We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Survived cyclone Tracey and still standing strong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Darwin, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Survived cyclone Tracey and still standing strong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Ever dependable, friendly staff and a great spot. Nice rooms with harbour and/or city views. About a ten minute work to the city centre There was extensive renovations ongoing at the hotel when I stayed and the entire city suffered a power failure. Lucky the hotel had a back up generator (not all did)…..a true survivor…Recommend

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your review Charles F, it is greatly appreciated.

Our team do a fantastic job and I am glad that you were happy with the service that we extended to you. Our emergency systems were put to the test recently with the power outage to the Darwin District and it was pleasing to see that there was minimal disruption for our guests.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Darwin in the near future.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    269
    119
    47
    23
See reviews for
79
219
32
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is an old hotel away from the main Street. Currently undergoing a makeover. Renovations began at 6.30am until 6pm (including jackhammers) and this was not displayed on the website when I made my booking. The room was comfortable, some have updated bathrooms. I found the staff friendly. The breakfast offered many choices and fresh fruit to make your own juice was a nice touch. Excellent view from my room on the 8th floor. I'd wait until the reno's are finished before I would contemplate staying again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Shirleen M

I am pleased that you enjoyed the service extended to you by the team and our Wake Up by DoubleTree breakfast. I am sorry that the noise from our bathroom renovations impacted your stay with us. They will be finished shortly. I do hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us once again and experience our new bathrooms.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in Mitchell Street. Close to restaurants and bars. There's a pool that is fine for a relaxing dip. Nothing too fancy - the usual hotel pool area.
The staff are attentive and were outstanding during the power failure that stopped Darwin in its tracks. Thank you!
I haven't tried anything other than room service and the food was fine. A bit of limited menu BUT the lovely staff sent a letter to my room asking me if I had any special requests menu wise to make my long (3 weeks+) more comfortable. How lovely.
The bed is comfortable, the room very clean and the bathroom is great!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Mauzie2

I was delighted to see that your stay was such an enjoyable one. Thank you for comending our team for the way that they handled the power failure that affected the Darwin district recently, it was a frustrtaing time for our guests and thank you for your understanding.

Mauzie2, thank you once again for your comments. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Hhonors Diamond, just checked out after a 2 night stay at this hotel due to my regular hotel being unavailable. Things started to go bad when I walked out of the lift on level 8 and was hit by a strong stench of mold, presumably coming from the huge patch of water stained carpet in the foyer, but who knows. Got to the room, no internet, called reception who advised they'd have to call the help desk. It sounded as if I was putting her out and it was bed time so I told her not to bother. During the night the power went out and stayed out for 12 hours, obviously outside the hotels control, but this didn't improve the situation at a truly awful hotel in the midst of renovations. Went down for breakfast, the lady suggested I sit outside it would be cooler, assuming she meant there was a table free outside I went searching, there wasn't, silly me... It's been a long time since I wasn't escorted to my breakfast table and offered coffee, but in something that resembles a no tell motel, Doubletree by name only, I shouldn't have been so shocked. After after a very average breakfast sitting in the thoroughfare next to the hot food and after waiting 20 minutes for an underwhelming omelette, I thought it best I start work. On the way out I mentioned to the girl and front desk (same as the night before) about the internet. She advised it was due to the power outage and everyone was having the same problem. I knew this was a lie as it wasn't working before the power went out either. When I got back to the hotel I discovered that my bathroom lights, air conditioning, television and internet were still not working, despite power having been restored. I reported all these problems which were fixed reasonably promptly. Today after another unremarkable breakfast I went to work and upon return couldn't access my room. Again stupid me for thinking that this Fawlty Towers would be proactive enough to cut keys for late checkout.

Although I didn't voice just how disappointed I was, I'm sure it was obvious and frankly this hotel should be embarassed to deliver this level of service to a Diamond member without even having the courtesy to offer a drink voucher. If this was the motel it looks like at $100 a night there would not be an issue, but this isn't the case.

In short I would highly recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear travellingaussie

Thank you for your review, I appreciate your feedback as it helps me to understand what we do well and where we can improve.

I am sorry that we have not met your expectations, your opinion matters and I have shared these with the team so we can improve. Consistency in standards is important and it is disappointing to read where we have not met this goal.

Once again sincere apologies that you left with a less than positive impression, your opinions are valued. Should you decide to revisit Darwin, please do reach out to me as I would like to be able to restore your confidence in the hotel and what we strive to deliver to our guests.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

People should be made aware of renovations occurring at this hotel so that they can be given an option if they want to stay there or not. In saying this the staff are excellent. The hotel is being renovated on three floor so jackhammers and other loud banging can be heard from the upper and lower floors. This noise was only supposed to be audible from 10.00 am until 6.00 pm on Saturday, but it started at 6.50 am and finished at 6.20 pm. This was not really good enough seeing as we only had a very short time to stay and enjoy Darwin. But when we brought this to the attention of the staff and Duty Manager they had no hesitation in finding us alternative accommodation in the sister Hotel next door, refunded the cost of our first night and gave us vouchers for drinks, which they did not have to do. Our room had been renovated and had a great view, the only criticism I have is that there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom so everything was steamed up. Also our tv reception was very ordinary and this was brought to the attention of staff, but not fixed during the duration of our stay, not that this was a major issue.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear 109gillianh

Thank you for your comments and I do apologise for the noise generated by our bathroom refurbishments. Our TV reception challenges have now been corrected and I am sorry for any inconvenience caused. Our bathroom refurbishments will be completed over the coming weeks and I do hope that you will have the opportunity to return to the property and enjoy our relaxing surrounds.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed here 2 years ago when this hotel was part of the I.H.G group and enjoyed our visit. So I was pleased when I asked the travel agent to book again being a gold HH memberwe thought was a bonus , big mistake. Double Tree did not get off to a good start by offering us upgrades I had already paid for. They are upgrading the rooms and some staff are still under training, the hotel is well situated but is not even close to any of the othe 5 or six that we have stayed in.
The safe in the room did not work but was quickly put right, a day or so later we had no lights and had to change rooms, safe not working in the new room but the same Irish maintainance gentleman fixed it pretty quick and was very apologetic.
Positives the midweek specially and weekend breakfast staff and food was very good and 1or 2 of the reception staff
To add insult to injury I have still not been credited my HH points for our 4 night stay from 22nd to 25thJan inclusive.
I am sure in time they wiil get it right but this is the worst Double Tree we have stayed in ten years.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an upgraded room on a higher floor with Harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Vic f

Thank you for your comments and I apologise that your stay was not what you were hoping for. I am sending you an email separately to further calrify some aspects of your stay.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Hotel is a bit dated but overall it was clean and comfortable and I had no hassles.Having an opening balcony is a great feature as you can let evening breezes in. Its at the end of the esplanade so its nice and quiet and many rooms have a watyer view which is nice

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear seed704

Thank you for your comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our first two floors of bathrooms have come back to us on Monday and they do enhance the quality of the in room experience to no end. I hope that you have the opportunity to come back and visit us again one day soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Address: 122 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Darwin is accessible to Darwin CBD, vibrant Mitchell Street, Crocosaurus Cove and Darwin Wharf. The hotel features 24 hour reception and room service and hosts a breakfast in the poolside restaurant for those early risers who embark on day tours or business to the region. Restaurant overlooks the pool and surrounding gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.