We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be re-named the ' NoValueotel'” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Darwin Atrium

Save Saved
You added Novotel Darwin Atrium to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Darwin Atrium
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 38 hotels in Darwin
Crows Nest, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Should be re-named the ' NoValueotel'”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

This hotel is listed as 4*s but would be better described as 2*. We paid over AUS$230 pn for a room that is dull, dreary, with paint chips, grimy looking bathroom fixtures, worn out towels with shredded ends, and about a 2x4' window. Although it was in fact two rooms, bedroom and living room, with 2 t.v's, we were disgusted with the shabby look overall. There was also no safe in the room, no bath robes, no shower cap, and very limited cable t.v. We wanted to put our laptop in the safe, which there wasn't one of, so we took it down to the desk where we were told it wouldn't fit into their safety boxes either. We finally got the manager to put it into her office safe, but it was a hassle and an inconvenience. Also, the internet is so terribly slow it is nearly impossible to use most of the time. I'm certain we could have found a much cheaper hotel at 3* which was nicer than this one. Having been widely traveled, we can honestly say that this hotel doesn't deserve it's rating and that rating should be much lower. Everything about the hotel is shabby, from the inside of the elevator to the lobby furniture, to all the many paint chips everywhere. Yuk!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    292
    229
    101
    40
See reviews for
164
320
91
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

While the location is great, the overall amenities are getting very tired, something the new carpet can't hide. Rust stains, patched paint and a lush but unkept pool garden and a pool area left completely unswept or cleaned in our entire weeklong stay covers the communal areas, but it's in the room where it begins to really struggle. No balconies or openable windows, only one lamp worked in our room and we named the toilet after a family cat in honour of the hissing noises it made. The staff though were very helpful and you had to feel for them as they delivered the hit and miss room service. Our advice would be to stick to the absolute basics and save your more adventurous dining for the many eateries nearby. All it it made a convenient base, but really it is only worth three stars.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in the Novotel Darwin and had a wonderful stay. We arrived at the hotel at 7am not expecting for a minute to be able to check in that early but the staff did their best and had a room for us by 10am.We were thankful for that. The hotel is quite old and rooms a bit dated but the view was great and the little window seats were marvellous.The buffet breakfast was good and the atrium style of the hotel with the plants and waterfalls were very nice. Parking was free as were the internets in the lobby. Accor could probaly give this hotel a makeover in the near future as at the moment it is probably only 3 and 1/2 star and is quite expensive but I think Darwin is in the dry season. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

We booked 5 nights at the Novotel Darwin Atrium as part of a special promotion run by Accor Hotels. After reading some of the reviews in TripAdvisor we were concerned that perhaps we had done the wrong thing regardless of the cheaper cost! We arrived on the red eye flight from Brisbane we were very promptly checked into the hotel. The room on the 4th floor was very well appointed. It was quiet and peaceful refuge to catch a few hours sleep. The next morning we checked out as planned to do our road trip to Katherine and Kakadu over the next 3 days returning to spend the last 4 nights of our stay back at the Novotel Darwin Atrium. When we returned we were checked into a room on the same floor as before, not quite as nice but spacious and clean with all the necessary standard hotel equip. There was a little mould (a hard thing to control in that sort of humidity) but you are asked to keep the airconditioner and fans on at all times to help this problem. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and on finding that we were not due to fly until very late at night gave us a late check out so that we could freshen up again before checking out. We still had to store our luggage etc before heading the airport but had a drink in the lounge area then headed out to dinner and took in a movie at the Open Air Theatre (short walk from the hotel on the esplande) to fill in the time until our departure. We didn't eat in the hotel although the menu looked very nice we tried Mitchell Street (short walk)which has lots of cafes, restaurants and you would be hard to please if you couldn't find a place to eat there. We did a lot of walking in Darwin despite the heat and found it a wonderful way to see the main city area - the Esplande, Parliament House (good tour) and some of the lovely old sandstone buildings down near the Harbour. We had hired a car to travel to Katherine, Kakadu and made a day trip down to Litchfield NP but was useful to visit attractions in Darwin also - the Botanical Gardens were very good and Mindel Beach Markets make sure you get there in time for the sunset. We enjoyed our trip to Darwin and surrounds very much it is a very interesting part of Australia. We would recommend this hotel as a place to stay in Darwin.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

On the plus side the room is quite spacious and the bed comfy. However the toilet flush ran for the whole of our visit despite me reporting it. They seriously need to spend more on maintenance. I noticed the pool tiles missing and the broken pool light as pointed out by other travellers. Also the gate to the pool area is rusted almost completely through and the sun loungers are dirty and covered in cobwebs. A big problem though was they were replacing the compost in all the baskets from which the greenery hangs in the central atrium. They must have been using blood and bone because it absolutely stank for the whole of our stay there. Chose not to eat there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Didnt get a great start with a 50 minute delay on the 2:00pm check-in. Having stayed in numerous Novotel facilities around Australia and Accor accomodation overseas the Novotel Darwin would rate as one of the tiredest. Certainly not a 4.5 star rating. The staff did try their best with customer service except the tyrant at the restaurant during breakfast times. We had a two bedroom apartment. They are tired, not unclean, but just getting way past it. The daily cleaning staff were wonderful and do their best with an old facility. The pool area is great but numerous tiles falling off, gapping holes in the grouting and a pool light hanging by it wiring is unacceptable and unsafe. The hotel just lacks the usual finish that one expects from a Novotel facility. For example the television in the lounge area of our room had free to air channels and the tv in the main bedroom had Foxtel and free to air. No logic to this except the cost of putting in additional connections but from a customer point of view very frustrating with two teenage kids who also would have enjoyed watching fox tv during the evening. The kitchen in the two bedroom appartment scrimps on the basics and you were only supplied with the barest of essentials. Apart from a set of cutlery for each person (ie X 4) no additional large sharp knives were supplied. Ever try to cut a pinapple with a bread and butter knife? Dont expect to prepare any meals using this facility except for the very basics. The hotel is in a great location on the Esplanade and is close to the CBD. Accor as an accomodation group need to look closely at this hotel as it is seriously impacting on their name as providers of value for money accomodation.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

When arriving at the Novotel you are greeted by friendly faces and very polite people. The room we had was beautiful over looking the crystal blue/green water of the sea with all the posh amenities from home. The hotel is walking distance from the shops, bars and restaurants and even though the weather is hot you can still stroll down to the local shops or just have a quite drink. Overall this hotel is a must if you plan to visit the top end you will not be disapointed. Fantastic job guys and i hope the sucess of the hotel continues :-)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Darwin Atrium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Darwin Atrium

Address: 100 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Darwin Atrium 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Darwin Atrium is conveniently located in the city centre, overlooking Darwin Harbour. This 4 star hotel is a short stroll from the dining and entertainment precinct of Mitchell Street and is equally suited to business trips and holidays. Boasting 140 spacious rooms and conference facilities, the Novotel Atrium features a magnificent tropical indoor rainforest, complete with cascading vines and palm trees. Try our famous cocktails in the bar, or enjoy a delicious meal in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Novotel Darwin Atrium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Darwin Atrium Hotel Darwin
Accor Darwin Atrium
Darwin Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Darwin Atrium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.