We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible value for money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Darwin Atrium

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Darwin Atrium to your Saves list
Novotel Darwin Atrium
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Terrible value for money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We just stayed at Novotel Darwin. Rundown place with nothing going for it except friendly staff. This place needs a complete overhaul. On arrival there is no one to help with bags just a trolley at front door. I watched a group of elderly people struggle with there bags.
We booked a single queen room but they upgraded us to a junior suite. BIG disappointment. Original price for suite $340 but they reduced to $245. Bathroom falling apart - peeling paint etc with a shower curtain. I thought you only got show curtains in hotels these days in 1 star hotels. I believe this Hotel classifies itself as 4 star . It is not.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    328
    250
    107
    41
See reviews for
177
346
97
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not the 4 1/2 star that it claims to be. Upon entering it, you notice the dampness of the lobby. Then as you walk to the elevators, you see the stained carpet, the beat-up corners, the walls in dire need of a new coat of paint, and just a general cleaning --- normal maintenance issues. Our two-bedroom apartment was more of the same: stained carpeting, walls with holes, paint scraped off doors, dirty curtains, torn furniture, and old appliances, just to name a few. After complaining to management, we discovered that the hotel was going under a refurbishment process, and the room we were given was not one of those that had been refurbished. Why they gave that out then, is another question. The next day the hotel moved us to a mostly refurbished room. It was much better, but still had issues of air conditioners not working properly, a chipped tub, old appliances, and scuffed-up walls. Needless to say this was not a good start to our holiday. The one bright side to all of this was the staff. They went out of their way to make a bad situation better, both during our stay and with follow-up calls after we checked out. If you are expecting a two- or three-star hotel, then this is fine, but not as an advertised 4 1/2 star. Expectations are everything, and it is always best to meet or exceed them not to fail to live up to them.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Good price for a late booking attending a Wedding. Rooms were spacious, neat, clean and comfy. The Full Breakfast is a little bit steeply priced and don't wait for the lift if your in a hurry. Those two very minor points aside for a Hotel in Darwin I would endorse. Two Apple iMac's in foyer were handy.

Customer Service at the front desk was in exemplary, polite, professional and one girl in particular (N*****) was rather cute. ;)

Room Tip: City side be prepared for a little bit of street noise from the crowd at Shenanigans, nothing to rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was a last minute booking and we were very happy with this hotel.
Staff were great and very accomodating.
The foyer is beautiful, like walking into a serene rain forest with a bar attached.
Rooms are spacious and clean. Bathroom is clean and big with nice amenities a bath and hairdryer.
Beds are super comfortable, with beautiful linen and luxurious towels, huge !
Tea/ coffee also.
We only had a carpark view, which was very close but seeing we were only there for 1 night we were not bothered. If we stayed longer I would have wanted a room with a view.
Location is awesome, across the road from the run/walk track and all the local sight seeing things. Hop on hop off bus in Mitchell st is just behind you along with all the bars/ restaurants. We did not eat at the buffet breakfast as it was so expensive, but breakfast in the main street was beautiful and alot cheaper.
I would come back here and would recommend it also.

Room Tip: A corner suite with a view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I recall this property when it opened and have stayed on numerous occasions since. Location is good as it’s handy to the restaurant strip and the CBD is a 10 minute walk, which might worry some late at night.

On recollection of previous visits, the Atrium seems to cater primarily for tourists rather than the business trade, although large gas related projects appear to be soaking up a lot of Hotel capacity in Darwin at this point in time!

Staff are efficient and courteous but with a distinctly Darwin attitude which no doubt sits well with the tourists and locals alike. Check-in was hassle free despite a late arrival. with the dining room still serving post 9:00pm which was a blessing. This was an inside-outside affair, with a the usual fare on offer – my Barramundi with salad did the job without ringing any bells – the dessert (a little cheesecake number) was superb, so all was forgiven!

Rooms are OK – clean and functional - if you can get a suite on the ocean side so much the better. Mattress and pillows were excellent and ensured a good sleep before attacking the ubiquitous dreaded buffet breakfast in the morning..no sign of a la carte but they may do on request?

A good safe option typical of the Novotel brand – Book early as Darwin fills up during the dry!

Room Tip: Try for an ocean side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Darwin Atrium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Darwin Atrium

Address: 100 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Darwin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Darwin Atrium 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Darwin Atrium is conveniently located in the city centre, overlooking Darwin Harbour. This 4 star hotel is a short stroll from the dining and entertainment precinct of Mitchell Street and is equally suited to business trips and holidays. Boasting 140 spacious rooms and conference facilities, the Novotel Atrium features a magnificent tropical indoor rainforest, complete with cascading vines and palm trees. Try our famous cocktails in the bar, or enjoy a delicious meal in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Darwin Atrium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Darwin Atrium Hotel Darwin
Accor Darwin Atrium
Darwin Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Darwin Atrium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.