked it as it was noise free, clean, and comfortable. We didn't spend much time at the hostel, used it at night for the most part, but from the look of it, it has a nice vibe for people to connect, share their experiences, and meet others. The room felt like a hotel room, had a queen size bed, storage, fridge, dressing table, AC, large mirror. The location is very residential but less than 10 min walk to the station, and we even walked to the South-bank area, and the center, and found it quite enjoyable. Also, there are quite a few bars and restaurants near the Barracks complex which is less than 5 min walk from the hostel. can't really think of any negatives, so would definitely recommend this to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    36
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
38
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have stayed at Aussie Way a couple of times and every time we got a different room, which offered a different experience. The single/dorm rooms are quite small and a bit worn. The double rooms located in a cute separate house across the pool seem much nicer (and the ones upstairs MUCH better than the ones downstairs). In general, it is a nice and quiet hostel located very close to shops and brisbane city centre. The staff are friendly and helpful (especially the dutch girl). However, while generally clean, the hostel really should pay extra attention to their beds and perhaps invest in brand new linens (as the ones they use look really old and worn). Above all, they should do something with the BED BUGS! We got bitten in the last room we stayed in and are still suffering!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Kitchen hours (0730-2100 hrs) very restricted, which is a hassle when you wanna explore the city.

Kitchen not very well equipped and a nightmare when busy.
No actual dining area unless you don't mind sitting outside having your meal in the smoking area.

No breakfast or any extras like Wifi included. Fair enough if the room would've been nice, but: Single room was ugly, tiny, aged and dingy. The fridge and TV were very old and the TV hardly received anything. Dubios linnen.
Worst: My bed was fixed with a brick.

I reckon though $55 per night is a reasonable rate you still can expect at least a proper bed. Disgraceful!

Place was pretty quiet. But since room was situated right next to a bathroom it was noticeable that the walls were paper thin.

Showers have no doors, but only curtains and are too few anyway.

The house is beautiful Unfortunatley the property is kinda neglected: The backyard is uninviting, the sitting area is plain and the office looks unprofessional.

What a shame, so much potential here. At the moment you can see that passion and love are utterly lacking. One more hostel that just wants your best - and that is your money.
Give this place a make over and let it be run by someone with passion for hospitality and the travel industry and it could do so much better.

Room Tip: Don't book a single room! You can do much better in Brisbane!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

If you´re looking for a party place, the Aussie Way isn´t for you. It´s located in a residential street so the noise must be kept down after 10am. But that is what I was looking for. If I want to go partying, I´ll go to the party,I don´t bring it where I pay to sleep.
The hostel is built in a old house which makes it an original place. But because of it, the rooms are pretty small. the kitchen is tiny and the living room get quickly crowded.

But it would be my only complain because the staff and the atmosphere of the place are very friendly. It´s very clean, everybody picks up after themselves and are considerate. I felt like I was with a big familly while we were watching TV all together and chatting along.

the location is very good too.10 min walk from Roma street (where there is the transit centre), 15 min from the city centre and 5 min from Coles. it´s also around the corner from the Stadium, We went to a concert and did not have to walk long to go and come back from there.

WiFi available
Free coffee
free luggage storage
Big swimming pool
lockers in rooms

I thought It was a good value for money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This Hostel is great!!! We are travelling as a couple and have been travelling Australia for three months. We paid $68 for a private double room and have not been disappointed! The double rooms are situated out of the main hostel by the pool and have separate kitchen/ toilet/shower facilities and a fridge is located in every room! Its almost like having your own apartment! It also has a TV/Lounge area which is extremely comfortable and it is thoroughly cleaned every day!

Plus its really quiet so is great to catch up on sleep. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and there is a Coles located a 5 minute walk away. The CBD is around 10-15 minute walk.

I would recommend Aussie Way Backpackers to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

What you pay at this hostel is essentially what you get. Cheap rates for a fairly basic hostel. Staff were great - very friendly and accomodating - but the room itself was stuffy and the air con wasn't working when I was there. There was a fairly big outside area with seats and tables and pool and a social area inside with a TV and (uncomfortable) sofa. There is a small kitchen there which was shut at 2100 and re-opened at 0730 which isn't great for anyone wanting to have an early start or arrive back late wanting to cook dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The staff are very accommodating and the prices very reasonable. The facilities are that of a basic hostel however there are multiple showers and two male toilets which is a plus. Each room has its own lockers for storing valuables in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel

Address: 34 Cricket St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.