We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.50 $ for a tiny macaroon” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe 21

Cafe 21
28 Smith Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 248 Restaurants in Darwin
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Delicatessen, Hamburgers, Seafood, Vegetarian, Central European, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“3.50 $ for a tiny macaroon”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I was amazed when i saw the price 1 tiny macaroon. There are over priced but at least they used to be bigger. When asked why they are so expensive they answer was they are "hand made" . By whom - Madonna !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Crap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

If you want to go in a restaurant, pay 45$ and still be hungry when you leave, that is the place. The quality is not worth the price, it's actually very basic. The waitresses treat you as a number and in fact, we felt sorry not to have decided to cook our own food and go for a picnic. It would have been much better, cheaper and at least we would have felt hungry after the meal..!

Do not go.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good value food whilst enjoying the wharf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We have had fish and chips a few times on the wharf and I reckon this place is the pick. The fish was locally caught (apparently) and the servings came with a choice of salads with sauce included. We will eat here again

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good informal food. Sunset over the bay and great value meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I wandered into Stokes Hill Wharf food precinct. A few of the food outlets looked like poor quality. 21 on the wharf looked a cut above the rest. The fish and oyster display in the counter fridge looks great. On my first night, I ordered 6 fresh oysters - fresh or kilpatrick for $9.90 per half dozen. The oysters were handed to me at the counter and were markedly smaller than the examples in the fridge, but were decent sized oysters, and appeared very fresh. At the price, you cannot complain. I also ordered barramundi (local), chips and salad. There were 3 salads to chose from - I chose Greek. The meal came with a schooner sized coopers draught mild for $19.90 all up! The fish fillet [surprisingly?] was smaller than the big fillets in the display fridge, but was still a great piece of fish for the price. The fish was tasty, the chips were crispy frozen chips cooked in clean oil and the salad was as fresh as could be, with pitted Kalamatas and feta. It was so good, and such a good deal to sit on the wharf edge and eat such a nice quality meal as the sun went down. They lose a point for displaying non-standard fish fillets and oysters. I went back a second time on this visit and everything except the chips were a little worse than the first night, but the fish in the display was closer to reality (a positive) and overall, the offering was still very good. Check the photo for my first night's <$20 experience. These guys serve on large china plates (but sadly with plastic cutlery) -the competition tend to serve on small plastic plates with lower standard food and plastic cutlery. Worth a visit to the wharf and 21 on the wharf is worth a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

My go to for a break from work for lunch. Good GF selections. Glorious fresh salads and cakes. Coffee is good too

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 21 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe 21, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.