We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but dated despite new management” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but dated despite new management”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel used to be the old Holiday Inn Esplanade and only recently changed over to DoubleTree by Hilton.

Pros
- Friendly and efficient staff
- Great location
- Free underground parking

Cons
- Room wasn't as updated as expected
- Upstairs aircon not working properly
- Water temp in shower not constant

Reservation and check-in:
Excellent experience booking over the phone. It sounded like a call center (not through the actual hotel) which I was dreading at first but the gentleman was fantastic. Asked about preferences for room location and even if we were visiting for a special occasion (even though we weren't). Check-in experience was also very good and efficient. Staff were friendly and helpful. The only negative was that we weren't told about needing tokens to exit the carpark, which caused inconvenience the next day when we tried to leave.

Room:
We stayed in a King Loft as it was only an extra $20p.n from the king room. Was away from the lift and on 5th floor. It was quite a walk to the room - away from the lift definitely means away from the lift. The room itself was ok. Not as updated as I expected from a 'new' hotel since it has only just been taken over by Hilton. The decor looked old, especially the couches downstairs, the valance on the bed and the crooked lampshades.
The novelty of the loft was quite nice though, with bed and bathroom upstairs and 'living area' and 2nd toilet/sink downstairs. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable.
The wooden slat blinds look good but let way too much light in in the morning. I thought someone had come in and turned all the lamps on at 7am! There are no curtains, so there is nothing that can be done.
Aircon upstairs didn't work properly and the shower temperature fluctuated. We were only there 2 nights so did not bother reporting it, but it made for a warm night's sleep and not an enjoyable shower.

Location:
Excellent. On the Esplanade, right across the road from the park. Located within the convention centre so can walk straight through to Mitchell St. Several restaurants very close by, including Hanuman in the same centre which has amazing Thai/Indian food and an Asian restaurant across the road. It is only a 5-10 minute walk to everything else. Saying that, this is the same for any of the hotels along the Esplanade.

Overall, was happy enough with the hotel. The service was probably the standout, as the room was underwhelming even though it was $280 p.n. Maybe the other facilites that we didn't use would make up for it and make it worth the extra $$.

Room Tip: King Loft is fun but nothing special. Ask for higher floor, but ask to be near the elevator especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear aussieNT

Thank you for your comments and I am glad that you found the team to be friendly and enjoyed our location. I will have our maintenance team attend your room and replace the valves to rectify the water issue - thank you for bringing it to my attention.

Thank you once again for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again when you next visit Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    240
    158
    55
    30
See reviews for
90
191
54
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Staff extremely friendly and very helpful. Accommodation was extremely clean and facilities kept clean and pool was very inviting after a full day sight seeing. Great location as access to the city and locations of interest was close.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Anna Y

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. I am happy to see that you had a great visit, and that you found the team in particular to be friendly and helpful.

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Darwin and we hope to see you once again when you next travel to Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Large sitting room makes up for the small bedroom. The room missed being cleaned once in the week we stayed but it wasn't a major issue. The doors to adjoining room could do with some insulation/sound proofing. Listening to someone arguing isn't my view of relaxing, overcame it by turning volume on both TVs (one in sitting other in bedroom), bed was large and comfortable, shame the bottom sheet was too small so it felt like the bed was short sheeted by mid way through the night. All in all it is value for money, but could improve on the small things to really make it an excellent motel!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Sal2904

Thank you for your feedback and I do apologise that housekeeping missed attending to your room on one day of your stay. I am pleased that you feel that you received value for money for your stay with us.

Thanks again and please come back and see us again soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the esplanade for eight nights, The rooms were comfortable, A/C really good , cleanliness was good, and the rooms were very quiet.
Had to get maintenance to turn the tv volume louder as it was a whisper .still the picture was worse than analogue signal , must be the age of the hotel.
Of the Eight days , five days when we went away and returned , the card reader on the room door failed , and we spent an average of 1 hour waiting for repair, then to be told it was fixed.
Then upon arriving home , I find I had been charged for some of the breakfasts that were included in the room fare..
Finally , while the hotel is outdated , it is cosy and friendly,,,,, just would love to be able to communicate, either on phone or email ,They always put you on hold , and there is no email address that I can find.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Peter M

Thank you for your comments and I do apologise for the issues you had with your door lock - it is very frustrating to have issues with keys and I sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused you during your stay with us.

I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope that you choose to stay with us again when you next travel to Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

had a very pleasant stay, would stay again, very affordable,would tell other friends about it staff were very helpful pool was great walking distance to all Darwin iner city attractions close to walking tracks and the waterfront areas

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Randy G

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your feedback. Our location is fantastic - close enough to all of the sites and attractions, but far enough removed to enable you to enjoy the tranquility of the park and harbour.

Thank you once again, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights on business, absolutely fine, clean, good service, nice pool, great location on the esplanade. On the other hand the bed & pillows were very uncomfortable, the breakfast overpriced, and go elsewhere for dinner - Darwin has much better restaurants close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you Steve L for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us.

It is always good to read that someine enjoyed their stay with us and in particular the service that the team have offered to our guests.

We do recognise that there is a lot of choice when making the decision to stay at a hotel, and we do thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Esplanade Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The overall experience was satisfactory, the location is fantastic with great views however I found the DoubleTree in Darwin to be clean and tidy but the overall appearance is out of the 80's it is vert tied.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Bruce M

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. I trust that you did enjoy your stay with us. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Darwin one day soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin

Address: 116 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Esplanade Darwin is in the perfect location to enjoy stunning parkland with ocean views, and the excitement of Darwins most vibrant location, Mitchell Street.DoubleTree by Hilton Esplanade Darwin is well known for its large outdoor pool and bar that many visitors like to spend a couple of hours around in the tropical climate. Free Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.