We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Pandanas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Pandanas to your Saves list
Mantra Pandanas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Knuckey Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I took advantage of a sale Mantra were having and was able to get an ocean view (with balcony) studio apartment, including breakfast (and parking which l didn't use) for $169. From the description on the website, however, it appears l was upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment, as the bedroom was separate from the living area. The open plan living and dining area was huge, with a sofa, chair, small dining table and desk, and a feature l always look for in a hotel room, a stand on which to place your suitcase. There was a tv in both the living area and bedroom. One thing to note is that the living room tv (which included the pay per view movies) only showed the basic free-to-air channels and the Austar channels (mainly sport!). The tv in the bedroom has the full suite of free-to-air channels.

The kitchen area contained more than enough crockery/cutlery (although a couple of things were missing, for example there was only 1 knife and fork - although l later found another knife in the bottom of the dishwasher!). Dishwashing detergent/dishwasher powder/tea towels were included. I just noted this because l've been in apartments where they don't give you a tea towel, instead expect you to use the dishwasher for the small amount of washing up you need to do!

The bathroom was HUGE, the most impressive hotel bathroom l had ever been in, with a washing machine and dryer, (including sachets of laundry detergent) a bath and massive separate walk in shower. Quality toiletries were included. There was also an extraction fan (which is not always present in hotel bathrooms, resulting in a bathroom full of steam after you've had a shower), and 2 large mirrors. What more could you ask for?

The room also contained a dehumidifier, 3 ceiling fans and 2 air conditioners!

If you want Internet access in your room, you have to pay, however you can access the internet for free (you are asked to limit it to 30 mins a day) via the 2 terminals located in the cafe area. I only found this out by accident, it would be great if this could be mentioned in the room handbook.

The buffet breakfast was fine, and on the days l used it, there was plenty of seating available.

All of the staff l dealt with were efficient, friendly and professional.

The pool area was lovely, and there was only ever 1 other person in the pool whilst l was there.

The view from my 16th floor apartment was just breathtaking, you could see the ships in the harbour, and watch the afternoon storms roll in.

Darwin is a fairly small city, so everything was in walking distance, supermarkets, shopping centres, the Post Office and Information Centre. It was about a 15 minute walk to the redeveloped wharf area.

I highly recommend the Mantra Pandanas.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an ocean view room with a balcony, it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Carrie C,
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write such a positive review. We really do appreciate your comments which I have shared with my team. I am also pleased to advise that our digital upgrade has now been fully completed with the new TV's showing all of the free to air channels in the living rooms as well as the bedrooms. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Kind regards
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    151
    81
    30
    13
See reviews for
25
114
22
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed in this hotel few times and had no complains but after what happened on March 12, 2014, I will never return. Darwin has no power that day and the hotel evacuated us at around 3 am for safety and was not able to go back to our rooms until about 130 pm. For the price paid I think it's not worth staying in a hotel without their own generator. The reason they say is because the hotel is bigger than other hotels in town to have their own generator. What about the guest comfort? Will you leave your paying guest like squatters loitering in your lobby or even in the streets of Darwin? in case situation like that happen again which I assume to be very rare. Should guest get the price they pay for the accommodation? They must plan for things like this because the possibility is there , there must be a plan in place, putting their guest comfort as the priority .I haven't heard any apology from the top management but I salute their staff who was helpful at that time. I think the guests need to get a refund for the accommodation paid that day or deserve to be compensated for the fatigue they cause to their guest who was deprived of sleep and comfort. I will be back in Darwin but booked Hilton Darwin after I confirmed that they have their own generator!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear emersonmd27,
Thank you for commenting on the power outage emergency in Darwin and it was indeed an unprecedented situation. The subsequent evacuation of the hotel was a mandatory safety requirement and we do appreciate that this was a very disruptive experience for you. The emergency lighting ceased after two hours as it is designed to and the evacuation was conducted 30 minutes before this to allow enough time. We do apologise that this incident tainted your stay in Darwin and thank you for your kind comments about our team who did everything possible to ensure the safety and well being of our guests.
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I am really disappointed with the way Mantra handled the blackout situation. At 3am we were forced from our rooms to ground floor where we were sprawled everywhere. Told we were not allowed back into our rooms until the power is taped. Forced to sit and sleep on hard floors.

By 7am they were letting small groups of people return to their room for essentials and by 11am we were free to go back to our rooms, even though the power was still not restored.

My question is at 3am we were told we couldn't go back in. By 7am allowed to very essentials and by 11am. Why could we all have just stayed in our rooms to rest in the cool rather than being held hostage in a oxygen deprived environment?

Worst part is that I have another week here next week that is prepaid :-(

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear NickTrezise,

Thank you for staying with us and for commenting on yesterday's power outage situation which was experienced across the region. We all agree that it was unpleasant and I believe that we acted appropriately and within the guidelines of our emergency procedures.
Please be advised that we fully implemented our power outage emergency procedure which involves a request for evacuation to the ground level before the emergency lighting ceases. If there was a more serious emergency it would then be considered unsafe to evacuate without emergency lighting. During the morning, bottled water and breakfast cakes were provided and any advice from the media was provided as requested.
After reassessing the situation later in the morning, we had enough staff members to allow safe escort to rooms for essential items only. However, in a 28 storey building this is a slow process. Later on when we had enough staff members stationed with torches to cover the exit points on each level we were then able to allow those who wanted, to return to their rooms.

Apart from this emergency situation and associated discomfort, I hope that everything else is to your liking and please do not hesitate to contact me personally if I can make your stay more comfortable.
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

One of the best centrally located places in Darwin. The apartment style room has everything for self catering. Downside was lack of a balcony. I have now stayed here 3 times once with free parking otherwise $15 per night. Highly recommend Pandanas. The pool pool and gym excellent and a sense of privacy.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Lndon,
Many thanks for your positive feedback and thanks fo choosing to stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed on the 8th Floor in a hotel room with a glimpse of water and mainly roof tops. We could not really fault the room quite spacious with a king size bed and lounge in front of the TV, desk etc. Shower was terrific with a large head and plenty of hot water. What I could fault was the TV reception, always dropping in and out and when you are watching something on TV after a certain amount of time it defaults back to the Foxtel paid movie channel - very annoying. The hotel is not right in the middle of town but just a short stroll to shops and restaurants and Woolworths is just up the road - very handy. We had our breakfast included each morning in our package and it was very adequate with the usual bacon and eggs, cereals, fruit, pastries etc. Parking was also included in our package and there was never any problem finding a space on level 1 or 2. The lifts are terrific - very fast so no waiting around for them. All in all a great place to stay when in Darwin. Next time I would get a higher room and one with cooking facilities.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Jenbell58,
It was great to read your review and thanks so much for choosing to stay at Mantra Pandanas during your visit to Darwin. We agree that we are well suited for both business and pleasure and pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall. I do apologise for the issues with the TV reception which was caused by a faulty receiver and I can advise that this problem was rectified by the supplier shortly after you departed. Thank you again for your positive comments and we do hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to the Top End!
Kind regards
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Very nice hotel! I stayed in a room on higher floor and the views were amazing, the most beautiful sunset over Darwin. Room had cooking facilities and all modern decor, even a dryer and washing machine to do your own laundry. Hotel is in a great location, just minutes walk from the shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose high floor for great sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi Karita84,
Thanks for staying at Mantra Pandanas and we really appreciate you taking the time to review your experience. We're delighted that you enjoyed the amazing views, facilities and location and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Mantra Pandanas on a trip through the top end and found the accommodation perfect. We were there for a week so decided to stay in a water view studio apartment with cooking facilities as this gave us the flexibility to cook at home some nights. The room was on the 17th floor with uninterrupted views to the to the water and the most amazing sunsets, so we made good use of the balcony each evening with a bottle of wine.

I would highly recommend booking a water view room as they are on the top half of the building and for those longer stays a kitchenette always comes in handy

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi Joseph,
Thank you for your positive comments and for choosing to stay with us. It's great to read that you enjoyed the fabulous views from your balcony and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Darwin.
Kind regards
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Pandanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Pandanas

Address: 43 Knuckey Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#6 Business Hotel in Darwin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Pandanas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Darwin, Mantra Pandanas combines sophisticated city chic with Darwin's famous laid back, tropical culture, making this property an ideal base for your Darwin business trip or accommodation choice for the perfect holiday escape. Offering 336 studio, hotel, one and two bedroom apartment style rooms, Mantra Pandanas is supremely appointed with modern contemporary decor and luxury amenities. Selected rooms include a private balcony offering panoramic views across Darwin Harbour and Darwin city skyline, and serves as the perfect vantage point to enjoy the setting sun. Apartments include kitchenette and laundry facilities and can also act as an office with selected apartments providing guests with modem and facsimile lines plus ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service. Mantra Pandanas is the perfect accommodation option for travellers who are relocating to the Northern Territory or who are on a long stay work assignment. It is also a perfect base for travellers looking to explore NT's stunning natural beauty and abundant local tourist attractions Mantra Pandanas also features two Darwin conference venues which have been designed to equally cater for small meetings right through to theatre style professional presentation. Special occasions, events, functions, weddings and conferences can also be catered for with banquet facilities for up to 140 delegates. The resort offers premium onsite facilities guests can enjoy including, Table Forty Three restaurant and bar, lagoon style swimming pool, spa and fully equipped gym. Guest services include 24 hour reception, internet lounge and business area, tour desk and tour booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mantra Pandanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Pandanas Darwin
Mantra Pandanas Hotel Darwin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Pandanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.