We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Melaleuca on Mitchell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melaleuca on Mitchell to your Saves list
Melaleuca on Mitchell
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   52 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bad value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

It's a dirty and noisy hostel full of party style backpackers. The rooms are not cleanned when someone leaves... The sheets and the beds are a bit digusting. If you find nowhere else to stay it might be ok but there are other options near by so try them first. The staff dont care... It is well located but there are others well located too


  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallieG76, Guest Relations Manager at Melaleuca on Mitchell, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry to hear that you would not recommend our property.
Melaleuca on Mitchell is proud to be recognised as the 2013 Northern Territory Tourism Award winner for Best Backpacker Accommodation. We strive for a high level of customer service and cleanliness.
All rooms are serviced daily.
We are pleased to advise that we are also implementing an upgrade of all of our mattresses during the coming months.
We do have 400+ beds and a bar on our leisure deck which is opened until 11.59pm.
The bar is closed at this time to reduce the impact of noise on other guests.
All the best with your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    58
    45
    52
    31
See reviews for
8
46
65
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Its a backpackers so of course its never going to be luxurious but it is very very basic. It lacked a homely feel which I have enjoyed at other backpackers. The room looked like a hospital room, and the mattress was terrible. For the price we paid $100 dollars a night for a private with a shared bathroom, I would rather have paid the bit extra and got a hotel. The private rooms were right next door to the dorms as well which annoyed me, all down the corridor there were farmer boots and bad smells!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallieG76, Guest Relations Manager at Melaleuca on Mitchell, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Melaleuca on Mitchell is proud to be recognised as the 2013 Northern Territory Tourism Award winner for Best Backpacker Accommodation. We strive for a high level of customer service, cleanliness and guest satisfaction.
I hope that you were able to enjoy the community atmosphere of the hostel, which is evident on the leisure deck with the 2 swimming pools and waterwater spa, bar and eating areas.
We are currently undergoing an upgrade of all of our mattresses and this will be completed in the coming months.
All the best with your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were 4 friends and had booked a 6-bed dorm. We got upgraded and had our dorms just for us!

It was early november, so very warm in the room but the air con was working.

There is bar downstairs, so it can be a bit noisy until 11PM

the living area outside is very nice and we enjoyed the pool with this humid and warm weather!

Toilets were clean.

We just stayed one night before a tour but i would go back if i were going back to Darwin!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallieG76, Guest Relations Manager at Melaleuca on Mitchell, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay!
If you do return to Darwin, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The room and toilet were clean, the staff pleasant enough and the air conditioning was good. From this perspective, for the money we got what we expected. I would not recommend this place if you want to do any sleeping.
Our room was immediately outside the noisy deck and the men's toilet. The men's toilet door slammed every time someone used it. There was music blaring until about 1.30am, the window of our room wouldn't shut neither would the blind. There were men in the women's toilets because they were too lazy to walk 50 meters down the hall to get to the men's and on checking out at 5am, we were accosted at the lifts by a very drunk individual who was just standing around in the hall area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from all the noise if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallieG76, Guest Relations Manager at Melaleuca on Mitchell, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Melaleuca on Mitchell is proud to be recognised as the 2013 Northern Territory Tourism Award winner for Best Backpacker Accommodation. We strive for a high level of customer service and cleanliness.
We do recognise that with 400+ rooms and a bar that is open until 11.59pm, there will be noise up until this time.
We are also located right in the heart of Darwin, which is known for it's lively atmosphere.
We have security at the hostel to help ensure any issues are kept to a minimum.
We appreciate you taking the time to pass on your feedback.
All the best with your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Great spot close to everything you need, the rooms are clean, The staff are nice, the bar and pool are great! Good prices, I have stayed in a place at Perth that was more expensive and was the worst place I have stayed! I'm only half way threw my stay but very happy with the place!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is maybe okay for backpackers who have no expectations on their stay.
The upper deck was quite nice with the pools and the view over the busy Mitchell Street, but the bad things outweigh the good ones.
Staff was very unfriendly when we asked for a discount since we couldn't check in before 3 pm (room wasn't cleaned yet). Even more rude was the offer of $1 discount! We were just exhausted after a long journey and it's not the best feeling if you cannot check in and the staff just laughs at you. Maybe this is normal for a hostel, but I would never ever go there again and I would recommend this hostel to no one.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Melaleuca on Mitchell, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hi Ninak83,

Thank you for your review of Melaleuca on Mitchell.

I am sorry that you were unhappy that we were unable to check you in when you arrived at our property. Our check in time is from 2pm in the afternoon. We do advise guests who are arriving at 4am in the morning that they will need to book for the previous night if they want to check in as soon as they arrive. Otherwise we will store your luggage advise where you can chill out until check in time. I will pass on your feedback to the Front Office Manager and the team.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your time up at the leisure deck and hope that you enjoyed your stay in Darwin.

Regards
Sheena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I felt that this hostel was overpriced for what it was. I stayed here for one night, and after a long overnight flight arrived at the hostel at 7am, to find that I wasn't able to check in until 2pm! I understand that they probably couldn't let me in to the room at 7, but I had to hang around, exhausted (!) until 2pm when I could finally check in to my room. I had another overnight flight the following day and was also shocked to discover that check out in the morning was 10am! The hostel overall was ok; seemed to be full of people working/looking for jobs, so I'd probably look to stay somewhere else if you're looking to meet people and stay for one or two nights. Bathrooms fine, dorm room a bit small and only two plug sockets, which was a pain. Overall, ok, but nothing special and probably wouldn't recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Melaleuca on Mitchell, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi VJ89,

Thank you for your review of Melaleuca on Mitchell, Darwin. Thank you for your feedback regarding the hostel. I am sorry that you are unhappy with the check in and check out times that we offer at our property. We do advise that our check in time is not until 2pm in the afternoon which allows us to check people out at 10am and then re-organise beds and rooms for arriving guests.

We do have services available to meet guests needs during these times. Free luggage storage, use of our leisure deck and communal bathrooms before you check in and after you check out until 10pm at night.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Australia.

Regards
Sheena and the team at MOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melaleuca on Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melaleuca on Mitchell

Address: 52 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melaleuca on Mitchell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melaleuca on Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaleuca On Mitchell Hotel Darwin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melaleuca on Mitchell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.