We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skycity Darwin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Skycity Darwin to your Saves list
Skycity Darwin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gilruth Avenue | The Gardens, Darwin, Northern Territory 0801, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I was looking forward to staying at Skycity but was rather underwhelmed. The rooms were a little tired looking but had all the normal facilities. We were in the old part of the hotel in room 137. It was above reception with a very small balcony overlooking the roof below. If I didn't get a great deal through Amoma, I would've rated this lower for value for money and in my overall rating. The highlight was the Sunset restaurant where the food was delicious and the staff fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    170
    83
    40
    31
See reviews for
64
211
23
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Hedland, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Check in ok, efficient- no smiles here though. Got to room, didn't look like it had been cleaned ..the smell was awful. Mouldy and damp, ordered some room service (very helpful staff member on phone and delivery) $5 tray charge to deliver....went to reception to ask to move. They were happy too move me, but the room service food had me feeling quesy. Walked around while waiting for new room to be ready, but no greeting or smiles from staff. Got back to room to use bathroom, soaps and conditioners used and half full. Went to reception and checked out. I've stayed at highway roadhouses that were cleaner. Just surprises me Qantas put their name to this hotel....don't do it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat springs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Front desk staff couldn't be bothered. We needed to extend a night due to some unfinished business in tow, there was confusion on the room rate, HOURS later after we had confirmed our additional night we got a call in room stating the price had gone up $200 for that night. We offered to check out, and were told that we would have to pay $30.00 per hour for having stayed past checkout. We ended up staying that second night and paying over $500 per night for a small hotel room, unremarkable, difficult to find, and just plain not a good value. We are back in Darwn now, and staying at the waterfront, lots more going on, nicer atmosphere for better than half the price.

Room Tip: Beach, we were kicked off of it , employee stated it was for the people in the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great location, our room had a view of the beach and the lagoon pool. Room was good size and clean, bed was comfortable, room was serviced every day . Great value for what we paid, would go back. :) :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

They advertise on their website "Darwin's premium five star boutique hotel". The room we had was clean, comfortable, but typical of a hotel or motel room, not what we would have classed 5 star but had a 5 star price. But the whole Casino/Hotel complex is nice, lovely gardens, friendly and helpful staff. We never dined in any of the restaurants but did have some drinks and a meal in the Sandbar which is very nice overlooking the ocean. The Hotel is within walking distance to the Mindil Markets and there are some lovely beachside walks and the Botanic Gardens close by. Cullen Bay is only five minutes away by car and has some good cafes and restaurants. When we come up to Darwin again we would more than likely stay in the city within walking distance to the attractions there. But we did enjoy our stay at Skycity Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in an Ocean View Room, the balconies are very small, the Lagoon Rooms looked the best bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I was very disappointed in Skycity Darwin Hotel. After booking a 'Sea View' Room which cost more than the regular, we were given one which should have been described as a 'Sea Glimpse' room. I always check to see if mattress overlays, pillows etc are clean and was horrified to find blood spots on our mattress overlay. YUK! The toiletries were meagre. The only plus to this hotel is the pool which was really magnificent. This is DEFINITELY not a 5 star hotel. I would never go there again. Very poor value.

Room Tip: Do not go there - not worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Room smelt mouldy. A/C leaked water over tiles making slippery. Told staff 2 days running, sent a mop! Told it was because the A/C was turned off during the night. Left on 2nd night, was worse and froze to death. $33 for continental breakfast to the room. Would expect a few biscuits for a 5star and paying $309 per night. Would never go back and would not recommend. Wish we had of read hotel reviews first.

Room Tip: May be the attached Resort might be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Skycity Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skycity Darwin

Address: Gilruth Avenue | The Gardens, Darwin, Northern Territory 0801, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Skycity Darwin 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SKYCITY Darwin is the ultimate travel destination for discerning guests seeking a truly five star beachfront experience in Australia’s extraordinary Top End. Nestled on 30 acres of tropical gardens fringed by the crystal blue Arafura Sea, SKYCITY’s centrally located resort offers stunning accommodation and dining options, teamed with a world class entertainment complex and superior conference and event facilities.Relax in one of our 152 stylishly appointed hotel or resort rooms, swim in our spectacular infinity edged pool or lagoon pool, enjoy the cuisine of our five distinctive dining experiences, indulge in spa treatments, and relax on our beautiful private beach.We offer the perfect getaway for business and pleasure that invites guests to wind down and savour Darwin’s finest address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Skycity Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skycity Darwin Hotel Darwin
Skycity Hotel Darwin
Darwin Skycity Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skycity Darwin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.