We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pee Wee's At The Point

Pee Wee's At The Point
Alec Fong Lim Drive, East Point Reserve, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
61 8 8981 6868
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 248 Restaurants in Darwin
Price range: $19 - $50
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food in a fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant stands alone past Nightcliff Beach in the park. It looks back at Darwin City across the water. Although it was a stormy looking night, the view was spectacular. We arrived before sunset and so watched the changing of the colours across the water and finally the lights of the city coming on. The tables on the deck are right at the shore within an industrial design open plan restaurant. Service was great and the food interesting and delicious. It features much of the Top End local produce. It is a very special night out.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    78
    41
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Quality restaurant but beware unexpected charge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We chose Pee Wee's on the Point based on Tripadvisor reviews for a special Anniversary. It was our first time in Darwin and we hadn't realised quite how far outside town the restaurant was. We were staying on the Waterfront and the taxi fare was $25 AUD each way. Admittedly this was our misjudgment but a warning to others staying in town without transport.

On the plus side the restaurant is in a wonderful location, the staff were very professional and, most importantly, the food was good.

On the negative side, because of the unsettled weather we were originally going to be seated inside which frankly has the atmosphere of a canteen. Fortunately a table in the covered patio area was found for us. We chose a prawn and bug starter to share. Our waiter (to his credit) did alert us that for $24 AUD we got three prawns and some bug chopped into the salad, not enough to share. Our strategy changed to going straight to Mains and sharing a dessert. The Duck and Pork Belly were both very tasty. Certainly ample portions in contrast to some earlier reviews.

The shared Chocolate Dessert was also good and certainly sufficient to be shared.

Now we come to my real gripe. We ate on a Sunday. When presented with the bill there was a 10% 'Sunday' surcharge which on Pee Wee's prices is not insignificant. There is no mention of this surcharge on their website and no mention was made when we booked by telephone. It is many years since we last ate in the Northern Territory so maybe this is a more recent innovation or maybe it is a Pee Wee's 'one off' but be warned.

In summary, we had an tasty meal and the staff and location are both very good . However, I feel potential diners might find my feedback of value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Went on a Friday night. Beautiful setting and very fine dining experience. Staff very knowledgable but at times seemed to try too hard and didnt seem natural.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great Location and fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Spent our last night in Darwin there. Great location with an outlook over the water and Darwin city. There is outside seating which we would have chosen however there was an electrical storm in progress with lightening providing a great backdrop to the city.

Great service and friendly staff. Fully licenced with a great selection of wines. An extensive menu and given the location and presentation reasonably priced.

Great location for special occasions, a wedding there would be sensational.

We enjoyed our dinner and will revisit when next in Darwin.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

As was to be expected this is an exceptionally good restaurant. The vista has to be seen to be believed as it overlooks the bay/harbour of Darwin. In the evening it is particularly great watching the sunset. The service was very good as was the food and the wine selection.
The best time of the year to go is during the dry season when there is outdoor seating and the temperature is perfect for whiling away a slow evening with a loved one or friends.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pee Wee's At The Point also viewed

 

Been to Pee Wee's At The Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pee Wee's At The Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.