We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A buffet breakfast with a great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Orchid

Golden Orchid
62 Marina Blvd | Cullen Bay, Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 248 Restaurants in Darwin
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Melbourne
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A buffet breakfast with a great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant just opened for breakfast recently and was a great experience, happy and obliging staff,
Fresh juices, freshly cooked eggs, bacon, etc and also foods to suit an Asian palate, we all had the usual aussie brekky and also had some fried rice, which my daughter said was the best she had ever had. Will be making this a once a week occasion now. This was all very reasonably
priced at $16 a head.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, great marina location, decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The lunch specials were reasonably priced and quite good. Service was excellent, friendly and welcoming. Terrace overlooks entrance to Cullen Bay Marina. Wouldn't go out of your way to eat here but if you're in Cullen Bay, it's a good choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Thank you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We asked the restaurant to cook my salmon I caught on a fishing trip. We were thrilled when we arrived and were seated outside on the decking, where we could feed the large fish swimming below. They did a fantastic job of cooking my salmon! It was in a light chilli sauce and really tasted delicious! We have never had fish that tasted so good! The view is also beautiful! The staff were very friendly and obliging. Thank you!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Although not perfect, ie, re waitering, this is a very romantic venue to dine in, right on the water's edge. Reasonably priced for Darwin. Plenty of parking nearby.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Orchid also viewed

 
Darwin, Top End
 

Been to Golden Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Orchid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.