We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential but needs refurbishment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Darwin Airport Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Darwin Airport Resort to your Saves list
Rydges Darwin Airport Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Henry Wrigley Dr, Darwin, Northern Territory 0812, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Potential but needs refurbishment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The airport resort next to the Darwin airport was originally designed on the lines of Balinese resorts with accommodation dotted around gardens. The resort is now run by Rydges and desperately needs some money and attention paid to it.
The staff were lovely and that helps a little.
The suite I occupied had a disgustingly stained sofa bed and tiles and grouting in the dark windowless bathroom need an overhaul.
The entrance to the suites should be tiled, concrete floors could be mistaken for a cell block.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarwinResort, Front Office Manager at Rydges Darwin Airport Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Rydges Darwin Airport Resort. We are pleased that you took the time to write a response and share your experience. The Resort was designed around Balinese inspirations with special attention given to the landscape. There have been refurbishments of the business suites, family suites and executive bungalows in the recent 12 months which has given these room types a fresher and more modern look. Further refurbishments are planned for the near future and we hope this will match the Rydges brand. Until then the Executive Bungalows are a lovely upgrade from the Deluxe Bungalows, which I believe that you stayed in. Your suggestion for tiled pathways is also a great recommendation and will certainly be discussed.

Thank you also for you positive feedback for the customer service.

I do hope that we can welcome you back again sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    65
    64
    40
    15
See reviews for
33
49
17
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

This was my fourth stay at this establishment and it may be my last. The service at reception was surly - the service in the bar/restaurant was sloppy and slow to say the least and the behaviour of other guests was disgraceful. Whilst trying to relax by the pool I was subjected to leering drunken conversations by men who should have been refused bar service hours before. Sadly the young and inexperienced staff continued to serve them alcohol well into the evening - according to other colleagues. I had enough and literally hid in my room. Breakfast was a bun fight - not enough staff. Not enough bread. Staff refusing to make real coffee because they said it was too busy - even difficulty getting someone to clean a table down for us to sit at. And for this lack of service and food your are charged outrageous prices. Hardly reasonable. This is no longer the friendly, relaxed, family friendly establishment I had come to rely on during my frequent business trips to Darwin. I doubt I will stay here again.

Room Tip: I would suggest staying somewhere else ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiekeKremer, Front Office Manager at Rydges Darwin Airport Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Rydges Darwin Airport Resort. It is certainly disappointing to hear that after four visits with us that you doubt you will stay again. I hope that within this reply I can respond to the dissatisfactions you encountered.

Over the time of your last stay we experienced a higher than expected occupancy level due to copious amounts of last minute reservations caused from disrupts due to the bad weather and cyclones in Darwin and WA. This however should not have reflected in poor service at any point during your stay and for that we do certainly do apologize. All food and beverage attendants at the Rydges Darwin Airport Resort are certified with a current RSA (Responsible Service of Alcohol). The presence of highly intoxicated guests is an alarming concern for management. Under no circumstances do we find this acceptable and further action by the Resort will be addressed accordingly. There are many valid points you have raised in regards to service and these are certainly elements we are confident in eliminating in similar situations in the future.

The Rydges Darwin Airport Resort team do hope that we can welcome you back again in the future and provide you with an enjoyable and relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We booked the new romance package through Rydges and were not disappointed!! From Check in to checkout the service was outstanding as was our suite. We joined Rydges priority guest club prior to booking and managed to get $20 off our resort suite. The package included a complinentary drink, the resort suite, 3 course dinner, full breakfast and late checkout. It was worth every penny!!

Our room was located on ground floor as requested and included a lovely relaxing spa bath. It was fresh and spotlessly clean. The pool was nice and refreshing and drink service at the runway bar was great (next time hubby will wear a shirt :-) when ordering our drinks!). Dinner was absolutely heavenly. We ordered the breads and crab stack as starters and highly recommend both!! I then had the sizzling seafood - a sight and taste to behold and hubby had the pork ribs - they melt in your mouth!! For desert we ordered the white/dark chocolate mousse with caramel popcorn and truffles - interesting combination but well worth it!!!

The only suggestion I would make would be to inform wait staff at the restaurant if any one else orders a romance package as the staff knew nothing about it but it was very easily sorted with a simple phone call.

A great relaxing and romantic stay and we look forward to coming back!!

Room Tip: Ground floor and end of block was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiekeKremer, Front Office Manager at Rydges Darwin Airport Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Rydges Darwin Airport Resort. We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful romantic weekend at the Resort. From the spa bath, to the champagne, drinks by the pool and a 3 course dinner it certainly sounds as though you took full benefit of your time with us at the Resort and it is great to hear that you loved it.

We certainly do hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I have just completed a three night stay for business.
The resort is very close to the Darwin airport so very very handy.
The atmosphere is very open and laid back - very tropical with great pool etc
By biggest issues is the design of the blocks where the standard rooms are located.
I was in a downstairs room at the end of one of the blocks and because the design of the blocks which resembles a prison block ( rooms either side of an open well in the middle - all under roof -with stairs leading down) there is constant noise when guests are either talking upstairs or more concerning when they are leaving for the early morning ( 2 - 3 am) flights
The noise of doors banging shut and suit cases being dragged down the stairs echoes in the dead of night.

The restaurant staff at dinner were good and the food tasty - though overpriced I thought

For my future needs I'll be staying across the road at the Rydges Inn in future as the rooms are much quieter.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiekeKremer, Front Office Manager at Rydges Darwin Airport Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your 3 night stay at the Rydges Darwin Airport Resort. As the Darwin airport is open 24 hours, with a large portion of flights arriving and departing between 11pm and 5am, it does mean that our guests are also checking in and out at all different times of the night. The standard business suite rooms which you stayed in are indeed set up in blocks. (I do hope that the décor in the room, plus the laid back style of the resort didn’t make you feel as though you were in prison…by no means did the architect of the Resort have that as their intention.) Alternative room types such as the Bungalows which are separated are another option and I believe one would find these to be quieter option. The noise of travelers is certainly something we will discuss with management to try and help minimize it.

We are pleased though that you did enjoy many aspects of the Resort and that we can either welcome you back again in the future. Perhaps try a bungalow at the Resort or else we would be pleased to welcome you at the Rydges Darwin Airport Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This provides a convenient bed near the airport (350m) but is scruffy, far from clean and badly maintained. The decor is pure 1970s and the wildlife (cockroaches and ants) pervasive. Only good points are the prompt shuttle bus and the food which isn't exciting but adequate. The bar area is noisy and full of rioting children early in the evening.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else??
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiekeKremer, Front Office Manager at Rydges Darwin Airport Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Rydges Darwin Airport Resort. We appreciate your feedback in regards to housekeeping, maintenance and atmosphere. As a 4 star hotel we certainly do aim to provide a high standard of accommodation for our guests and so the points you raised will be addressed with higher management. The Resort will soon be bringing in the Rydges brand triple sheeting to all accommodation rooms which we believe will brighten up the rooms and bring a fresh ambiance. The bar’s outlook over the Resort’s pool provides a welcoming spot for families, friends and guests to gather. It certainly makes it a popular place for both locals and guests and unfortunately some days it is very busy.

The Rydges Darwin Airport Hotel located next door is often quieter and could be a great option for a returning stay. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jervis Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Other than being conveniently located near the airport, this place has little to offer. One night stay for $160 which included an outdated room, extremely uncomfortable bed with a rock hard pillow, Internet connectivity that does not work, and cockroaches sharing my coffee cup. It rained all night...I know this, as it kept me awake, as the place appears not to have insulation. To top it off, management were openly arguing with paying guests as they were unable to park in allocated car parks as the hotel were catering for a speaking function. Whilst there, I dined in their Restaurant, The Essence. Paid $50 for a 300 gram steak (appeared about 200 gram), and a bowl of lettuce with two cherry tomatoes. The food was tasteless and I was left hungry. I barely rate this a two star hotel. My recommendation....pay the extra $20 by taxi and travel to the heart of Darwin for descent accommodation.

Room Tip: Want a tip ......do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarwinResort, Front Office Manager at Rydges Darwin Airport Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay here with us. It is certainly disheartening to hear of the many disappointments that you had with our property. With the wet season does come a lot of rain and if I recall correctly it was certainly very heavy when you stayed with us. There are certainly some valued concerns which we will address with all departments.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a more enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I stayed at Rydges Darwin Airport Resort. Check in caotic.
Stayed in a Bungalow $250 a night. Completly overpriced. Only good part is closed to the Airport in case of an eraly morning departure. Otherwise I would advice to avoid this Hotel. The price is Rydges, but the features and benifts you are getiing is very poor.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiekeKremer, Front Office Manager at Rydges Darwin Airport Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Rydges Darwin Airport Resort. It is disappointing to hear that you felt as though we neither matched the Rydges standard nor the price you were paying. We are continually looking at ways of improving our services and your review will most certainly be looked at. A chaotic check-in is not a relaxing way to start your stay with us and hence I will ensure that this is the first thing we look at.

I hope we can welcome you back again and your stay is even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Darwin Airport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Darwin Airport Resort

Address: 1 Henry Wrigley Dr, Darwin, Northern Territory 0812, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Darwin Airport Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Darwin Airport Resort is located only 350 meters from Darwin International airport, this oasis is the perfect place to relax and offers a variety of different accommodation styles, whether for holiday makers or business guests. Enjoy the tropical landscaping, swimming pool, or even a refreshing drink at the pool bar before tasting the gourmet delights at Essence Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Darwin Airport Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Darwin Airport Hotel Marrara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Darwin Airport Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.