We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed in the Cottage - it was pretty ordinary for the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Takarakka Bush Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queensland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Takarakka Bush Resort
Save
You added Takarakka Bush Resort to your Saves list
Carnarvon Gorge via Rolleston, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #368 of 1,808 Specialty Lodging in Queensland
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“We stayed in the Cottage - it was pretty ordinary for the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Carnarvon Gorge is a brilliant place to visit. Unfortunately if you are travelling as a family and are not camping, there are few affordable options of where to stay.

We hired the cottage which is in a central part of the park. The cottage itself is one large room with double bed, bunk bed, and kitchenette with small table. There is a lounge, but it is very hard to use as it is squashed next to the bed and likely to become the place you store your luggage. It also has a shower/toilet. It is very tight and whilst clean was quite basic. The heating was functional, which is needed on cool nights in July!

So, not bad, but not great when you consider the price ($255/night). In fact it is extremely poor value for money. It is such a shame that there is not much other option for staying here. If you really don’t have other options and want to walk the Gorge, do stay – just don’t have your expectations too high!

PS - the river crossing into the caravan park is pretty rough. You can do it in a normal car, but be prepared to be very careful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    27
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
38
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We've stayed here for 3 nights this month, on a powered site (#10). Huge and beautiful camping site near a creek. Lots of birds, echidnas, kangaroos and wallabies at the campground. Spotted a platypus in the creek near the campsite (around 17:30). The park is situated 4km's from the Visitor Area where alle the walks start.
We've paid $42 a night, which you pay mainly for the location. The facilities weren't that clean and a bit dated. The campkitchen is basic, no cooker, fridge, microwave or toaster. But the location really makes up for this.
On Monday, Wednesday and Friday it's roastday. For $22 pp you can eat a roast at the reception. It isn't that good though. The meat was really tough and the vegetables weren't fresh.
Simon Ling from Australian Nature Guides will talk about the gorge and nature at the platypus circle each day at 5 pm, which is really interesting. He offers different kinds of tours, we did the Night Safari which starts at 18:15 at the Visitor Area. We got to see microbats, Yellow Bellied Gliders, Greater Gliders and a platypus. It's only $20 pp and a great tour.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH MISSION BEACH QLD
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Off the beaten track(only 20 or so ks) this location is great for a few days to explore the Carnarvon Gorge. Caravan sites are open with enough shady trees around to make it a very enjoyable spot. Facilities are clean and tidy, staff are very friendly. The gorge itself is a wonderful sight with plenty of walks. The walks could do with a few extra seats along the way. Overall a great spot for a quiet break. No mobile phones out here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

6 of us camped at Takarakka Bush Resort during April. We really enjoyed our stay. The cooking facilities were very helpful and meant we could travel without as much cooking supplies. The facilities very clean and we loved the creek and the location. We were lucky enough to see a platypus at the platypus pool late one afternoon. Would love to stay here again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from our 5 night stay at Takarakka Bush Resort located 4kms away from Carnarvon Gorge National Park. It was one of the better camping facilities we have stayed at - very peaceful and well looked after.

We camped during school holidays over Easter - so it was one of the busiest times of the year. However, it wasn't overcrowded and we still had ample oportunity to relax and enjoy the bush resort. The resort was well spread out among the native bush. There was a lookout and a platypus pool down by the river (where we spent most of our spare time, under a shade of a tree, on our camp chairs, feet in the sand.)

We stayed in an unpowered campsite, close to a clean and large camp kitchen (2 sets of gas cookers, 2 electric urns, 4 sets of powerpoints, 6 large tables, 4 sink areas). The amenity blocks were clean. There was one laundry room in the resort. If one didn't want to camp (there are also powered sites), there were safari styled tents and ensuite cabins.

We saw ample wildlife in the Takarakka grounds - including pretty-faced wallabies, betongs and an echnidna, as well as cockatoos, ravens, kingfishers, kookaburras and other native birds.

The staff at Takarakka were really lovely and helpful. There is a well-equipped shop at the reception - with quite reasonable prices (at least compared to most other hotels, caravan parks etc, etc where we have stayed). They had frozen meats, bread, eggs, milk, butter, cheese, cold drinks, icecream etc (especially luxurious for those of us with unpowered sites!) as well as the more typical canned and packaged goods.

If you want to join in activities in the Gorge, such as tours with Simon Ling - from Australian Nature Guides (we did a night tour and a day tour - highly recommend it) - you can book through Takarakka. Because of the school holidays, the resort had organised various activities for the children, and a ranger came from the National Park to give an evening slideshow.

We really recommend Takarakka Bush Resort - and recommend that you give yourself some time to enjoy the grounds - especially the platypus pool and the river.

Tip: make sure you bring some insect repellent - the mosquitoes were out in full force after the rains.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

One of the best ‘bush-style’ resorts located right near a National Park. We camped for two nights on a powered site (#5). The resort is well-maintained and tranquil. It strikes a nice balance of modern convenience within a charming bush setting.
The accommodation varies from Ensuite Cabins to ‘Taka’ Tents to powered and unpowered sites. There is a clean and welcoming outdoor kitchen and dining area. The shower and toilet block is modern and spacious. Plant-life and trees adorn grassed areas, and a creek flows to the east of the property. There is even a lookout offering views of the Gorge.
But best of all is the abundance of resident wildlife and nature. We saw echidnas, kangaroos, kookaburras and other types of birds during our stay. One morning we even awoke to the sight of kangaroos ‘boxing’ each other, or play-fighting!
The resort staff is friendly and helpful, in particular Renata, who radiated genuine warmth and joy. She was always helpful and gave good advice when asked. The nearby Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge was closed when we visited in December, whereas Takarakka Resort is open year-round (except for Christmas). However, I would choose to stay again at Takarakka Bush Resort in a heartbeat, should we revisit Carnarvon Gorge N.P.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takabus, Manager at Takarakka Bush Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We love to see our guests enjoy the beautiful surroundings as much as we all do. Remember though, we are open all year round, even Christmas time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Takarakka Bush Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takarakka Bush Resort

Address: Carnarvon Gorge via Rolleston, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #368 of 1,808 Specialty Lodging in Queensland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Takarakka Bush Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.