We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as a stopover.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Darwin Airport Resort

Save Saved
You added Rydges Darwin Airport Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Darwin Airport Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Henry Wrigley Dr, Darwin, Northern Territory 0812, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 38 hotels in Darwin
Kununurra, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good as a stopover.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I recently stayed here for the second time as a stopover in between flights. The free airport transfers are very quick and operate 24 hours. The service is good but the only problem I have at this resort is that I always have a bit of luggage, and checking into a hotel at 11pm and given the further-est room from the reception office, and one of the upstairs rooms with a two year old and husband to check out of the room at 6 am in the morning when you're exhausted, carting luggage is the last thing you want to do at that time of the night. would stay here again but would book and request a lower level room.

Room Tip: request lower level room if you have a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarwinResort, Front Office Manager at Rydges Darwin Airport Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review. It is pleasing to hear you found the service was good. Next time you make a reservation please contact us in advance to your arrival and we can allocate you a room for your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    46
    45
    34
    13
See reviews for
23
35
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were only here for about 6 hours but from what I saw I was quite impressed.
After a day of driving with two car sick kids and then finding out my wife's plane was delayed into Darwin where I was meeting her before flying out to Singapore that same night the news that we had been upgraded was the first bit of good news all day and greatly received!
The room was clean and large enough so that I could get the kids to sleep will still packing and repacking out in the living room.
My wife and I managed 45 minutes sleep on the fold out sofa bed which was pretty lumpy but we were so tired we didn't care! The main bed in the bedroom did look pretty comfy though but the kids scored that!
A shame that the restaurant does not deliver food but that you have to pick it up but it didn't take long and the food was good.
I would love to meet the person who designed where the light switches were to go - who ever it was must have had one sick and twisted mind!
During Darwins high season (which is more then half of the year) I would not stay here as it is too expensive but during the low season it can offer good value for money if you need somewhere close to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarwinResort, Front Office Manager at Rydges Darwin Airport Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for providing your review. It is good to hear your complimentary upgrade was able to help with day you were having.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kununurra
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We always stay at the airport resort, if we have non connecting flights in/out of Darwin and also quite often use it as a base for 2-3 days when shopping in Darwin.
We prefer to stay at the resort to the hotel, as the resort pool is simply the best. Very large, with Waterfall, Spa and 2 nice shallow areas that are perfect for little kids.
Normally we just walk from the airport to the resort (about 300m, follow the path that cuts through the carpark), but my son had fractured his leg and we took their shuttle.
The bus arrived 5 mn. after we rang (there is a phone at the baggage carousel) and the Driver was so helpful, even showing us half way to our room and opening the pool gate that we had to pass.
We have stayed here many times and the check in has always been quick & efficient, the staff have been very helpful (even when we forgot to make a booking last time and they were almost booked out).
As the resort is very popular with locals coming from surrounding towns & stations, I recommend to always book in advance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarwinResort, Front Office Manager at Rydges Darwin Airport Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback. It is great to hear you love staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I last reviewed this property in December last year after a business trip. My review then was favourable and my review this time is even more positive. This time the occasion was my wife's graduation at Charles Darwin University, so we decided to treat ourselves to a bungalow (I think it was about $30 more than the standard room). We had the best time! The pool was nearby and relaxing there for the afternoon was wonderful. So too was just sitting on the small verandah enjoying the lovely gardens, sipping a cool glass of chardonnay. The room itself was spacious, clean and well appointed. Even though you are right near the airport, the noise is minimal. The restaurant at the resort seemed to have a better menu than last time I was there. Good variety, well presented food and a reasonable wine list. The other thing in favour of this property ahead of others in the city is the free parking. All in all, I'd recommend this resort once again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra few dollars for a bungalow. Definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarwinResort, Front Office Manager at Rydges Darwin Airport Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for leaving this great review. It is good to hear that you had another enjoyable and relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I booked a Wotif.com room at the Rydges Darwin Airport Resort as I arrived late at night and wanted to stay close to the airport. There is a free shuttle to the resort, you just ring from the phone near baggage claim. The shuttle took about 20 minutes to arrive. You can easily walk the distance to the resort (about 300m) if you like.

Note that the Resort is separate to the Hotel (which is across the road) - they are not the same thing! The hotel looks a little more on the budget side.

Check-in was quick, given my room. Short walk to the room. There are both bungalows and normal hotel type rooms - I had a hotel twin. The room really was not very good - very old, peeling paint, poor aircon (very very hot all night) etc. TV was ok. The bed was average and I did not get a good night's sleep.

The resort itself is lovely - the pool looks really really good (but I had to leave so did not get to try it). The restaurant on site (Essence?) is great - very decent food for resort prices.

All in all a great resort, let down by the standard of the rooms. Very convenient for airport stopovers, but I would not stay here otherwise. And a complete rip-off for $229 per night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarwinResort, Front Office Manager at Rydges Darwin Airport Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for leaving your review. Rydges does have two properties at the airport, a Resort and a Hotel. They are located 50 meters apart and guests are welcome to use the facilities across both the properties. If you were to join up for free to the Rydges Priority Guest Rewards Program you would have access to discounted rates and further benefits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was very disappointed when I stayed here. I was travelling alone with my 16 month old and had requested a cot for the room. I was flying in at 4:30am, so it was really important to me that I could move quickly to the resort and get my child to sleep. I had called the resort a week earlier, double checking that the cot would be set up in the room and guess what??? When I checked in, they did not have a cot in the room. They told me I would have to wait 3 hours to get one!! They also put me up on the first floor making it difficult for me to move around with a pram. The porter also told me off for having a heavy suitcase. Not what you want to hear at 4:30 in the morning with a crying baby!!
When I asked to speak to the manager, he offered me a late check out of 1pm.....pity he didn't look at his records because I was already paying for this. When I pointed it out, he generously offered me a 2pm check out.
The room itself was small and not worth the $180 a night I paid. Highlight for me was the friendly man who cleans the pool in the morning. The pool is a definite bonus but, that's about it!!

Room Tip: Make sure you specify if you want a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarwinResort, Front Office Manager at Rydges Darwin Airport Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for leaving your feedback from your recent stay. I do apoligise for the inconvenience that must have been casued from the cot not being set up. This has been followed up with Housekeeping to ensure it does not happen in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at Darwin Airport resoort as part of their romance package on 29th September and also on 7th October on return from Bali in a business room.

Romance package: paid an extra $50 on arrival for upgrade to resort suite with spa.
Good Points:
*Swift checkin
* excellent service in the restaurant
* late checkout (as per priority club member)
* stunningly presented and superb tasting food in essence restaurant for dinner
* Able to leave car here due to flying overseas for a week

Negative Points
* no cold water or ice in fridge - both ice cube tray and water jug were totally empty
* spa did not work properly (no bubbles) - on checkout we mentioned it to be told we could have rung reception and they would have fixed it (when questioned further I was told that the maintenance man would NOT have been able to fix it at 9 pm at night and may not even be able to fix it until the Monday morning!) THIS IS WHY WE UPGRADED FOR THE SPA!!!!! Didn't even get an apology :-(

Business Suite - 7th October
Arrived at 10.45pm to a small queue
Good Points:
* Swift Check in
* Late checkout and 2 free drink vouchers/20% off food/beverages as per priority club member - SEE NEGATIVES BELOW!)

Negative Points:
* No cold water or ice (both ice cube trays and water jug empty in bar fridge and bone dry)
* Very noisy with being able to hear people coming and going at all hours of the night
* At 11pm, my husband decided to use the two free drink vouchers and walked to reception to be smirked at by Andrew and told condescendlingly that he couldn't use them and the bar closed at 10pm. This information was not provided to us by Andrew when he checked us in 15 minutes previously.

After a number of years of staying at the Darwin Airport Resort and Darwin Airport Inn (both prior to being bought by Rydges and after), my husband and I have decided that we will no longer stay here again. For a hotel which holds the Rydges name, I at least expect to be able to have cold water, ice and a mini-bar in my room as well as clear information being provided to me on check-in in relation to bar opening hours. In future I will stay at a hotel in town (in particular Holiday Inn Darwin/Esplanade)!!

On reflection, for a hotel with close proximity to an international airport, the service is seriously lacking. When I have stayed at hotels with the same proximity - novotel and holiday inn to name a few - I have been provided with FULL room service (not a pick up from the restaurant when its open), mini-bar and cold water and ice!! The resort is certainly NOT the same since it was purchased by Rydges :-(

Room Tip: Go a bungalow if you are going to stay here at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarwinResort, Front Office Manager at Rydges Darwin Airport Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for providing your review. Both your positive and negative points have been passed on to the relevant managers to ensure they are aware of your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rydges Darwin Airport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Darwin Airport Resort

Address: 1 Henry Wrigley Dr, Darwin, Northern Territory 0812, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Darwin Airport Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Darwin Airport Resort is located only 350 meters from Darwin International airport, this oasis is the perfect place to relax and offers a variety of different accommodation styles, whether for holiday makers or business guests. Enjoy the tropical landscaping, swimming pool, or even a refreshing drink at the pool bar before tasting the gourmet delights at Essence Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Darwin Airport Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Darwin Airport Hotel Marrara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Darwin Airport Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.