We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pee Wee's At The Point

Pee Wee's At The Point
Alec Fong Lim Drive, East Point Reserve, Darwin, Northern Territory 0801, Australia
61 8 8981 6868
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 232 restaurants in Darwin
Price range: $19 - $50
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Great location and nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I had been working in Darwin for 12 months and Pee Wees was high on my wish list to visit. I was not disappointed. We were seated outside and it was just lovely. I had been afraid we would be bombarded with mossies but not the case. The food is lovely and the location is great. I loved this restaurant and it well deserves its reputation. Great for a special occasion

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    176
    59
    32
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little disappointed the second time...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

First time I went there it was absolutely amazing and good value for our money even though it is a little pricey. Our waiter was exceptional and really made us feel welcome with his charismatic jokes. The view is amazing so make sure you get there in time to watch the sun setting. However the second time we went it was quite the opposite and after complaining that the food was not as amazing at all (you have to if you're paying that much for it) the manager apologised but made us feel like there was something wrong with our taste buds rather than their food. We were always keen to go back but after that experience, I think we'd rather risk going to a different restaurant than be disappointed with what high expectations we had! We'll think thrice before we're back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great service great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

This is fine dining so expect to pay a bit more but you won't be disappointed; grand service in a lush environment fantastic building with wonderful thoughtful touches. Mains weren't as good as entrees but overall lovely evening we'll be back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Visitors will love it .. the Dry Season nights would be magical here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

You will need a car (or a taxi) to get to the restaurant as it is around 7km away from the Darwin GPO. However once there, the views are spectacular as you look across the water to Fannie Bay as the restaurant is located right on the waterfront. It caters for all seasons - having an air-conditioned indoor area, an outdoor balcony area and waterfront tables on a paved area.

Tip: You may need some insect repellent at sunset if you're sitting beside the water.

The service was excellent and the food was quite good however the prices were a bit pricey compared to other reputable restaurants in Darwin.

We had the Hazelnut Panfried Chicken ($39) which was stuffed with baby spinach and brie. I chose it as it came with potatoes & carrots and therefore didn't have to buy any Side Dishes ($12). Wine prices are what you would expect for a place like this, a bit above-average.

After the sun goes down, the ambience would be romantic and the venue makes for a lovely "special" occasion event but our visit was "just for a meal" and therefore we didn't consider it good value for money. It would make a beautiful wedding reception venue as they have a large grassed area and the beach would allow some good photograph opportunities.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great meal, excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our table was right on the waters edge, very romantic. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable. Food was delicious and good sized portions. Wine waiter Rice was spot on with the wine suggestions.
We had a really good night with a beautiful meal.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pee Wee's At The Point also viewed

 

Been to Pee Wee's At The Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pee Wee's At The Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.