We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Darwin Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Darwin Central Hotel to your Saves list
Darwin Central Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Knuckey Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0801, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Darwin central is a wonderful hotel with great services. The stuff are very friendly and always smiling. The rooms are exactly what described on the website. I enjoyed my stay and I will recommend this place to my family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, Guest Relations Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Marina M, Thanks for your review. It was so pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay and everything was as you expected. Thanks for sharing and we hope to see you again.

Regards,


Rachael Fabila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    205
    87
    17
    25
See reviews for
44
176
62
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alice springs
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed at Darwin Central many times for business. Great location, great rooms. There was a misunderstanding with the number of people in room, it was just me travelling with 3 other people in own rooms, but they charged me for 3 extra people in my room. Still waiting for the refund for one night. Apparently it's too hard to reverse a transaction, but we're happy to take money . Won't return until I have received my refund. Front reception staff very helpful and have followed through, but management still yet to reply.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, Guest Relations Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Ro C, Thanks for your review. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not go smoothly. I trust this has been resolved and if you wish, you can contact me at the hotel to discuss further. Thanks for sharing and we hope to see you again.

Regards,

Rachael Fabila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay! Service is helpful and friendly. Security is also what I like about the place as well as I am a line traveller. Location is perfect for CBD.
Have stayed there on a few occassions and will certainly be staying there again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, Guest Relations Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Judi M, thanks for your review. It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay once again and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thanks for sharing.

Regards,

Rachael Fabila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Darwin Central is the place we usually stay if we go to Darwin for the weekend.

Price - Being NT residents, we get a discounted rate so we get a good price AND a great hotel. Valet parking is convenient and a reasonable price. The only annoying thing is the $100 credit card hold that often takes a while to clear. I have stayed in hotels that only take a $1 hold which is so much better!

Location is great - close to Mitchell St, Smith St Mall, all the restaurants etc. Staff are friendly and welcoming.

Room - beds are SO comfortable and the room is nice and dark. Always have the best night's sleep there! The shower is great as well - lots of room and good water pressure.

Really can't fault it. For a reasonably cheap hotel, it is one of the best in Darwin. We will keep coming back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, Guest Relations Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear AussieNT, thanks for your review. We are so happy you have taken advantage of our great deals available and have stayed many times. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks for sharing.

Regards,

Rachael Fabila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Excellent location, just right next to Mitchell Street, the liveliest stretch within the city centre. A stone throw away from the Esplanade, a few steps from the Smith St Shopping Centre, Coles and Woolies just around the corner. A comfortable walking distance to the city bus interchange. The free shuttle bus to Parap Saturday morning market stops here. We had a nice 20 minutes stroll to the Waterfront.
The room was spacious, with 2 double beds, well appointed, well equipped and very clean. The fragrant, citronella based bathroom amenities, were our favourite. Citronella is a good insect repellent, useful in the tropical weather.
DIY laundry room with washer and dryer available for use at reasonable rate. Ice-machine was also available on 3rd floor.
The complimentary breakfast was wonderful. There was a continental buffet spread and we could order cooked food from a list provided. Out of the 4 mornings we were there, there was 1 morning when the ready-to-order hot food was not made available as they have prepared an expanded buffet for a big group. If you do not fancy hotel food, there are plenty of international food joints on the ground floor, including Indonesian halal cafe and the halal certified Nandos.
Staff were very friendly, attentive and very helpful. We must single out Pat who was flawless in her service.
Upon check-out, our luggage was locked in a secure room and properly tagged. After a full day of sightseeing, we were allowed to shower and freshen up at the poolside washrooms before we left the hotel for the airport.

If only there is free Wi-fi available, this would have been a faultless stay. (There is a convenience store cum cafe just next door, where they provide free wifi for a cup of coffee, and if you need to shop for some Aussie souvenirs, there's a store next door too)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience. We are so happy you enjoyed your recent stay and especially for mentioning our great team and Pat. We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,


Michelle Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Check in & out was quick & easy. Rooms were clean, staff were friendly. The pool area was closed for renovations but it didn't matter. The hotel location was perfect. The room was big enough for 2 adults & 1 child.The beds were comfortable. A child travelled with us, it was quiet at night & we couldn't hear the next door neighbours in the morning. Breakfast was ok, maybe not worth the price though.
Overall a good place to stay, I would return to stay here on my next trip to Darwin.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thanks for your review. We are so happy to hear you found the hotel met your expectations during your recent stay. We hope to welcome back you back soon. Thanks for sharing.


Regards,


Michelle Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed en route from the Ghan to the airport the next morning.

The check in was great but did not say anything about Wifi for which you had to come back down when they gave you the password to charge to the room. It was slow and basically not worth having although, to be fair, I was told that is being changed shortly and will be free as it should be!

Nowhere was I told that the only Bar/restaurant would be closed on a Monday and was pointed toward Salvatores where one could sign a meal to the room so guess there must be some connection!! It was diabolical......

The room was modern and very clean and bed very comfortable but have to say that I am not sure that another night would have been welcomed!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all feedback so we can evaluate and monitor our performance and focus on areas for improvement. We are reviewing our WiFi service and hope to advise some new information soon. Thanks for sharing.


Regards,


Michelle Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Darwin Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darwin Central Hotel

Address: 21 Knuckey Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0801, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Darwin Central Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary executive boutique Darwin Central Hotel enjoys an unrivaled location in the heart of Darwin city. It is the ideal place for both the leisure and business traveler, within easy walking distance to all major banks, cinemas, theaters, nightclubs, restaurants and shopping. Amidst all the bustle, the Darwin Central Hotel is a city sanctuary that reveals a surprisingly sophisticated space where guest can relax in comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Darwin Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darwin Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.