We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Fox” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Ale House

Fox Ale House
85 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 248 Restaurants in Darwin
Cuisines: Australian
Description: The Fox +6189421866
Restaurant details
Description: The Fox +6189421866
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Love the Fox”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Have become somewhat of a local at The Fox, it is unpretentious, the staff remember you every time you go back and having live music almost every night of the week to just sit back and enjoy or get up and have a dance is just fantstic. We go there often and will continue to do so! It gets no where near as crowded as the "trendy" pubs further down Mitchell St in the heart of the party atmosphere and that it also why we think it is fantastic, genuine old school pub!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great beer, decent pub food, and very friendly service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We explained to the lady manager the N. American method of table service and how tips work. I think she must have made $150 in tips on the first night from us. She was happy to bring the beers to our table. An awesome pub. We did far more drinking than eating, but the food was definitely good. And only a short walk to the hotel!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnderTheStairs
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Best pub on Mitchell street without a doubt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Excellent food... The best service you'll get on Mitchell street. It's a good place to be with a good crowd so the girls (and guy) working there seem to genuinely enjoy their jobs and it shows. Always happy but also some of the kindest and most caring staff on Mitchell st.
Another great thing, it's about 200 metres further down Mitchell st than most of the drunken yobs can manage to stagger so still retains an excellent bar feeling even by the time of night the rest of the street has turned into a nightclub. My favourite hang out when stuck in the cbd.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Fantastic caring staff. Called us in and offered water for our dog without expecting us to order anything for ourselves. We did anyway and the pub food was excellent and reasonably priced. Excellent service

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Quick drink after cinema”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I like 'The Fox' as it's not overly crowded like the place across the road. They last few times we have dropped in for a drink after the cinema they have had a solo singer, or small band playing which has been great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox Ale House also viewed

 
Darwin, Top End
Darwin, Top End
 

Been to Fox Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Ale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.