We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, swmming pool and cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Banyan View Lodge to your Saves list
Banyan View Lodge
119 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean, swmming pool and cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

The location is not very good but good enough if you're looking for a good night rest. If you're yound and want to party it's maybe not the best.

It is one of the cheaper hostels in Darwin, everything is very expensive! The rooms are big an clean, could be bigger as I had a creepy guy roommate who was looking at me while I was slepping. And another guy was looking while a girl was taking a shower. Last but not least, there was a guy who got really drunk every night and became very aggresive with his pregnant girlfriend. I think the topfloor was specially for women with kids who need to get out of their normal life or something. So there were some kids running around; not the best location for them.

The kitchen is very big and has everything you need. The fridge could be bigger but it was alright.

The service wasn't very good as I accidently booked a night too much. They promised I would get my money back on my creditcard but they didn't do it at all and it's more then a month ago.

On the website they say there are free computers but only 1 is working and the internet is very slow. Most of the time somebody else is on it so you need to wait.

For the price it's alright but if your'e staying longer than a week in Darwin I would recommend another hostel where they use a weekly rate.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    32
    38
    21
    20
See reviews for
12
34
45
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011 via mobile

Rooms are spacious and clean. Location is good - 5 min to city centre. The garden is nothing special but nice. This is not a party hostel! internet and laundry where broken but kitchen is clean.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

I stayed here on 3 different occasions! Would 100% recommend! Rooms are very spacious! Kitchen very good size and clean as are bathrooms! Free Internet on one PC not the quickest but does the job! Good location about 5 minute walk to the centre of Mitchell Street!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights. We had a nice, clean double room. I think we were lucky our room had a new bed,fridge, etc. The rest of the hostel looked a bit outdated. The kitchen was very clean, only 4 forks available was a bit weird. Bathrooms were fine, but of the three toilets only one had a working lock.
Location is nice, not too close to noisy parts of the Mitchel street. Staff was helpful. Free internet is useless, as it is really slow and only one PC, impossible to get.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

I stayed there for two nights. it was nice, because it wasn't right in the citycenter but walking there took only 5 minutes. bed was cozy and room was big enough for two people to feel comfortable not squeesed in. aircondition worked properly. flat screen tv in common room. I defenetly recomend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

Average location, about 10-15 min walk to main restaurants and bars, clean, lots of showers and toilets which are cleaned daily, only 1 comp now as other broke so its pretty hard to get on it for the free internet access! 3 kitchens, great little outdoor eating and drinking are and BBQ with terrace, free car parking if you have a vehicle, secure, great for doing laundry lots of outside & inside drying area, little arrival kit too which is great usually has shampoo, shower gel, body lotion etc which is a nice little luxury! Free pool and jacuzzi!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moret-sur-Loing, France
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

I thought I would be saving alot of money with them, free internet connection as they say, wonderful location, blah blah....

Well yea, they have two computers to be used with free internet connection by the whole buidling and more often that not because of the slow PC, everyone's stuck waiting. For a a AUD30 difference (I got a shared), for example you could stay at an ensuite in Darwin central with a breakkie, so I think I ended up paying more with all the extras.

And you're some 10 min walk to the Centre.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan View Lodge

Address: 119 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan View Lodge (BVL)is owned and operated by the YWCA of Darwin. The lodge offers budget accommodation for all travelers and provides an addition income stream for the community services programs the YWCA of Darwin run. We are conveniently located just five minutes walk from shops, bars, cafes and restaurants. With its relaxing atmosphere and friendly staff Banyan View Lodge is the ideal place to make the most of your Top End experience. With our ideal location we offer a quiet alternative to the other budget accommodation and backpacker establishments in Darwin. Relax in our tropical gardens, enjoy a BBQ or take a dip in our sparkling swimming pool. Limited off street parking is available and a bus stop is located directly outside the Lodge. With a range of accommodation – from dormitories through to ensuite – Banyan View Lodge caters to travelers on all budgets. We offer a large communal kitchen, fridges in all rooms, TV lounges, coin operated laundry and FREE Internet at our two terminal computers! With our garden backing on to Doctor's Gully, one of the last remaining rainforest pockets in the inner city area, you can enjoy the sounds of the birds and observe the wildlife first hand. The lodge is in easy walking distance to many of the activities Darwin has to offer. Our recent renovations have seen the new common area & kitchen opened as well as the introduction of a food service between 6.30pm - 7.30pm Monday - Friday. Banyan View Lodge also hosts a coffee kiosk selling some of the best coffee and snacks in Darwin 7am - 2pm. Hot pies, cold drinks & ice-lollies are available all day during office hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Banyan View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan View Hotel Darwin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.