We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Brisbane
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This was the first time I had stayed at this hotel since its refurbisment which has been a great improvement.

I have always found the staff friendly and helpful and the service good.

The hotel is well located and only a short walk to the CBD and has plenty of off street (free) parking.

The rooms overlooking the Esplanade and harbour offer great views.

like all hotels in darwin the rates are expensive during the tourist (dry) season but offer excellant value in the off season.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear morobe

Thank you for returning to stay at Holiday Inn Darwin to experience our refreshed hotel. We really appreciate your comments and look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

All the best for the New Year.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    293
    125
    49
    24
See reviews for
88
240
36
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We had a stopover stay last night at the Holiday Inn. Excellent bed, linen & pillows. Very clean room. Great value for family room harbor view with breakfast included. We have stayed in many Darwin hotels for stopovers and I think this one was the best. Really nice breakfast too. Fresh hot food & nice outlook. We will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Dear Jovicics

Great to hear from our Top End neighbours and thank you for using Holiday Inn Darwin as a stopover.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

This is the more modern-looking of the two Holiday Inns in Darwin which are right next door to each other on The Esplanade. It's centrally located and an easy stroll to everywhere you'd want to go in Darwin - which has a pretty compact CBD anyway. We hadn't booked but walking in off the street we were offered a very good rate and the room was very comfortable and good sized. We thought the hotel excellent and would not hesitate to go back if we are in Darwin again. Best of all it was a short stroll through the arcade at the neighbouring Holiday Inn to the fantastic Hanuman restaurant, and just along the road on The Esplanade is Char, another good dining option.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Dear Badddriva

Thank you for contributing to Tripadvisor. Both Holiday Inn hotels are centrally located and we’re pleased you were able to make use of this when exploring Darwin.

We hope to see you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

My wife and I ( both in our sixties )have been visiting Darwin each dry season ( June to August) for the last ten years. We typical stay a week and have only ever stayed at this hotel. Obviously we enjoy the friendly and helpful staff and management - nothing is too much trouble). Each year the staff lift the bar as far as service is concerned. The recent make over of the rooms has done wonders for what is an old building. A plus for its age are thick walls, so the rooms are very quiet. We always pay the small additional charge for a Harbour View room and my collection of fantastic sunset photos grows each year. We generally eat-in at the Poolside restaurant for breakfast and dinner. The generous spread of hot and cold choices for breakfast means we survive on two meals a day. Coffee and cake in one of the many CBD cafes takes passes for lunch. In my opinion the serves for dinner are more than adequate and good value for money. In our case Priority Privilege membership, which offers two for the price of one dinning makes eating in even more attractive. Our week in Darwin more than coveres the annual cost of the card. Free onsite parking is also a bonus and the CBD is an easy walk away. Nothing left to do except lock in our travel dates for July 2012 and then count down the days.

Room Tip: Take the Harbour view option
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Dear Peterok

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, since you are well placed to provide honest and up to date feedback having been witness to many changes over the last 10 years. It’s great to know that we have gotten so many things right including the updated guest rooms and of course we are delighted that you enjoy the Poolside Restaurant and in particular the service that is provided. I’m sure the team will be thrilled to read your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in July 2012!

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewarra Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

This has become a home away from home. The staff are friendly and helpful. The bar/restaurant area is an inviting spot to spend some time on a pleasant afternoon.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, most the same just different views. View over the harbour is fantastic, can wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear Rix_11

We’re so pleased that you have chosen Holiday Inn Darwin as your ‘’home away from home’’ and that you’re able to relax and enjoy the great views and facilities on offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

The Holiday Inn was our first hotel of many on a 6 week trip through Australia. Arriving at the unearthly hour of 5am we were checked in by Sally, who was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was being served from 6am which was very welcome as we'd not eaten on the flight and then we went up to our room for a powernap.

Room was a good size, functional with all facilities / basic toiletries provided, we had views of the sea over the buildings / urban area around the hotel. Wifi was available (not free though) safe was big enough for a laptop and there was plently of wardrobe space. Bed was really comfortable and a pillow menu provided. Location is good, walking distance to Mitchell Street. Nice pool / pool area.

Did feel that hotel was a bit dated once you were out of the lobby area but it was clean which is my priority.

Darwin was very humid and there are notices on the patio doors about not opening them in the wet season.....we saw numerous rooms with them open which I think explains why there is a bit of a damp feeling / damp smell in some areas.

We hired a car from Bargain which is just round the corner from the hotel ( $65 AUD per day) and went to Litchfield Park for a day, aprox 2 hr drive and well worth it as it has croc free swimming!

Darwin is quite small but this means you are not too far away from the Marina or the Wharf where there are some high end restaurants, The Holiday Inn is right near Mitchell St which is lively and we enjoyed numerous beers in various bars on a Friday night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear PorkpieUK

Thank you for your comprehensive review! Your review I’m sure will be helpful for future travellers to Darwin. A couple of things to add however, in addition to breakfast being open from 6am on Saturday and Sunday we also offer breakfast midweek from 3am for those early starters (or late arrivals off International flights into Darwin). We also offer free wireless for 20mins per day if using your own laptop; otherwise we have alternative options starting from just $5 for 30mins.

Holiday Inn Darwin was refreshed in 2010, new lobby and business centre and all guest rooms were refurbished including new cabinetry, beds and linen.

We sincerely appreciate the time taken to post a review and hope that you enjoyed the ‘’Top End’’ and all the best for the remainder of your travels.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager

Ps – will pass on your kind comments to Sally. Thank you for recognising our colleagues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Jetstar's 3.5 hour delayed flight accounted for missing my connecting flight to Brisbane. A hotel room, shuttle and breakfast/luch was organised by jetstar when having to pay for an entire new flight home as my connecting flight was with Virgin. The hotel staff, room, bed food and the hotel in general was excellent after a long delay in Brisbane and waiting for a shuttle to the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wishes to stay/stop over in Darwin.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Lillmisscarla

I’m guessing that you weren’t meant to stay in Darwin, but we’re glad you did! Thank you for your comments, I’m pleased that we were able to make your surprise stop over as pleasant as possible. Next time plan for a stay in Darwin, its a great place to base yourself to explore the NT.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Address: 122 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Darwin is accessible to Darwin CBD, vibrant Mitchell Street, Crocosaurus Cove and Darwin Wharf. The hotel features 24 hour reception and room service and hosts a breakfast in the poolside restaurant for those early risers who embark on day tours or business to the region. Restaurant overlooks the pool and surrounding gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.