We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double Tree Hilton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Double Tree Hilton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Clean and well serviced rooms and great city location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would have been good to have a hair dryer in bathroom and toaster provided with the tea cups to enjoy breakfast in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Sue R

Thank you for your comments and I am delighted that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. Our hairdryers are located in the draw in the wardrobe, but since our new bathrooms are now finished and there is additional storage space, we will be relocating them into the bathroom.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon when next in the Top End.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    269
    119
    47
    23
See reviews for
79
219
32
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Overpriced terrible service. Every morning at breakfast there was problems with coffee machine. Empty juice at 0600? Vacuum cleaner left in hallway every day all day. Stained carpets. Jackhammers working on excavators in next doors construction site woke us early on every morning including Saturday. Asked the staff for a quieter room to be told we will call you if one comes available? Didn't hear back from them. Never again would I stay here!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Sue T

Thank you for your comments and I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our coffee machine self cleans and thanks to your comments, our contractor is now booked to come in and adjust its settings. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I do apologise that our team were unable to relocate you to another room. They most certainly should have called to advise you of this and I am sorry that these external factors disturbed your sleep in.

Thank you once again Sue T. If you do return to Darwin, please reach out to me so that I can ensure that you next visit is a wonderful one.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The staff at the Doubletree Esplanade are always very accommodating. I am always greeted with a smile and a friendly hello which after a long flight is always appreciated. The upgrade to the bathrooms are amazing and love the new layout of the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments David Z

I am pleased that you love our new bathrooms as much as we do. They make a huge improvement to the overall in room experience for our guests. Thank you for reocgnising the efforts of our team, I will be sure to share your feedback with them.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again in your next stopover in Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The room had wet carpet that smelt. The hallway carpets were also wet and disgusting. The bathroom had been upgrade and was clean and new. The rest of the Hotel is very rundown and needs to be upgraded. Not good value for money!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback Joseph G

I was sorry to read that your stay with us was not to your expectations. Once again sincere apologies that you left with a less than positive impression, your opinions are valued. Should you decide to revisit Darwin, please do reach out to me as I would like to be able to restore your confidence in the hotel and what we strive to deliver to our guests.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed one night in the Harbour View Suite. Enormous area with large bedroom, lounge, dining area and small kitchette with microwave and expresso machine. The view of Darwin Harbour from the room was fantastic.

Room Tip: splurge on the harbour view site
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments jdoc2. It is wonderful to see that your stay with us was such an enjoyable one.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again one day soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

although this property has been around a little while the hotel is being refurbished. We stayed in adjoining refurbished rooms and they were very clean and nicely furnished. Staff were helpful and informative.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your review gp2egypt

It is great to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and in the Top End. Our bathroom and air conditioner upgrades have been completed and we went live with IPTV last week.

Thank you, we hope to be able to welcome you back one day soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Great location, it's a short walk to main drag with bars and resturants. Rooms have been refurbished but don't quite stand up to the hilton expectation but are quite comfortable. The balconies are tiny, don't expect to fit a chair out there...standing room only! For the price we paid ($139 as mystery hotel on wotif) I feel we got good value...

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
I am delighted that your enjoyed your recent stay with us Amanda24478.

Our Juliette balconies are a great place to watch the sun go down and watch all of the harbour activities.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Address: 122 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Darwin is accessible to Darwin CBD, vibrant Mitchell Street, Crocosaurus Cove and Darwin Wharf. The hotel features 24 hour reception and room service and hosts a breakfast in the poolside restaurant for those early risers who embark on day tours or business to the region. Restaurant overlooks the pool and surrounding gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.