We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast is served” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Salvatores Cafe

Salvatores Cafe
Smith Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
(08) 8941 9823
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 248 Restaurants in Darwin
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Café, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Salvatores Cafe, opened in 1997 by Sean Johnston.Located in the heart of darwin, Australia boasting a reputation for quality coffee with convienant opening hours.Our in house chef Dario Mannino has selected some wonderful Italian dishes, from both the north and the south. Breakfast, lunch and dinner.We are fully licensed and priced reasonably.Check out our website for a copy of our menus.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Breakfast is served”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I only had charge back breakfast here once however the staff were friendly, food was fresh and very well priced. Next time round I must try them for dinner!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    36
    17
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Nice but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Toasted chicken and avocado sandwich is nice and tasty but a little pricey at $15, try the mango smoothie, yum yum

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I would not order the steak again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I ordered the steak, medium rare with mushroom sauce. It came with fries and salad. It was a very poor piece of steak. It was very rare, one central piece of meat with two smaller pieces loosely held together by a large, rare, soft piece of fat. The flavour of the meat was not nice at all. The cause was very nice. The fries were soft and undercooked, the salad was nice.

This was the only time I ate at Salvatores, so I can't say if this was a once off or if they just do cook nice steaks. I was quite disappointed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalvatoresCafeDarwin, Owner at Salvatores Cafe, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. I can see you've contributed many reviews to TA, so I can see the sort of person you are.

I think the review was fair and your opinion, so no problem with that.

I am sorry the steak came out that way, with the soft chips. We do strive to get every single order right and proper. There is no excuse for the soggy chips. We put the sauce on the side and the steaks are rested after cooking so there is little chance of any liquids affecting the chips. So all I can ascertain is that the kitchen undercooked them. As for the steak...I'm partially glad the steak was a little on the rare side...we can cook it up, but we can't cook it down...meaning I can take it from a rare to a med-rare, but not the other way around. The problem is many people have different ideas as to what constitutes a rare or a medium...so my chefs will do their best to stick to what I classify as such...but that doesn't always match everyone's expectations (not that everyone can be satisfied every time)...however our steaks are bought from a credible butcher and we do pay top dollar...yes, we only charge $23.90 for the 250g scotch with the chips, salad and choice of sauce....but that doesn't mean the steak should be fatty. (which they usually aren't)
I'd request a chance to provide a free steak dinner if you are around so you can see us as we normally are. Hopefully you will attest that we do a good job!

And as I always say....If its not right let us know so we can fix it. We don't you unsatisfied!

Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good value Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

As part of the Darwin Central Hotel complex it was convenient for breakfast whilst watching the world go by on the streets of Darwin. Great Coffee and excellent service.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great spot for a relaxing lunch and watching the world go by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Situated next to the main traffic lights in Darwin City, you can watch people walking around and cars driving past. The food isn't too bad either, more pricey than some places however.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salvatores Cafe also viewed

 
Darwin, Top End
Darwin, Top End
 

Been to Salvatores Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salvatores Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.