We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sky high” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skycity Darwin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Skycity Darwin to your Saves list
Skycity Darwin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gilruth Avenue | The Gardens, Darwin, Northern Territory 0801, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Fremantle, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“sky high”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great hotel, good restaurants, wonderful and helpful staff, Nico who organised us a helicopter trip that was an absolute joy ride!
it's a local firm, Coolibah and well worth the extra money for an hour's ride over Litchfield park.
The rooms were fantastic, last minute change of plan because of a bad back playing up, meant we had to change rooms, no problem, nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the staff, Tried three of the restaurants, all were good, Il Pianto has the best sunset view!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JC8001, Manager at Skycity Darwin, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Lyn S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at SKYCITY Darwin, we are so pleased that your stay was such a pleasant one. Il Piatto certainly does have the best sunset view in Darwin.

I will pass on your great comments about our staff to the relevant areas. We hope to be able to welcome you back to SKYCITY Darwin in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jeanette Collett
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    160
    74
    40
    27
See reviews for
61
194
23
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came here for part of our honeymoon. We stayed in the new resort area. The rooms were very modern...cleaning was ok. Could be better as there were stains on the toilet and the floors werent overly clean. The pool and bar area is amazing. Most of the staff were lovely. Cant give enough praise to the concierge boys. They were polite and so helpful the whole time. Anytime we needed help they practically ran to our aid! Overall the resort is a great place to stay..we would love to come back again...maybe after they review their room pricing!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JC8001, Manager at Skycity Darwin, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear amicar4,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at SKYCITY Darwin. I am glad you enjoyed our wonderful pool and bar areas.

I appreciate you bringing the cleaning to my attention; I will mention this to our cleaning team so improvements can be made.

Thank you for your lovely comments on our concierge team, they will be glad to hear the great feedback.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to SKYCITY Darwin in the future.

Kind regards,

Jeanette Collett
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed here for six nights at the end of April, in the Hotel side for the first 4 nights, and the Lagoon side for the last 2 nights. I know it's very expensive, but the Lagoon side blew my socks off, so if you can stretch your budget I highly recommend it. Not that there's anything wrong with the Hotel rooms, which has a gorgeous pool with fabulous views over the beach. However a swim out room was a real treat, which I absolutely loved! The staff were particularly friendly, and very helpful. I also must make mention of the food - I was travelling alone and tended to eat most of my meals in my room, and I was never disappointed. I also ate in the Chinese restaurant, and another restaurant in the Casino. Every meal was exceptionally good - I was very impressed. The location won't work for everyone, but I liked being out of the main town. It was easy to get a cab into town, I think they run a shuttle bus, and I even braved the heat to walk and it only took about 25 minutes. However it's just next to the Mindil Beach Markets, which are every Thursday and Sunday in the dry season. I thought that this was a great destination.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JC8001, Manager at Skycity Darwin, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear rjt33,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at SKYCITY Darwin. I am pleased to hear our new Resort made such an impression on you!

I will certainly pass on your great comments about the fantastic service you received from staff as well as the quality of food to the respective areas also.

We look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Darwin soon.

Kind regards,

Jeanette Collett
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I were enjoying visiting family in Darwin! We decided to go to the sky city restaurant for lunch because we have been there years before, as my partner and I walked in to the main entrance, we were stopped my security and was told that my partner could not come in due to him wearing a singlet, we explained that we were meeting family at the buffet restaurant but he said it still didn't matter, so he left I decided to meet up with my family anyway, as I walked in the same security man stopped me and asked for my ID, I didn't have it and explained that I just wanted to meet my family in the restaurant and ill walk around the other entrance, he said that it didn't matter if I didn't have my ID I wasn't allowed to meet my aunty and her 3 year old girls! Where we were staying was in nightcliff and not being locals we were not familiar with quick ways to retrieve out stuff! It messed up our day and one of our last days with my family! I called once I was in the car and the lady on the phone said that I should have been let in but she wasn't overly apologetic! It really was a joke and I will be in no hurry to return! Next time when I'm visiting we will be going else where!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Being locals on a night away, we only stayed for one night and really enjoyed it. We stayed in a ground floor room, in the older part of the hotel (Room #82). The room was very well appointed, and had very recently been renovated. It was equipped as a handicap-friendly room, which for us meant a massive triple head shower and a fully jetted bath tub. The only complaints we had were: the room was subjected to lots of hallway noise (including clearly hearing the "beep" from neighbour's door locks, plus every other little noise). A better fitted, sound-proof door would be a good improvement. Also, for a $290 a night room, the mattress was only average, something you'd find in any old motel. So, a lousy night sleep for the price!

But, the location can't be beat, and the bar and restaurant selection is fabulous. I'd recommend staying at Skycity, but choose your room carefully.

Room Tip: Try the new lagoon rooms, they look great, otherwise try to get a beach view, top floor room. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JC8001, Manager at Skycity Darwin, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Darryl D,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay. I am glad you found your room to be well appointed and our food and beverage options to be great.

I am sorry you feel you didn’t receive value for money whilst you were here, our existing hotel certainly does look a little tired when compared to the brand new state of the art Resort we recently opened. At SKYCITY Darwin we have an ongoing commitment to upgrading and refurbishing our facilities which obviously can’t occur throughout the entire property at the same time, but I will certainly raise the issues you have mentioned with my team.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to SKYCITY Darwin in the future.

Kind regards,

Jeanette Collett
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Darwin was the start of our 14th trip to OZ, and this was our fifth stay at SkyCity. We booked one of the new lagoon rooms. Wonderful room, with ladder, from our lanai, into the lagoon. Short swim to the swimup bar. Good service. Chinese restaurant in casino was excellent. Only shortcoming, with a green designation, the new rooms are not as cool, as the other rooms. We'll definitely return, but will probably stay in the spa suite room, overlooking Mindil Beach

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JC8001, Manager at Skycity Darwin, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Steve J,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments about your recent stay at SKYCITY Darwin. I am pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable break in one of our Superior Lagoon Rooms.

I will pass your great comments about Dragon Court to our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Darwin for your 6th visit.

Kind regards,
Jeanette Collett
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

After visiting Skycity Darwin for a friends bucks party, we left a little disapointed after booking at Skycity. The old section of the hotel was way below standard for a 5 star hotel, and i wouldn't even recommend staying here if you were planning on being in one of these rooms. The price for staying in peak season bordered on rediculous and could get a much better property anywhere else.

The rooms were extremely poor in the old section, with poorly designed small rooms and a mouldy shower head.

The lagoon pool was lovely, and was one of the pleasures of the trip with the swim up pool bar.

Overall a little disapointing.

Room Tip: Stay in the lagoon pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JC8001, Manager at Skycity Darwin, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear imprsv,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at SKYCITY Darwin, I am glad you enjoyed our Lagoon pool and swim-up bar.

I am sorry that our rooms did not live up to your expectations, our existing hotel certainly does look a little tired when compared to the brand new Resort we recently opened. SKYCITY Darwin is committed to a continual programme of upgrading and refurbishing facilities; however this cannot be completed throughout the whole property at the same time.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to SKYCITY Darwin in the future.

Kind regards,
Jeanette Collett
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skycity Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skycity Darwin

Address: Gilruth Avenue | The Gardens, Darwin, Northern Territory 0801, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Skycity Darwin 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SKYCITY Darwin is the ultimate travel destination for discerning guests seeking a truly five star beachfront experience in Australia’s extraordinary Top End. Nestled on 30 acres of tropical gardens fringed by the crystal blue Arafura Sea, SKYCITY’s centrally located resort offers stunning accommodation and dining options, teamed with a world class entertainment complex and superior conference and event facilities.Relax in one of our 152 stylishly appointed hotel or resort rooms, swim in our spectacular infinity edged pool or lagoon pool, enjoy the cuisine of our five distinctive dining experiences, indulge in spa treatments, and relax on our beautiful private beach.We offer the perfect getaway for business and pleasure that invites guests to wind down and savour Darwin’s finest address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Skycity Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skycity Darwin Hotel Darwin
Skycity Hotel Darwin
Darwin Skycity Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skycity Darwin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.