We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what do you expect?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melaleuca on Mitchell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Melaleuca on Mitchell to your Saves list
Melaleuca on Mitchell
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   52 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“what do you expect?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

i don't know what's wrong with travellers these days. this sort of place is perfect for the budget traveller. people to meet, cheap alternative to a hotel, clean, friendly and safe. good location and perfect for a short stay. it is true there are a few long termers around but i didn't travel all this way to hang out by myself

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    58
    44
    52
    31
See reviews for
8
46
64
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I didn't do a lot of research into which hostel to stay at in Darwin as I didn't have a lot of time, so I checked into Melaleuca's (which I have problems saying and spelling!!)

I stayed in a 6 bed dorm, as there were no 4 beds left. The rooms are fairly small, but cleaned on a daily basis and generally quite new and modern. I found the bed comfy, despite reading reviews since on complaints with the plastic mattress covering, this didn't affect the comfort at all, I just had difficulties in keeping the sheet on as it kept sliding off!

The air con was fantastic, actually too good! I was freezing at night and the hostel did not provide blankets like previous ones I had stayed in. There was also a fan in the room which was definitely not needed, but nice to have!

The sockets/plugs in the room didn't work, so the aircon was unplugged and plugged into a multi-socket adapter which hung from the ceiling! I did not think this was safe, especially when using universal adapters which didn't fit into the sockets properly and often dropped out (or make sparking noises!)

The doors to the rooms were also extremely noisy and disturbed my sleep on numerous occasions. There is no handle on the outside, so you literally have to push the door which makes a loud click as the latch disengages. They also slam shut which is hard to control.

I found the kitchen to be extremely small with the amount of people that were staying in the hostel and the areas around the pool and bar got very crowded.

I'm a 24 year old female, but still found the hostel a little overwhelming with so many young people, mostly here to party and get drunk, so it seemed! I would certainly not recommend staying here if a bit of noise will disturb your sleep, and if people in your room going in and out at all hours of the day/night will annoy you! I stayed here for 3 nights and certainly ready to move on!

Location wise, it's excellent, right in the heart of the city. Lots of restaurants, take aways, coffee shops, pubs, Coles/Woolworths within 30 seconds walk. But maybe think twice, unless you're here to party until dawn!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We spent two nights in a double room at MoM before moving to the Vibe on the waterfront for our last night.

The pros: Our room was very clean, the pool/bar area was quite nice, we weren't affected by noise made by other guests at all, staff were friendly and helpful, location is as central as it gets.

The cons: our double room configuration was a double bed with a single bunk bed welded on top. Bed was very uncomfortable - you could feel the metal struts through the mattress. Air conditioner sounded like a lawn mower and kept us awake. Paucity of electrical sockets in the room. Bathroom so tiny, the shower nozzle had to be mounted at an angle that meant you couldn't shower without getting a faceful of water.

It's a hostel, so we weren't expecting too much. If you're a single person paying $25 a night it's probably a good bet. If you're a couple, I'd pay the extra $30 or $40 and stay at one of the cheaper hotels in town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Good location but very expensive (like most of Darwin). Kitchen was dirty and overcrowded. We had cockroaches in our room. It's extremely loud at night so stay somewhere else if you don't have earplugs & want a good night's sleep.The staff were really nice but they spent a lot of their time telling people to keep the noise down. If you're a young party animal then stay here, otherwise avoid Melaleuca on Mitchell!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

This place is exactly what people say it is, rooms are clean, fans work, pool is great and deck and bar are always full of people to chat too... there are alot of long term people so there were a few groups forming, but nothing a quick "how ya going, where you from?" wouldnt fix :)

drink prices at bar good if you drink beer but $9 for a Jim bean can is a little pricy..

great location as on main street for all clubs and bars, good cheap food places directly accross the road.

had the private room which worked great for what we needed, we where there to party and drink and crash... beds were comfortable enough for being basic foam matteresses, shower worked fine.

staff were helpfull, even thought they were swamped, place was busy but people where checking in and out all the time so cant really complain about that..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

If you're 18 yrs old and loud and brash, then this is the place for you! If you'd prefer to get some sleep and actually be able to cook a meal in the communal kitchen, then I'd recommend you choose somewhere else.
It seems a lot of people live here permanently whilst working in Darwin, so it's always busy. The dorms are packed - we had a room with 4 other people, 2 of whom had stayed there for 1 month, so the room was filled with their belongings and we had no room to put our 2 bags.
The main bathrooms were fairly large and on the whole clean and tidy, so they were fine. The kitchen was at times so hectic that you couldn't use it - we decided to eat out a lot!
This place definitely caters for the young, drunken crowd.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This place is super tidy and has a great outdoor deck. However the kitchen is crowded, and the only place to socialize is at the bar which can be expensive! Doesn't have any character

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melaleuca on Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melaleuca on Mitchell

Address: 52 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melaleuca on Mitchell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melaleuca on Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaleuca On Mitchell Hotel Darwin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melaleuca on Mitchell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.