We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Enjoyable and pleasant stay'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Advance Serviced Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Advance Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Advance Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   55 Cavenagh Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Quest Darwin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“'Enjoyable and pleasant stay'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Had to stay a few days in Darwin for a conference before heading off to the Philippines and I must say I was pretty comfortable and impressed with Quest. Staying in a one bedroom apartment, it was reasonably priced, very neat and tidy and the decor very modern and practical. The facilities in the room were also in working order, something you dont find too often!!

The walking distance to everything was very convenient and I was very thankful to not have to trek long distances in the Darwin heat! The staff at the front desk were very helpful, very professional and very friendly. Their knowledge of the area and suggestions for places to eat or have a drink at were impressive, they knew exactly what they were talking about!

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Quest; Would I stay here again? Most definitely and would suggest people thinking of visiting Darwin even for a few days to stay here.

Room Tip: The one bedroom apartment, hands down wins my vote. Very comfortable, neat and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    38
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
32
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We found this place was one of the few with vacanices when we were in Darwin, and also was not ridiculously priced. Next time I would go a one bedroom apartment, as we stayed in the studio ones, which I would not recommend, far too small, no balcony and a tad in need of a touch up. The pool was fantastic, though a new drink machine may be needed.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a one bedroom apartment or higher, as the Studios are just too cramped. The AC thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here only for a couple of days to visit some friends. We were on a budget and came across this lovely place. We stayed in the Studio apartment which was very cosy and was very comfortable. It was well decorated and the staff were great! The service was quick and friendly. It was walking distance to everything which was very convenient to catchup with friends. If you're on a budget but still wanna kick your feet up and have a great time, we highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Ive stayed here before, and I think that things have improved a little. Reception was a lot friendlier this time round, and the place seemed a little cleaner. Reception is only open 7.00 - 11.00 which may be a concern for latecomers.

Like many Darwin hotels there's no room service, they will sell you a "breakfast pack" at reception, however its only a 3 minute walk to Woolworths where you can buy all your bits and pieces.

There are no frills with this hotel, however the rooms are clean, they have everything you need and the bed is comfortable. One thing that I did notice is that they have in in the rooms about local attractions, which most Darwin hotels lack.

Room Tip: A room away from the hotelwill give you a quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Arrived after reception had closed. The pin to access room keys after hours did not work. Used the after hours intercom, someone was with me in a very very short time. Checking was quick and cheery. Staff always welcoming and offering a greeting as you walk through the foyer.

Good size rooms, bright and airy, with very effective aircon and a functional kitchenette. Very comfy beds.

A little bit of noise in the morning (from a nearby loading dock, I think).

Was there for three nights on business. This place provided all that was not needed in a nice understated way. Would recommend and stay again while on business. This isn't a resort for holidaymakers but for the business traveller hard to go past.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Is central to everything and within walking distance to nightlife and restuarants etc. Rooms are clean and comfortable. doesnt have much in the way of views if thats what your looking for. word of advice - book your own taxi if you are leaving for airport in the morning as front desk not too reliable.

Room Tip: Pool side would be the go
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Hi, The rooms are okay but the service is very bad and the internet , which they charge 25 dollars a day is completely useless as is shut down every 5 minutes for 30s.
I would recommend anyone to stay at any other hotel in Darwin as this is expensive and not good.
As an example, when calling for service it goes to voice mail and then you cannot even leave a message as it cuts you out.
Typical signs of a very poorly managed hotel.

Room Tip: Please select another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Advance Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Advance Serviced Apartments

Address: 55 Cavenagh Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Quest Darwin)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Advance Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Darwin CBD, Advance Serviced Apartments offers all the amenities required for the business and leisure traveller. With both short and long term stay options, friendly hospitality and prime location, you are guaranteed to enjoy your stay at Advance Serviced Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Advance Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Advance Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.