We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pavonia Place

Pavonia Place
2 Pavonia Place | Nightcliff, Darwin, Northern Territory 0810, Australia
0889481515
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 232 restaurants in Darwin
Price range: $0 - $49
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Pavonia Place is a cosy Restaurant located in the heart of Darwin's seaside suburb of Nightcliff. Specialising in modern Australian cuisine with a focus on fresh food and local produce, Pavonia Place prides itself on catering to Gluten free and vego requirements and in utilising the freshest possible ingredients and Australian only seafood. Pavonia Place welcome children of all ages and cater to groups both large and small.
Australia
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Excellent fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were not sure about the restaurant when we peeked through the windows. It was deserted and there was no view. The furniture and decor was functional rather than beautiful and the menu outside looked a bit restricted. Nevertheless, we ventured inside and ordered the menu special - threadfin salmon. It was excellent- fresh, well seasoned and not over -cooked. There was a foam butter sauce which i had on the side. I am very fussy about fish and I was not disappointed. We only had the one course and so we did not try the entree or dessert menu. The glass of riesling was good and not too expensive. There was no bread served with the meal although I seem to recall that some sort of garlic loaf was available as an extra. After a while in the restaurant, I could see that the decor did indeed have a kind or Australian appeal with corrugated iron walls. I would go back if I were in the neighbourhood. The meal for three of us was $123 for three people (1 course each, two sparkling waters and two glasses of wine)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    80
    39
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good dining experience in Nightcliff, Darwin, NT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We are frequent visitors to the top end [for work], but seldom travel too far from the CBD for meals. This time, we met a friend in Casuarina on a Monday night, and picked Pavonia Place for its proximity. We all ordered dishes based on seafood, which was fresh and well-cooked. Staff were helpful and friendly. Price range medium. About 12kms from city, worth a visit if you are driving or in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Beer Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Dry Season is here, the Pavonia Beer garden is open, and the venue is fantastic!

We shared the veggie and the seafood bento boxes and had a tasty bowl of pork belly as well. Too much food for the three of us, but it was so tasty we couldn't leave any behind!

This venue is so cool! We will be bringing any guests we have this Dry here for truly Territory experience.

We were looked after extremely well by the attentive James who was able to give us great advice on our food choices and made sure all was well with our evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, Owner at Pavonia Place, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Chris B yet another glowing review from you and our appreciation for your continued custom and support could not run deeper!. We are so glad you like what we have created with the back Al fresco area, it doesn't get much better than sitting under the stars with a cold drink and Pavonia Bento enjoying the dry season cool now does it?! Thanks again for taking the time to review and we look forward to entertaining you and yours on numerous occasions to come! Cheers and Vodka Martinis from Renee, Isaac, Chef Troy, James and all the team at Pavonia Place! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“I am definitely going back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I've been to that gorgeous place last night to celebrate my 30th birthday. Love it that you can draw on the tablecloths- such a good idea! We all found our hidden artists in ourselves. Efficient and friendly service from our waitress. The food was amazing and so different to other places in Darwin. I had the fish special and it was Devine! I tried of course almost everything from everyone on my table as it all looked just too yummey! Tasty kangaroo and awesome spices with the pork belly- for entrees we asked for oysters natural and they were nice and fresh from south Australia. How unbelievable tasty is that squid!!!!when they came out with our desert( sticky date, choc tarte and tiramisu- yumm yumm and yumm) the whole restaurant sung happy birthday. A very special moment. Thanks for that I am definitely coming back! Well done!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, Owner at Pavonia Place, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi Mae1106! Thank you so much for your lovely review! and Happy Birthday! We love singing Happy Birthday to our Birthday diners, especially Isaac, he loves singing Happy Birthday the most!! ;-) there's nothing better than when the whole restaurant joins in :-) We're so glad you enjoyed your evening with us and that the food and service were to your satisfaction! We look forward to seeing you back at Pavonia Place in the near future! Don't forget the new Al fresco area now open Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights through the dry and also available for private functions! Cheers and Beers from Renee, Isaac and all the team at Pavonia Place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Efficient, delicious, good portions, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We went to Pavonia place recently for a birthday. The waitress had good knowledge of the menu. Happy casual atmosphere. Reasonably priced.
I had the smoked salmon rigatoni and it was amazingly done. The chocolate pudding was equally great. The staff were patient and didn't try to rush our orders, (a pet hate of mine) though we had efficient service all night.
We will be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pavonia Place also viewed

 

Been to Pavonia Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavonia Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.