We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Spot.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palms City Resort

Save Saved
You added Palms City Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palms City Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 38 hotels in Darwin
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ideal Spot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Recently spent three nights (February 2013) at this tropical resort on The Esplanade in Darwin. Within walking distance of the main shopping streets and restaurants. We had the Superior Queen room - queen bed and single bed, kitchenette, good sized balcony, air con and ceiling fan.
Ensuite was very clean with essential supplies and good quality towels.
The resort has a very nice pool and pool towels were already in the room. Staff at reception were very helpful and friendly and we were also able to negotiate a later check-out time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmsmanager, General Manager at Palms City Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Palms City Resort. I am glad that you found the resorts location, team, cleanliness and value for money all to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    130
    66
    24
    13
See reviews for
28
150
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed here for two nights over a business trip to Darwin in Febuary. No complaints what so ever! Pretty simple, but very reasonably priced. I paid through What If and paid about $100/night for a twin room consisting of a queen bed & a single bed with en suit bathroom. The room itself was fastidiously clean, pretty quiet at night with very effective air con (thank goodness!) Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is just across the road from Bicentenial Park and amazing views, particularly at sunset. Also within close vicinity of Mitchell St which consists of plenty of restaraunts and bars. I imagine the hotel would be great for families too, with cute little villas and a gorgeous pool.
All in all- value for money, family friendlly- would come back for sure!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmsmanager, General Manager at Palms City Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Palms City Resort. I am glad that you found the resorts location, team, cleanliness and value for money all to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here many times since its opening on the site of the old Darwin Hotel back in 05/06(?).
Probably needs a refurb and some anti smoking rules in common areas but a great location within walking distance of 2 mind from city centre without the noise. Clean and tidy. Service at gti t desk could do with a little more charm. Apart from that (and breakfasts) to b recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmsmanager, General Manager at Palms City Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Palms City Resort. I am glad to hear that you are a regular guest! In the last 12 months the property has undergone many upgrades including: New Mattresses, New Lugguage racks, New bedding, New Outdoor furniture, New indoor furniture in Standard and Superior Rooms, New bedheads in Standard Rooms, New updated Compendiums, more Austar channels available (Fox Sport). We have also added more items to our breakfast buffet. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had a reasonable stay at the Palms City Resort. The room was very okay only to close to the road. You could hear people walking by in the street. Swimmingpool a bit too small but okay. The internet was a disaster. Even with an amplifier it only worked when you went outside the room. Paying a lot for internet access does not tick the box! It should be available in every hotel all over the world. The location of the hotel was perfect. Close to restaurants, close to the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmsmanager, General Manager at Palms City Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Palms City Resort. I am glad that you found the resorts location to your expectations. I do apologise that you had difficulty with our WiFi – we are constantly looking at different option to increase the signal to all rooms (hence the amplifier used during your stay). If a guest is unable to access the internet during their stay we have a policy of refunding/not charging for the time purchased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Spent 2 nights here on our way round the top end. Good basic rooms, clean and with everything you need. Our aircon did not work (a must in Darwin in November), so they managed to juggle & find us another (upgraded) room even though they were almost full. Nice pool and pleasant setting amongst the garden/palm trees rather than a multi storey block. Staff pleasant & helpful. Would stay again if we came back to Darwin.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmsmanager, General Manager at Palms City Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Palms City Resort. I am glad that you found the resorts location, cleanliness and team to your expectations. Thank you for your understanding regarding the airconditioning and I am glad an upgrade was available for you. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennant Creek, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at palm city for the third time on dec 28, having made my booking here because previous experiences had been positive (stay in a superior motel room and duplex villa in the past)

This trip I stayed in the standard room which wasn't too bad however this is the most basic of all accommodation options (great for one or two nights)! I found the bed to be really uncomfortable and hard which left me feeling very unrested. Also the shower wasn't cleaned properly (there was hair in the plug hole from previous guests) and there were a lot of ants in the room around the tea and coffee area (which I never used during my stay). The ants just wouldn't go away even after i put all my food items in the fridge! A lot of noise from next door seemed to carry through the walls and There was also no hair dryer in my room. These things I found have turned me off booking a standard room here again and I was a bit disappointed based on my expectations from previous visits.

Apart from those things the hotel is very relaxed and tropical with a fabulous pool and ideal location. The staff are also very receptive to the needs of their guests. I'd recommend paying more for a better room because it is more worthwhile.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmsmanager, General Manager at Palms City Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Palms City Resort. I do apologise that the Standard Hotel Room was not to your satisfaction. Over the last 6-12 months we have been replacing all the mattresses throughout the property. The brand new mattresses are quiet firm and I am assuming that you may have stayed in the room that had just had the mattress upgraded. Our housekeeping is also known to be of a very high standard so I’m disappointed that this was not your experience of it. The hairdryers in the Standard Hotel Rooms are located in the draw under the wardrobe in the main room as there is no draws in the bathrooms of that room type. I am glad that you enjoy the relaxed feel and the staff receptive during your stay. We do look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This place has cabanas (not villas) and is relatively clean. There is a pool that has poolside seating so that you can observe vacationing Aussies. A good place to stay when in Darwin, and you want to be in town.

Room Tip: Pool might have sound, so be careful if you request a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmsmanager, General Manager at Palms City Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Palms City Resort. I am glad that you found the resorts location and cleanliness to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palms City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms City Resort

Address: 64 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palms City Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palms City Resort offers corporate and leisure accommodation conveniently located on the picturesque Esplanade in the heart of Darwin's CBD. There is a choice of Business Villas - some with Private plunge spas, Executive Villas with Spa Baths, Duplex Villas and Superior and Standard Motel Rooms. All the villas are surrounded by tropical gardens and come complete with verandas and electric BBQ's. All accommodation is fully air-conditioned. The resort also boasts a perfectly landscaped swimming pool, guest laundry, breakfast restaurant, conference facilities, tour bookings, limited onsite carparking, 24 reception and complimentry luggage storage. The resorts location is perfect with a 5 - 10 minute walk to CBD restaurants, shopping, the deckchair cinema and new waterfront development. For that truly tropical experience in the Top End, choose Palms City Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Palms City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms City Hotel Darwin
Palms City Darwin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palms City Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.