We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three days of hot sweaty bliss in Kakadu!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Experience the Wild - Private Day Tours

Experience the Wild - Private Day Tours
Wirraway Circuit, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
+61 400 404 058
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 19 Nature & Parks in Darwin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Come with experienced nature guide, Mike Jarvis, on a bird watching and nature tour. With individuals and small groups (up to six), personalized experience is guaranteed. Free accommodation pick up and drop off. Half day Darwin Bird Watching Experience, refreshments provided. Full day Fogg Dam Wildlife Experience, refreshments and lunch provided. Loan binoculars and spotting scope available for use. Visit various unspoiled habitats close to Darwin for viewing of Rainbow Pitta and many other bird and animal species in their natural environment.Please see our website for details of extended tours from 2-8 days.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Three days of hot sweaty bliss in Kakadu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

These 3 days were definitely the highlight of our month-long Australian idyll. Mike Jarvis' knowledge, not only of the birds but also of the flora and fauna and indigenous people of the area, made the whole Kakadu experience unforgettable. Bob is a very keen birder and fisherman, so was in seventh heaven and I thoroughly enjoyed drinking in the scenery (who could fail to be delighted by the beauty of the Yellow Waters at dawn and at sunset) and learning about the bird life. We saw our first dingo and water buffalo. Croc spotting also had its appeal! Thank you so much Mike for giving us such a memorable experience. We hope to be back some day.

Bob and Rowena

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike J, Owner at Experience the Wild - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you Rowena for your comments, and thank you too for being my guests and allowing me to share this amazing and unique part of the planet with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berry Springs, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful Experience for School Group!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

As part of a home schooling network we are continually looking for new and fun ways for our children to learn. This tour didn't dissappoint. We enjoyed a half day tour at Howard Springs Nature Reserve. Our tour guide, Mike Jarvis, had an exceptional knowledge of local bird life, in addition to local plant life and was very informative in helping our children have a wonderful experience. Would highly recommend "Experience the Wild"!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike J, Owner at Experience the Wild - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you Christine, it was a delight to take your group of six kids and three mums though the Howard Springs monsoon forest trail. The highlight for me was sharing that 'Pitta Moment' when everyone got to see a Rainbow Pitta for the first time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Birding around Darwin is superb, and Experience the Wild is the perfect company to see all the area has to offer. My wife and I had a delightful full day experience seeing a range of habitats and wide range of the winged locals. Our guide went out of his way to ensure we found some of the harder to find birds. The day was full and yet very relaxing at the same time. Tea and food breaks under shady woodlands and a comfortable ride in air-conditioned van. We particularly liked the small group size which ensured a private experience for all. We opted for the boat cruise on the Margaret River and would highly recommend that to anyone who wants to see both birds and crocs. If it is Darwin, then there should be some crocs! And there were. Plenty of them and plenty of nice close bird views as well. This has been our best birding outing in Oz. You’ll have a great time!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike J, Owner at Experience the Wild - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thanks for your comments. It's always a pleasure to spend the day sharing the adventure with like-minded people!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Litchfield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Thanks for the Great time in some of the less traveled parts of Litchfield. Tjaynera falls was a highlight of the trip, some beautiful swimming and plenty of wildlife along the trip.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike J, Owner at Experience the Wild - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
No worries Ashley, it was a pleasure to take you to these spectacular places.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
1 review
“An excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had a wonderful day on the full day Experience the wild bird-watching tour. We especially enjoyed the small numbers, the knowledge of not only birds, but insects and plants, of our affable guide Graeme, and the diverse range of habitats we visited within Darwin and to Fogg Dam. Finishing with drinks overlooking the sun set at Fogg Dam was quite memorable. Overall we saw 74 species of birds and were delighted, as relatively new birders from down south, to see 27 new birds. Thanks so much to Graeme, Mike and Jennifer for an excellent tour.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike J, Owner at Experience the Wild - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments Helen. We are glad that you enjoyed the tour and got to see a good number of species.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Experience the Wild - Private Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Experience the Wild - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Experience the Wild - Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.