We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in Darwin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Advance Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Advance Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Advance Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   55 Cavenagh Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Quest Darwin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Home away from home in Darwin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was upgraded to a two bedroom unit, which seemed a bit over-the-top as I was travelling alone for business, but would have been great if I'd had my family with me. The unit was large, clean, comfortable, within walking distance of Woolworths supermarket and very well appointed. After a number of 12 hour days, though, I would have preferred somewhere with an on-site restaurant so I could order room service rather than having to either cook something or walk around looking for takeaway. The $10/night onsite carparking fee wasn't mentioned on my work's online accommodation booking service but I'm told this is common in Darwin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    38
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
32
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Having read Trip Advisor we were very happy with our hotel choice.
Perfect location, close to town, grocery shopping, and restaurants, and only a few minutes walk to the CBD. Bus stops outside made transport easy to Museums,markets and tourist destinations.
Our room was just what we wanted,for 2 - a studio, large enough with m'wave, fridge and cooktop and on pool level. All staff were most helpful, and made us feel very welcome.
Well recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms facing side street are quieter, and cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestDarwin, Manager at Advance Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our team hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Darwin in the dry season is a fabulous holiday destination. Great weather, interesting and scenic day trips and lots of wonderful restaurants abound. The Quest is a good place to stay, close to the centre of town. Have had a couple of issues with main air-conditioner needing work done to it and internet continually dropping out. But these are minor issues. A day trip to Litchfield National Park and the jumping crocodile cruise is a must. Plenty of markets and beautiful sunsets to watch. Enjoy Darwin, it has plenty to offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestDarwin, Manager at Advance Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We always appreciate honest feedback, so thanks very much for yours, I'm very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and have enjoyed Darwin. We're aware of the shortcomings in our internet service and we are in consultation with a service provider to upgrade our internet service in house. It may not happen overnight but in the near future we believe we'll have a top quality fast and reliable service available for our guests - and it will still be complimentary. I hope we'll have an opportunity to see you again and for you to enjoy the new service. Its unfortunate that your air conditioner was playing up - the tropical conditions in Darwin mean that our air conditioners are hard at work all the time, and every now and then they give up - I hope our attention to the problem was prompt enough and your comfort was not seriously compromised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here with family and rented a variety of rooms from studios to one and two bedroom apartments. I had a one bedroom apartment.

The Staff: All staff I encountered whether on reception or passing by were friendly, warm and professional - good to see that consistency across all team members we met.

Location: Excellent - in town and close to lots of pubs, restaurants, supermarkets, Post Office etc.

Rooms: Spotlessly clean - which I really liked. The only negative would be the state of the couch in my room which was either 'leather' or 'leather look' - it was very worn and peeling off on the seat cushions. However, in no other room did I find this a problem and all rooms were at the same consistent clean standard as mine.

Value: There is not much value to be had in Darwin accommodation during the dry season so it might be a bit of a shock to people travelling to Darwin. But you can also save yourself money by self catering in the rooms. Near the pool area also is a bbq you can use if you don't want to cook in your room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestDarwin, Manager at Advance Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback, it's always pleasing to hear from people who have enjoyed our service and facility. With regards to the deterioration in the furnishings - although we carried out an extensive refurbishment in 2012, we have unfortunately found that a small number of pieces seem to have come from a bad batch and we are working with the supplier to have them replaced. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great location, spacious and well appointed rooms make the Quest Darwin a great place to stay. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable, making it a home away from home. Jessica, especially, constantly went out of her way to help us, solving internet woes along with the usual littany of minor troubles such as forgotten items; Quest would do well to keep a hold of her in the future! Nina alwats had a smile for us, too! Our only issue was with the internet service, though I believe they are in the process of fixing that. Highly recommend that you stay here if you lob into Darwin!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestDarwin, Manager at Advance Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback, it has been a great pleasure hosting you during your move to Darwin and we have enjoyed getting to know you. Thanks also especially for your feedback for Jessica and Nina - we value them both tremendously, along with the rest of our small team. You are quite correct in that we are in the process of upgrading our internet service too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I've been traveling around WA and NT for work. Out of all the places stayed, I felt the most welcomed at the Quest Darwin, home away from home. The rooms were a good size, clean and comfortable. I can't fault the staff, from the minute you check in to the minute you check out you are treated with the uttmost kindness, treated as part of the family. Special thanks to Jessica, you need to hold on to her. Quest Darwin will always be my first choice when visiting Darwin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestDarwin, Manager at Advance Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thanks so much for your feedback. We are very proud of our team and Jessica is certainly a stand out. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed in an executive 2 bedroom apartment as a treat after 5 days seeing the Red Centre and 9 days in a motor home seeing the wonders of Kakadu, Katherine and Litchfield National Park.Quest Darwin did not disappoint in anyway.
Beautifully furnished, clean, spacious and did not just feel luxurious after such a trip, it was luxurious. The staff are fabulous, very friendly and helpful, nothing was a bother. A special mention for the lovely Jessica she was wonderful and as an employer of over 20 staff I certainly say she is a great asset to the corporation.
Great place to stay !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestDarwin, Manager at Advance Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and we agree that Jessica is pretty special!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Advance Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Advance Serviced Apartments

Address: 55 Cavenagh Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Quest Darwin)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Advance Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Darwin CBD, Advance Serviced Apartments offers all the amenities required for the business and leisure traveller. With both short and long term stay options, friendly hospitality and prime location, you are guaranteed to enjoy your stay at Advance Serviced Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Advance Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Advance Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.