We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your in the Top End” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Window on the Wetlands Visitor Centre

Window on the Wetlands Visitor Centre
Beatrice Hill,, Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 43 Attractions in Darwin
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Other
Attraction details
Darwin
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Your in the Top End”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The name says it all so if you visit in the Dry Season it will not have the same appeal as in the Wet when the flood plains are just that - "Flooded" and the wild life is in abundance. And yes you have to walk about 150 metres from the car park so what, if you don't like walking a little way stay in the car or stay home. The views are just lovely

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    29
    20
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Interesting stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We visited Window on the Wetlands on the way from Kakadu to Darwin in June. It's an amazing building with a great view over the wetlands. The displays in the building were most informative and suited to both adults and children. On the day we were there, few birds were to be seen but it is a wonderful spot to watch for any birdlife and at certain times the sight of large numbers of birds must be wonderful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Don't bother unless you have kids”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Coffee machine was broken, displayed we're very basic, although e views ar good and some interesting information on top deck.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I wouldn't do a trip out here just to see this place but it is well worth a look if your passing through. Very informative and the views were outstanding. The kiosk was closed when I visited. Friendly staff and very clean :)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
182 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Not Worth Visiting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I visited there in a tour to a jumping crocodile cruise. I was not so interested in the education about wetland, but children may get interested. Personally I believe it is no problem to skip this educational facility.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Window on the Wetlands Visitor Centre also viewed

 

Been to Window on the Wetlands Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Window on the Wetlands Visitor Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.