We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY. EVER.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel to your Saves list
Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel
Corner of Woods Street & Knuckey Streets, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY. EVER.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Do. not. stay. here.

See all other reviews for reasons why you shouldn't stay here. It's all true.

Had to involve the cops on two occasions, staff were extremely unprofessional apart from two employees we dealt with.

Worst hotel I've ever stayed at, including hostels around the world.

You would have to pay me a lot of money to stay a night at this hotel again.

Just don't do it. I'm not exaggerating, just go to the hostel instead.

Room Tip: Rooms that are not at this hotel are your best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    16
    12
    26
See reviews for
4
21
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I've stayed in cheap hostels (less than $15/night) that are cleaner, more comfortable and have greater security than the Luma Luma. Talk about false advertising; pictures of the hotel do not reflect the poor quality! Mattress was hard and uncomfortable. Bedcovers looked like they had never been properly cleaned.
Actual pool opening hours differed to what was stated in the hotel guide (in the room) and seemed to differ every day and depending on the staff member you talked to. There was also no shade over the pool or surrounding area (unlike what is shown in the pictures).
A huge lack of security, anyone off the street can walk straight into the hotel and gain access to the rooms. No security within the rooms (e.g., a safe or locker) and the doors only had a single lock (no peep hole or chain).

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

I didn't read trip advisor before booking an apartment at Luma. Big mistake! Service was really bad and dodgy people staring at you while you are swimming. The bedroom was clean, but bathroom was poor. Kitchen full of dust and cockroaches running around the tea bags. You can find a better place in Darwin.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I was astonished to read the comments of Swcussens re: Luma Luma. My experience there (romantic weekend) was totally enjoyable and nothing like what they portrayed in their review. I found the staff and owners to be most helpful, courteous and they went out of their way to make my stay more than comfortable. A fellow guest visiting from interstate told me that most of the clients are corporate travellers who just love the inner-city location so it is quite hard to get a room here. So somebody must be doing something right! The rooms were tidy and well maintained and I certainly didn't see any "bogans" or "drug deals" in the car park. Darwin is well know for its itinerant population so maybe those negative reviewers are perhaps just a little prejudiced towards people less fortunate than themselves. Regards

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool provide awesome views of Darwin
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Just awful, drug addicts and passed out bogans, no security and no service, worst place I've ever stayed , racist people running the place. Dirty, broken lights, no things to cook with, told us to take a photo of the drunken guy passed out on the door step, never ever stay here, avoid like the plague

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

After reading previous reviews I had some reservations about my booking. However, I was very pleasantly surprised. My room on the 5th floor was basic, spacious and included some kitchen facilities with a microwave, the bed was clean, water hot, with a ceiling fan and air conditioner. Remember, accommodation is very expensive in Darwin. It is almost $100 per night less than premium accommodation. It is in a great position, around the corner from the PO and supermarket. It can be noisy from street disturbances, and the lift sound is intrusive at night but did not bother me too much. I would readily recommend this to anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

As we entered the unsecure Carpark we were greatest to two wrecked cars, and a drug deal in progress. After getting our keys we entered our room. Simple basic design. Inspected the balcony to find blood stains all over the wall, and on recent wring the Appartments found blood stains covering the curtains. The kitchen has limited equipment to cook or clean up from a meal. The bathroom had a film of sand on the floor. The room was booked as a double and two singles. We had to make the two singles up. All this for over 2k a week. I will stay in a caravan next time. Avoid this one please

0 stars
Enter at own risk

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel

Address: Corner of Woods Street & Knuckey Streets, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.