We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Hilton Class” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   122 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #11 of 38 hotels in Darwin
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not Hilton Class”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We were always told to say we stay at 122 Esplanade as they have a sister hotel by the same name at 166 Esplanade.
We stayed on the 8th floor and found the hotel room and the bathroom clean so we found it OK.
The air-conditioning fan made a slight noise all the time although it did not annoy us to much as we got used to it.
We found the hotel staff friendly and helpful so no problems there.
Disappointed with the business centre, 2 computers and no printer for printing any documents or info you require.
The hotel is very well situated close by to the centre which is only a few minutes walk.
I would not say this is up to the standard of the other Hilton hotels we have stayed at as you just get the basic hotel furnishings with no concierge or staff to help with your luggage on arriving or leaving the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a harbour view room on the 8th floor, which was also quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear David M

Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay. Our business centre is equipped with a printer, and our IT Manager is currently checking its printing parameters to ensure that our guests are able to print small documents. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused.

I am sorry that you did not get to experience the service offered by our porters during your stay. They are available to assist you with your luggage and other requirements and are always happy to help. Thank you once again for taking the time to comment on your stay. We hope to be able to welcome you back one day soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    233
    105
    48
    19
See reviews for
62
193
31
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Basically a nice hotel that needs freshening up. good friendly staff, very good breakfast choices. well positioned close to city centre. nice views of the bay. unfortunately had a noisy air conditioner which kept my wife awake. be careful as two hotels next to each other with the same name.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Our bathroom refurbishment will commence in January and I am sure you will agree, will make a great impact on the overall guest room experience. I am pleased that you enjoyed your Wake Up by DoubleTree breakfast and the service extended to you by the team.

Thank you once again and the team and I look forward to your return on your next trip to Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Last time I stayed here this place was called the Holiday Inn. Today it's a Hilton but it still feels pretty much like the old Holiday Inn. It's certainly a clean and tidy hotel and the staff are very pleasant and of course the location, right on the esplanade, is still sensational. It's just that the place looks and feels a bit tired!
The rooms are comfortable enough but they lack the pazzaz and sparkle one expects from a Hilton. Put simply, the place lacks colour.
However, I shouldn't be too negative because we did have a pleasant stay in a spacious room and everybody was very kind to us. AND... we appreciated the late check-out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear panther029

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay and I am pleased that you had a positive experience with us. Our team are certainly our best asset and they are committed to ensuring that our guests have an enjoyable stay.

DoubleTree by Hilton Darwin offers all of our guests a check out time of 12 noon, just a little more time to enjoy our great location and service.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collaroy Beach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This lovely, clean, easy going Hilton Hotel is super! there are only 34 hotels in Darwin.
This and it's 'sister hotel' at 112 are all you would or could want. Special requests met with ease. Delightful staff......magnificent views........i had never been to the Northern Territory before, am now going again.

Room Tip: Had room on 10th floor......great.......offers superb views of the ever changing Darwin Harbour. Wea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Campbella29

Thank you for your comments about your recent experience at our hotel - I am glad you enjoyed your stay ! The views from our 10th floor balconies are superb. I hope that you got to see some of our magnificent sunsets over the water. Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Darwin and remember to make your next reservation on Doubletree.com for our best rates guaranteed.
We hope to see you again when you next travel to the Top End.
Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The recently rebranded Doubletree by Hilton remains a consistent hotel - not remarkable, but comfortable, efficient, friendly and well located. It took two requests to get a port-a-cot brought up to the room, but once it arrived the staff were most apologetic about the delay. Better value in the wet season - and a great harbour view to watch the storms rolling in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Di L

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Territory. Now is the time of year to enjoy watching the amazing storms that roll in across the harbour from you balcony. We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Darwin. Remember to access our best rates guaranteed, to visit doubletree.com to make your reservation.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jabiru, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

very nice hotel and the staff were very helpful but the bathroom was mouldy and the toilet system was very old needs a new one. the room was nice and and the bed was very comfortable the pillows were uncomfortable all soft ones. loved the balcony great view of the pool and the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Sharon H
Thank you for your review. Our bathrooms are being renovated commencing in January and I am sure you will agree will make a big difference to the overall guest experience. I am pleased that your stay was as an enjoyable one and we hope to see you again when you next travel to Darwin.
Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Terrific staff, all very helpful and friendly. Beds and pillows are that good that you do not want to get out of bed! It is situated in the city so it is easy to get around. The balcony is enough for you to stand on and watch the storms and sunset. A great experience overall and I will always come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Kathleen P

Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our beds are great, and our team are commited to providing exceptional customer service.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Address: 122 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Darwin is accessible to Darwin CBD, vibrant Mitchell Street, Crocosaurus Cove and Darwin Wharf. The hotel features 24 hour reception and room service and hosts a breakfast in the poolside restaurant for those early risers who embark on day tours or business to the region. Restaurant overlooks the pool and surrounding gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.