We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally Located but Costly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Value Inn Darwin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Value Inn Darwin to your Saves list
Value Inn Darwin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0801, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Centrally Located but Costly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed before and after a hired campervan holiday around Darwin, Kakadu and Litchfield areas which we totally enjoyed. Little sleep the first night as across the carpark was party central. The second visit was better as we had asked for a quieter part of the Inn. Darwin's accommodation in June / July is well known to be overpriced for what you get and the Value Inn is no exception. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location very central virtually in the CBD. The room while small and basic was clean though it did have a faint odor of air freshener lingering after having been recently cleaned. The air-con was too noisy to leave operating overnight. Value for money, compared to say staying on the Gold Coast, wasn't good. We personally felt that all accommodation was overly expensive in Darwin even the caravan parks are expensive, by comparison, with other tourists destinations.

Room Tip: Be mindful the rooms adjacent to the carpark are also adjacent to the accommodation opposite which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Hi Peter W,

Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin, we appreciate your feedback about the property.
It is pleasing to read that the staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean.
Our rates are determined by the time of year . We have some great specials in the off peak season that you might like to utilise from October through to May.

We hope to see you the next time that you hire a camper van to visit our wonderful part of the country.

Regards
Sheena, Sarah and the team at Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    50
    69
    53
    46
See reviews for
31
84
49
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

I found the rooms extremely small the shower had mould on the grout and the bed was horrendously hard. It was expensive for what u received. My room was not serviced only when I asked, I would not normally stay in this type of accommodation it was terrible.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hi Jilauhl,

Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin. I am sorry that there were some issues with your room. If you would like to email me at gm@momdarwin.com.au and advise what room you stayed in I will go and check and rectify with my staff the issues that you have commented on.

We appreciate your feedback.

Regards
Sheena, sarah and the team at Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Room vas small, but cleaner than expected, more comfortable then expected and with both decent beds, television, fridge and affordable wi-fi. It IS a backpacker place, there will be noise, someone had a food fight in the hallway and it is not classy or "nice". But for Darwin, location and service I thought it was totally ok for people travelling on a budget!

+ for excellent service at the front desk of Melaleuca on Mitchell (which is shared entrance at nighttime).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hi Anne Grete S,

Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay
while you were in Darwin. The location is very central, close to the airport shuttle, supermarkets and entertainment precinct.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Darwin.

Regards
Sheena, Sarah and the team at Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongbar
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Had just finished 4400km on road and off road from Cooktown to Darwin. Very glad to get to the Value Inn and spend my first night in 4 weeks in a bed. Stayed a total of 3 nights in Room 10.
Found it to be well situated, clean, comfortable and relatively quiet. (The inability to open the window, necessitating the air-conditioner to be on most of the time was a bit of an issue.
The shower nozzle was loose and spraying water but tightening it fixed the problem.
The only real issue I had was a very noisy exhaust fan in the bathroom. (Obviously only an issue when you turned on the light/fan in the bath room
Overall considered it good value

Room Tip: As far from Mitchell Street as possible and probably above street level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hi plateaupete,

Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our property and found it relaxing after completing a 4400 km road trip from Cooktown. I have asked the maintenance team to rectify issues with the shower nozzle and bathroom extra tor fan.

We hope that you enjoyed your drive home as well.

Regards
Sheena, Sarah and the team at Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

As part of a transcontinental motorcycle tour, I stayed six nights at the Value Inn (6.4.14 - 12.4.14) and found my stay a pleasant one. My room, on the first floor (# 50), was very small and reminded me constantly of a boat cabin rather than a motel room. However, it had all the essentials, including tea making facilities. As I hardly spent any time indoors, I can’t really comment on the cleanliness per se. However, sleep quality was only average due to the hotel’s central location and a few inconsiderate other travellers. I often slept with the A/C off (too noisy) although this is not approved by management (think of humidity and mould development). Check-in was straight forward and whenever I had a question or request, the reception staff was friendly and accommodating. Watch out for a Dawn Fraser look-alike…. this lady is always ready for a friendly chat. There is a small pool on the premises which, unfortunately, was closed for most of the time during my stay due to maintenance work. I went to the Nightcliff Pool instead which was wonderful. I paid AUD$502.00 for 6 nights’ accommodation which I found very good value for money – considering the motel’s central location. I lived in Darwin for 18 months (1972-73) and was amazed by the transformation this city has made since Cyclone Tracy (X-mas 1974). But back to my review. In Summary: I have no hesitation in recommending the Value Inn to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Inspect rooms before checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Booked a triple room in Darwin at Value Inn, it was last minute so had no choice or I would have gone elsewhere. The room is very small so no room to open a small suitcase, never mind 3 (we were 3). Impossible to open a window and so the AC had to be on 24 hours. plus It is placed right over our heads, so hard to sleep.
We stayed 3 nights and found bugs each night. Staff friendly but offered to take care of the bug problem only at check out.. a little late !

Not very clean. Very expensive and no early check in.
Small swimming pool area with chairs and tables, a welcoming break at the end of the day, but lots of ants around trash area, close to seating area. A large box with fresh towels each morning, but most often empty.

The only positive point: its location on Mitchell street.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Room was basic and a bit cramped, but all I needed. Comfortable bed, A/C, fridge & TV.

The room smelled a little but I think that is part of being in Darwin.

It is great having the facilities next door available to us (back packers with pool etc..).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Value Inn Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Inn Darwin

Address: 50 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0801, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Value Inn Darwin 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value Inn offers 91 budget rooms (2.5 star rating) with some of Darwin's most popular restaurants, bars and entertainment right the your doorstep.Perfect groups, couples & those people looking for a centrally located accommodation option in Darwin.Property features include:Free secured off street parking, 24 hour reception (after hours via Melaleuca on Mitchell next door) Swimming pool, BBQ Area, Lift to all floors. Room features include:Queen & single bed, Colour TV, Tea & coffee making facilities, Ensuite bathroom, Air conditioned, Bar fridge, Serviced daily. Access the facilities next door at Melaleuca on Mitchell including, 2 swimming pools, waterfall spa, pool bar, leisure deck, self catering kitchen, laundry and internet cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Value Inn Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Inn Darwin Hotel Darwin
Value Hotel Darwin
Darwin Value Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Value Inn Darwin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.