We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hingstons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hingston Chinese Restaurant & Take Away

Hingston Chinese Restaurant & Take Away
53 Yanyula Drive ANULA, Darwin, Northern Territory 0812, Australia
08 8927 8088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 248 Restaurants in Darwin
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hingstons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This little Chinese Restaurant in Anula is one of the best. Being my local, I go there a lot. The food is great, and its always a good chat with Hingston the owner. He always has an opinion from politics to sport, you name it, he will tell you.....
Well priced....BYO, and they will do something not on the menu too. Try it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    13
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Takeawy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great service and menu.
Didn't have to wait too long although this is a very popular takeaway. The Calimari was beautiful. Handy location in the Northern Suburbs and prices are good too.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

After having read the rave reviews here, we were looking forward to our meal. Peking Duck was good but other dishes were bland and un-authentic. It reminded me of Chinese restaurants of 40 years ago when the dishes were tailored to what were thought to be Western tastes. Otherwise how did all that celery get in the dishes?
Compared with what we are used to in Melbourne, the dishes seemed remarkably dull and quite expensive

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious and fresh, with a great variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hingston lives up to its name and all the other reviews posted here. We have a family tradition of going there on our birthdays and having the peking duck (as mentioned before you have to order it 24 hours in advance). On weekends if you're ordering take-away, sometimes the wait can be up to an hour when they are really busy (proves how popular they are), so don't leave it too late to order. I heard the stuffed chillis (not on the menu and you have to order 24 hours in advance) are great, but haven't tried it yet as we always order our favourites. The garlic, black pepper prawns (dry) are great too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

This place lives up to its reputation for great food and value. We got takeaway so I can't rate the atmosphere but who cares when it tastes this good. A little out of the way if you're in the city but worth the drive.

Order ahead as wait times can be big.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hingston Chinese Restaurant & Take Away also viewed

 
Darwin, Top End
Darwin, Top End
 

Been to Hingston Chinese Restaurant & Take Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hingston Chinese Restaurant & Take Away, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.