We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great natural attraction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berry Springs Nature Park

Berry Springs Nature Park
Cox Peninsula Road, Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
+61 8 8988 6310
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 43 Attractions in Darwin
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Berry Springs Nature Park, is a great location close to Darwin where you can enjoy a refreshing swim and a BBQ. A great place to unwind after spending a day at the Territory Wildlife Park. Please check our website for access to swimming. During the wet season, October-April, the pools may be closed when swimming is considered to be unsafe.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great natural attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We all enjoyed an evening swim after the Territory Wildlife Park. It was clean, fun and free. The water is a constant 29 C . Three pools are available, the top and middle pools are the nicest, we swam up the creek from the middle to the top pool.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    79
    21
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“OMG, SOOOOO good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Waterfall, warm clear water, fish, not too crowded. What more could you ask? We spent an entire afternoon just lazing about in the water.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My idea of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

About an hour's drive from Darwin this is an easy day trip. We went mid-week and while there were people about it wasn't crowded. There are signs making it easy to find. Take lunch, but no bottles as glass isn't allowed. The Rainbow Café was closed when we were there, but there are plenty of tables and benches. The area is very well kept with change rooms and toilets. Take sunscreen, of course, and insect repellent. The biteys are ubiquitous in this part of the world.

The main attraction is the water, which gushes from a spring. It is fresh and clear, and a perfect temperature. There are three main spots for swimming - the waterfall, the Main Pool, and the Lower Pool. Both the latter have ladders giving easy access. They are deep in parts, you can't stand up in them, so either swim, tread water, or bring a flotation device. They are beautiful pools fringed with tropical pandanus and palms, with bird life around. Bobbing at the surface you can see dragonflies in iridescent colours. It is truly heavenly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A cool spot for a swim”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Berry Springs is a great place for a family Picnic or BBQ. You can cool off in the pools and relax. Lots of shady trees and good toilet facilities. Parking can sometimes be difficult as it is a popular spot.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Lovely place to relax in warm spring water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We enjoyed Berry Springs are one of our favourite places to swim on our 2 week trip through the top end and Kimberley. Lovely warm waters, a small waterfall that you can swim behind, plus different pools to spread the load of visitors and places to explore.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berry Springs Nature Park also viewed

 

Been to Berry Springs Nature Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berry Springs Nature Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.