We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and Low grade accommodation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Grove Holiday Apartments

Coconut Grove Holiday Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Grove Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Coconut Grove Holiday Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   146 Dick Ward Drive, Coconut grove, Darwin, Northern Territory 0810, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Over priced and Low grade accommodation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our group of 6 booked a three bedroomed appartment for just over a week, photos on line showed washing machine and dryer in the room but wree in fact gone and in the laundry downstairs that need money, and one was broken and did not wash the clothes. But booking in was good, but we had to pay for the accommodation up friont, our group has satyed at apartments around Aussie first time ever for us. Rooms are very basic but OK at best, bed were good kitchen was fine, you left your towels outside in the morning they were chnaged by the staff sometime during the day, normally this did not happen so you had to go to office and they gave you freash ones, OK I guess. The pool area and BBQ area was the best feature of the place that and the staff, especially the very nice helpfull Irish lass, the own seemed unhappy and even turned off the outside lights while we were in the BBQ area while we were there, very strange. Overall avoid if possible but I understand this it typical of Darwin

Room Tip: all the same, but lots of guest sit outside their rooms smoking and this drifts into your room, so d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
4
11
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Balclutha, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

For what we paid, I would have expected a daily service to at least remove rubbish and replace tea, coffee etc used. As well we did not get any teaspoons in the unit and not even salt and pepper. Bus timetable dated 2009 and little material in the unit on local places such as eating houses, shopping centres etc.
A recently refurbished unit, the standard of work was not great, bathroom was tiny but the place was clean and tidy. Air conditioning units seemed efficient.
Biggest complaint was that there is no internet on site. The solution to go to McDonalds is a third world solution to a first world problem. I did not think we would find an establishment in a modern city where the internet was not provided. The excuse that it is expensive is a cop out - I would be quite happy to pay for any internet used.
I contacted the office by email on our return and did not receive the courtesy of a reply.

Our over riding impression was that the motel was out to make money and to hell with any form of service.

Room Tip: Do not get a studio unit - not even room to put a suitcase except on the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Relatives visited Darwin recent booked them into a three bedroom unit. Kids loved it each had a room to themselves and were able to spread out. Facilities met their requirements, and with the shopping centre just down the way they were pretty self contained. Staff were friendly, the rooms clean. Have no problems on recommending it to other visitors as a great alternative to hotels in the city.

Room Tip: don;t expect a five star property but good for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient and cheap. If you have a choice try and select an apartment at the very top and in a far corner! This is a popular place for fly-in-fly-out people - mostly heavy drinking blokes. While harmless they are largely nocturnal and noisy. The management however are pretty strict so the parties do tend get wound up after 10pm. I stayed here for 3 months in 1995 and being tucked away in a quiet corner I don't recall it being noisy. The rooms have recently been refurbished so they are clean and comfortable. The good thing too is that one can cook and prepare food here. There is also a good BBQ at the pool. Our visit this time had us in an apartment close to the centre of activity. It was noisy and there were people coming and going - talking loudly into the wee hours. We always carry ear plugs! Having said all that this place is good for those on a low budget - especially give the hideous over-priced accommodation in Darwin

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Hi,
We booked this place as we had to do a hurried trip to nDdarwin at short notice and this was the only option in the area we needed to be be.
This place was clean but small and badly in need of some refurbishment - we found this to be very over priced for the size and condition it was more expensive than the 4 star large extremely spacious accomodation that we booked into for the next few nights (which also had a huge balcony) in Darwin central after getting out of there as fast as we could. Whew.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Better than we expected! Would stay there again-no worries! Very friendly staff & clean!
Pool looked good although we were unable to take advantage of it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talbot, australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Found this accommodation on the internet, we experienced issues in our OTHER booked accommodation and canceled our stay there. I did note the trip advisor reviews previously submitted however as the management had indicted changes has occurred and we were getting desperate for somewhere to stay for the next 4 nights we had left in Darwin, we took the plunge. The only dissappointment we experienced was that we had not stayed at Coconut Grove for the whole of our trip. We had a family room which was roomy, lots of beds, good bedding and very friendly and approachable staff. Good security, good location and close to shops and supermarket. Overall this was a good and affordable choice for our stay. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Grove Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Holiday Apartments

Address: 146 Dick Ward Drive, Coconut grove, Darwin, Northern Territory 0810, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coconut Grove Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three kilometres from the airport and a ten minute drive to Darwin city, Coconut Grove Holiday Apartments are set amidst a lush garden of tropical ferns and palms; a perfect setting for you to relax and enjoy the lifestyle of the Top End. Close to the Casuarina Shopping Centre and only minutes from city shopping, restaurants and Darwin's exciting nightlife district, if you are looking for quality and affordable accommodation in Darwin, Coconut Grove Holiday Apartments are for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Grove Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Grove Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.