We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Darwin's oldest hotels, great location and staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of Darwin's oldest hotels, great location and staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Only about 40 years old, but that's historic in Darwin. The rooms are well furnished, the restaurant serves good meals, including breakfasts. The location, right on Darwin's Esplanade, is ideal and great for a morning walk and for watching sunset.

Room Tip: Choose a king bed, harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VikMalhotra, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear RickM,
As a senior reviewer we thank you for taking the time out to review our property.
I could not agree more with the small and sweet description of our hotel. The hotel is indeed one of the oldest in Darwin and has an album of old photos and articles in our restaurant that certainly tells a tale of the glorious and eventful past this place has had. This is one of the most viewed things in the area!
I will also share your comments with the team and especially the kitchen team.
We hope to see you in the near future. The sunsets lately have been Amazing!
In the meantime please take care.

Best Regards
Vikas and the Holiday Inn Darwin Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    269
    119
    47
    23
See reviews for
78
219
32
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We reserved a room at this hotel more than two months ahead and chose the lowest available rate with the understanding that this rate includes a non-refundable deposit equal to the full amount. A few days before our arrival, Holiday Inn Darwin reservations personnel contacted us to confirm our reservation. I responded to confirm and indicated that we would be arriving very late. When we arrived at the hotel, the person at the counter wondered if we were at the right hotel because he couldn't see our reservation on the computer system. The supervisor explained to us that the system said we were a "No Show" and that they had to re-instate our reservation. Then they had to assign another room, they said the A/C wasn't working in the room that was reserved for us but I think it's far more likely that there was another guest in that room. It took more than 30 minutes to work through this process (we arrived to check in at 2:30 am) and get a room key. The room we were given, we were told was only for one night and we'd be moved to a better room the following day.

The next morning, we spoke with the manager. Although he didn't seem to be aware of what had occurred during the night shift, he was very efficient and professional and we were moved to a room on a higher floor with a sea view. He also arranged for us to have lunch in the restaurant at their expense.

We made this reservation on the understanding that the full amount for 3 nights stay would be charged to our credit card whether we checked in or not so the room that was assigned to us should have been available whether we showed up on day one or day three. I communicated our late arrival to the reservations personnel, the email was acknowledged and in spite of the policy of no refund for our reservation type, our room was not available to us because we were deemed a No Show.

The sea view from our 7th floor room was outstanding. The manager and staff were professional and courteous. Both rooms were clean expect for the showers, we found hair in both of them. The bathtubs are mounted very high and will be difficult for anyone with mobility issues to access. There is no wireless internet available in this hotel, an internet connection is provided in the room but there is an additional charge for it's use. Full breakfast is $28.00 per person and is, in my opinion not worth the price. There is nothing unusual on offer, only the basic hot and cold breakfast fare at the buffet.

Their no show policy needs to be reviewed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VikMalhotra, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Elaine H,
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel and giving us your feedback regarding your stay.
I can understand your frustration of having to wait around to get a key for your room that you had booked in advance. I know the system sounds cumbersome but we do have to account for every guest in house in case of emergency and hence we could not allocate a room with no one staying in it. I do however acknowledge that an error was made on our part to not record the arrival time on your booking and I will follow up to ensure that such mistakes are not repeated. I have also noted your observations regarding bathroom cleanliness and will address this with housekeeping staff as a priority.
I was surprised to read that you thought we did not offer wireless internet in the rooms. I can confirm that we do provide both wireless and wired internet connection throughout the hotel. I am sorry if this was not made clear to you upon enquiring. And you would be happy to know that IHG is the first hotel company that will be providing free internet for all its members starting 1st July2013. I hope you will make good use of this great benefit.
The breakfast buffet is a Holiday Inn standard throughout Australia and New Zealand and does get very good comments from our guests. However I am sorry that it did not meet your expectations.
Thank you for your kind words for the staff and their interactions with you. I am sure they will be delighted to know that you were satisfied with the things they can control.

I appreciate your feedback and we wish you safe journeys and a great 2013.
We hope to see you back again in the future.

Best Regards
Vikas and the Holiday Inn Darwin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights here and would stay here again. Rooms are small but comfortable, and the air conditioning keeps you super-cool in what can be oppressive heat. Staff are very friendly and always obliging. A minor issue over room service was dealt with very efficiently and professionally. Great location on the Harbour - floors 7 and above get the best views.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VikMalhotra, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Mitnitram,
Thank you for taking out the time to review our hotel. I was very pleased to learn that you had a satisfying stay with us. I will pass on your kind words to the team.

The harbour views from level 8 and up are classified as our deluxe rooms and do provide a spectacular view. The rooms on the other side provide an equally picturesque view of the city.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to see you here again in the near future.

Best Regards
Vikas and the Holiday Inn Darwin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel made us join tripadvisor!!!

Just to express how service should be provided. We have stayed at Novtel, Crowne Plaza and Mantra, all in Darwin and nothing compares.

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Darwin for over 10 days and from the stunning harbour view to the large spacious room and warm, genuine and friendly service. My Wife and I have never received such amazing service in our lives and we have travelled the world!!

The room had lots of space, clean and well presented. Bathrooms were tired but clean. Bed was very comfortable.

Stay off the Internet (Australia seem to behind with free Internet) and phone as they are rather pricey but that's all hotels. We had one issue with the air conditioner but that was not a problem for Alvin. Who was efficient and quick to come up to our room and fixed it.

Nathan at reception (as there is no concierge) had helped my wife and I book all our tours, dinner plans and transportation (Would have thought he was a travel agent from having nothing book to have all 10 days planned with great tips and advice (Snack, Water, Hat and Sunscreen). He had great knowledge and very warm and charming young man. He seemed to be the go to guy for all the other staff as every time we had a question they couldn't answer, Nathan would appear with a smile and an answer. (He also seem to be at the hotel, all the time.)

Pauline and Tye at reception was lovely and friendly, asking us about our day and our plans and offered assisitnat with anything my have needed.

Hotel Restaurant - Try the Barra grilled. 5/5

Breakfast was $27.00 more than other hotel but we would say better by far.

Maria and Rosie were just a delight to start of our day and end of our day.

OVERALL - The hotel has lovely rooms, perfect Llcation, and the hotel has found some AMAZING staff, who we would like to thank.

Room Tip: Spend the money get a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VikMalhotra, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Tonka_1975
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking out the time to join trip advisor just to review our hotel…Thank you!

The team was ecstatic when we shared this review with them and we have resolved to keep getting better in all our interactions with all our guests. Alvin, Nathan, Pauline, Tye, Maria and Rosie are a few members of our fantastic hotel team and they all feel proud to get a special mention in your review.

I must confirm your views on the rooms – they are spacious and comfortable. And the Barramundi is by far the most liked dish on our menu :)

In regards to the internet I would like to advise that IHG is the first company in the world to start offering free internet to our members starting 1st of July. Please make sure to take advantage of this great offer every time you stay at our IHG brand hotels.

Thank you once again for your review and we can’t wait to welcome you back to our hotel. In the meanwhile please take care.

Best Regards
Vikas and the Holiday Inn Darwin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a very good hotel. The location is good, the staff are courteous and friendly, the rooms are a good size - all in all, it's pretty good. But it's the small things that stop it being great. Broken door on one of the small cupboards, no ventilation in toilet or brush for that matter. Room service was extensive but a tad pricey for what you got. But the positives do outweigh the negatives and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VikMalhotra, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Robkanandwill,

Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.
I was happy to learn that all in all you enjoyed your stay and more importantly you noticed the friendliness and courteousness of our staff. The team will be delighted to hear about your feedback.
I have also noted your observations regarding some of the broken items in the room and we will get this fixed immediately, if not done already. You would be happy to know that the bathrooms also are in the pipeline to get upgraded soon.
We are in the process of reviewing our menus and I will check with the chef that all dishes present a value for money proposition in relation with the price and quality of the ingredients.
Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you back soon.
Best Regards,

Vikas and the Holiday Inn Darwin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

My second home!! Love this place every time I come here. The rooms are always great and maintained and what's better is the staff. Always helpful !! always smiling !! Would recommend to any traveller as a great place that feels homey and friendly from the beginning

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VikMalhotra, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Stephjade85,

Thank you so much for your kind words and for your time to review our hotel.
It was great to have you back at the hotel and we certainly feel that you (and every other guest) become part of our hotel family every time you come and stay with us.
The team will get very excited when I share this feedback with them and I will keep encouraging them to make every guest’s stay memorable. This will also be a timely motivator for them as we are getting into the busy period, as the Darwin weather transforms and promises to deliver beautiful sunny days and magical sunsets!
We can’t wait to see you again. In the meanwhile please take care.

Best Regards
Vikas and the Holiday Inn Darwin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Three nights here. Lovely ocean view. The room was very big and quiet. Great tropical pool area to relax in after a hot day of sight seeing. Situated close to CBD area with lots of restaurants. Very quick drive to wharf area, where harbour cruises depart.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VikMalhotra, Acting Operations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear MingymooBrisbane,
Thank you for your succinct description of our hotel. Having just arrived in Darwin and staying in house I can relate, and agree with your comments. I must say I am enjoying it so far too. There is a lot to do in the local area and heaps to explore out and about.

We hope to see you in the near future. In the meantime please take care.

Best Regards
Vikas & Team
Holiday Inn Darwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Address: 122 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Darwin is accessible to Darwin CBD, vibrant Mitchell Street, Crocosaurus Cove and Darwin Wharf. The hotel features 24 hour reception and room service and hosts a breakfast in the poolside restaurant for those early risers who embark on day tours or business to the region. Restaurant overlooks the pool and surrounding gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.