We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mantra Pandanas - What can I say?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Pandanas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Pandanas to your Saves list
Mantra Pandanas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Knuckey Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NT Rates for All
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Darwin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mantra Pandanas - What can I say?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband and I decided to stay at Mantra Pandanas for Australia Day. When I made my booking I said we were coming in to see the fireworks so would like a room that was high enough up to be able to see them from the balcony. The day before our arrival I called again and said why we were staying there and could we have a room with a view - both times we were assured we would get one. When we arrived we again said we wanted the room with the view the guy assured us we had one. Get to the room, look out the window straight into the windows of the office block opposite. Went down to reception and said the only view we had was of an office block - very condescending guy said we should be able to see the SkyCity fireworks - yeah right. He was not prepared to do anything for us. What a surprise we couldn't see the fireworks but could hear the bangs! Whoo Hoo NOT. Also I found hairs in the bed (of the short and curly kind) which were not ours as they were there before we got in! Told reception - who didn't seem to care - and they offered us free breakfast (guys would have been nice if you offered to change the sheets!). I am not sure how many more times I could have reminded them that we wanted the view. Definitely would NOT stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear ConstableKnapweed,
Thank you for writing about your stay with us earlier this year in January and I am sorry that at the time we could not accommodate your request for a room with a view of the fireworks. The room type booked was a city view room and whilst there may have been no availability to upgrade to a water view room, this should have been made clearer by our staff to you when you enquired. We have since increased our training with a continued focus on improving our customer service levels and we would be delighted to welcome you back one day.
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    138
    77
    30
    13
See reviews for
23
109
21
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

The highlight for me was the prime location opposite centerlink making it super easy to follow the local dole bludgers to find the local TAB

Not much in the way of entertainment here, amuse yourself by jumping on the beds, but be careful as the double beds are two singles pushed together and a double bounce in the center can send you crashing through to the floor

Don't get too excited about the restaurant below unless your employer is covering the food bill and you don't have very high culinary standards

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Bruce L,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Mantra Pandanas and for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. We're glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the top end.
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I've stay at the Mantra Pandanas previously and decided to stay once again for a business trip.

Overall the hotel is great. It is located close in close walking distance to Mitchell Street and in central location.

When checking in I was in the line with two of my male colleagues behind me, the young guy proceeded to address the males ahead of me and when I spoke he questioned them. Very rule and completely unprofessional.

I stayed in a standard room which was clean and had a great sized bathroom. The only issues were that the hot water runs out quickly, the shower floods the bathroom floor and the spare blanket in the cupboard was disgustingly dirty and obviously had not been cleaned in quite some time as it was covered in white crusty marks!

The room service was amazing. The service was extemely quick and the food was great.

I also had an appoinment at the spa whilst onsite and while is it extremely overpriced the service and product is great.

Aside from a few small issues, the hotel is great and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Go for an apartment rather than standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again at Mantra Pandanas for your business trip and for taking the time to write about your visit. It's good to hear that you enjoyed our central location, amazing room service and great spa experience. I was sorry to hear of the issues you experienced in your room and I will address these with our Maintenance Manager and Executive Housekeeper for urgent attention. It's great to know that you would stay again and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Darwin.
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxenford, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Enjoyed our corner apartment at Mantra Pandanus. Easy walking to attractions in Darwin city and the walkway to the Waterfront precinct. Staff friendly and helpful, room spacious and clean, and a balcony big enough to enjoy.

Room Tip: The higher the better, for a great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Mantra Pandanas and for taking the time to write about your recent experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed our friendly and helpful staff as well as our spacious clean rooms and our central city location, which does indeed make it easy to walk around town.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Pandanas on your next visit to Darwin.
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have stayed here a lot over the last couple of years, and sometimes I wonder why I do. The layout of the rooms is probably why I keep going back. There's plenty of room, a good sized dining table, 4 chairs, a useful kitchenette and a decent fridge - not a pokey little bar fridge like many other hotels. There's also a reasonable sized balcony for each room.
The problem with this hotel is the cleaning. More often than not, the rooms are not cleaned until mid to late afternoons. I know getting staff and keeping them is an issue in Darwin, but it's just not good enough. To make it worse, the standatd of cleaing is, mostly pretty terrible. The mould and stains in the bathrooms need some serious attention, and the staff need to check the sofas...the one in the room on my most recent was shocking, and the seats neeed to be propped up with cushions. The sofa should probably be thrown out. The room 'keys' are a constant problem, and the plastic cards rarely work well all the time. On my most recent stay, as with so many other I have had to return to reception, tell them my cards are'nt working and receive the same old half-hearted apology. It really is not good enough.
The food in the restaurant is not great and is expensive. Despite all this, I will probably keep staying there....until I can find something better.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Jaycar98,
Thank you for staying at Mantra Pandanas and for your feedback.
It is disappointing to see we have not been able to meet your expectations in regards to the cleanliness of the room. In regards to the timing of the service, during the busy months of the dry season we do our best to ensure we clean all rooms in a timely manner. I have spoken with my Executive Housekeeper who has also read your feedback and will organize extra training to ensure the standards are met. The keys in the past have been a problem but we have sourced another supplier and are trailing a better quality card to hopefully fix this issue.
Once again I thank you for the feedback and please be rest assured it will be actioned.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Pandanas and you see an improvement in the overall standard in the near future.
Kind Regards
David Brill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We booked 3 nights accommodation at the Mantra Esplanade 2 months ( and confirmed 3 weeks) before our visit. We wanted to stay on the Esplanade NOT in the CBD and booked direct with the hotel.. On the way from the airport we received a phone message that, due to overbookling, we'd been moved to the Mantra Bandanas - in the CBD.
We made it clear we were not happy, not that it did any good. They did however then inlcude breakfast.. Although we were assured that the accomodation was equal and we even had an ocean view ( yes 6 blocks away, over rooftops, parking areas and a noisy building site! ) that was not the case and we were very disappointed.The apartment, although well equipped was small, especially the bedroom and bathroom. The overall serviceand breakfast was very average. Certainly won't book any Mantra again.

Room Tip: We didn't even get the hotel we selected!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear 906fran,
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your recent visit to Darwin. it is with regret we had to move you from Mantra on the Esplanade to our sister Hotel mantra Pandanas. This was due to a glitch in our system but I understand your disappointment in not being able to stay in the Hotel of your choice. Please be rest assured this is not a regular occurrence and I apologize on behalf of the Darwin Mantra Group.
Kind Regards

David Brill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I recently stayed 2 nights for business. The location is central, the room was very nice and also clean, but I had a couple of service issues with lacklustre staff and I do not consider myself to be 'high maintenance". Overall I'm happy to recommend the hotel but personally will be selecting another hotel next trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Mlleruby,
Thank you for your feedback during your recent visit to Darwin.
I am pleased to see the location and style of accommodation was to your liking. In regards to the service standards, we are currently in the middle of a training program which has identified areas where we need to improve and these are being addressed as we speak. I am confident if you were to stay with us on your next visit to Darwin you will see a lift in the service standards at the Hotel.
Kind Regards,
David Brill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Pandanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Pandanas

Address: 43 Knuckey Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Pandanas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Darwin, Mantra Pandanas combines sophisticated city chic with Darwin's famous laid back, tropical culture, making this property an ideal base for your Darwin business trip or accommodation choice for the perfect holiday escape. Offering 336 studio, hotel, one and two bedroom apartment style rooms, Mantra Pandanas is supremely appointed with modern contemporary decor and luxury amenities. Selected rooms include a private balcony offering panoramic views across Darwin Harbour and Darwin city skyline, and serves as the perfect vantage point to enjoy the setting sun. Apartments include kitchenette and laundry facilities and can also act as an office with selected apartments providing guests with modem and facsimile lines plus ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service. Mantra Pandanas is the perfect accommodation option for travellers who are relocating to the Northern Territory or who are on a long stay work assignment. It is also a perfect base for travellers looking to explore NT's stunning natural beauty and abundant local tourist attractions Mantra Pandanas also features two Darwin conference venues which have been designed to equally cater for small meetings right through to theatre style professional presentation. Special occasions, events, functions, weddings and conferences can also be catered for with banquet facilities for up to 140 delegates. The resort offers premium onsite facilities guests can enjoy including, Table Forty Three restaurant and bar, lagoon style swimming pool, spa and fully equipped gym. Guest services include 24 hour reception, internet lounge and business area, tour desk and tour booking service. Maintenance Notice: Refurbishment work is being undertaken on the plunge pool area 16 December until 16 January 2015. Guests will instead be able to access the resident lap pool as an alternative. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Pandanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Pandanas Darwin
Mantra Pandanas Hotel Darwin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Pandanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.