We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on the Esplanade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra on the Esplanade to your Saves list
Mantra on the Esplanade
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   88 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Saville Park Suites Darwin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
NT Rates for All
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Apart from being a nice comfortable place,the Mantra on the Esplanade is conveniently located within easy walking distance to everything located in the Darwin city precinct. Not too far to walk to the waterfront, wave pool or to fish feeding either. Pleasant parks with footpaths to walk in. Some noise from the eateries and bars in Mitchell street, but not too bad. The staff were friendly. We had an apartment type of room, complete with washing machine, dryer and kitchen. Handy after being on tour for 10 days. Would suggest taking the bus to and from Mindil Markets, as is a fair walk from the Mantra. Can recommend this as a good and convenient place to stay when in Darwin.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks for posting a great review Skryppy7 it's appreciated and I think you've captured our location and available amenities perfectly.

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    201
    102
    36
    17
See reviews for
78
197
26
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
qld
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

pros as mentioned are the location and cleanliness
however..here goes..
We paid the extra for a 'panoramic' ocean view apartment but being on the 3rd floor it was a partial ocean view at best, (and close enough to the ground to be scary on territory night) The bathroom door lock did not work, the lounge looked stained and old, the hallways are smelly
The spa was cold , the pool looked like it needed filling up. Wifi was expensive , slow and patchy. (it was better at the pub, and in Katherine national park).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hello ruralurbanQ

I was disappointed to read you didn't enjoy your time with us and I've passed your comments on to Housekeeping and Maintenance so thank you for identifying those particular issues. I've also logged your internet experience with the provider particularly the bit about better reception in the "national park" Not good form.

Again I appreciate you writing and hope that we can be of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This is our second year in a row staying in a 3 bedroom apartment. The view from the balcony is incredible and a 1 min walk to pubs and restaurants. Rooms are well appointed with 2 bathrooms and a decent kitchenette. There are only 2 downsides. 1. The beds are incredibly hard. 2. A three bedroom apartment could have an additional Tv. Would help when the footy is on.
Breakfast is not included but if you don't want to cook there are plenty of options on the street.
I highly recommend fish feeding at the Harbour and the wave pool (2 min drive) is fun.
Parking incurs extra fees which is ridiculous. Note if traveling on Territory Day don't park on the street, we saw a lot of people setting off fireworks straight at parked cars and even under front wheels. View of fireworks from our balcony was great all the way to Mindy Beach

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi SydneyFamilyofFour

Thanks for the detailed review and great to read you enjoyed your time with us. Thanks also for the feedback relating to TVs and mattresses - always useful in supporting future upgrade requests! It was my first time to experiencing Territory Day - it's pretty lively on the streets as you noted.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We booked for 4 days and stayed for 4 weeks, for Location, Serenity and Service look no further. Located on the Esplanade you have breathtaking views of the parklands and harbour waterfront. Sit on your balcony and watch the world famous Darwin bright red sunsets. Located in the heart of the CBD a short walk to the Smith street mall, Mitchell street restaurants and bars. The world famous Darwin waterfront with wave pool and swimming lagoon is only a 10 minute walk away. A handy supermarket is across the road in the Mitchell centre. Serenity, its so peaceful both early mornings and in the evenings you will drift off or wake up with the birds. Service was impeccable everyone is so pleased to help with anything you require. The Mantra Restaurant and Bar "Finz" is truly exceptional the buffet breakfast along with lunch and dinner. Any of their seafood dishes will delight, the Veggie Stack is light and fresh with a rich tasty sauce, the Finz burger could easily put a certain burger chain out of business. We would not hesitate to return on our next stay for another truly refreshing and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks Norman G it was our pleasure to have you stay with us for such an extended period. Good luck with your travels. The team and I certainly look forward to having you stay with us again when next in Darwin!

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We recently stayed here for a second visit after a trip to Bali. The first visit I was a little disappointed that we didn't remember that we had breakfast included with our booking with booking.com (now I am much more careful about booking through this site) and we weren't told when we booked in. Anyway, I posted a review of our experience which elicited a response from the manager.

As we were planning to travel via Darwin on our return trip, I thought it might be worth asking if they could do anything for us, to make up for our loss the first time around. The manager very kindly offered us a good discount on a room, which we accepted.

When we arrived we very pleasantly surprised that we were upgraded to a 1 BR Apartment on the top floor, which was very comfortable indeed.

The views from this hotel of the harbour are breathtaking, especially from the higher floors.

Also, the hotel is very conveniently located in the centre of the tourist district of Mitchell St, which was a new experience for tis Darwin girl as it was the first time I visited Darwin and didn't stay with friends or family.

The bar makes a good coffee and the buffet breakfast has plenty of options.

Given the effort that staff and management put in to ensuring we had a comfortable stay, I would certainly consider staying here again, you can't put a price on good customer service.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi geokult

Thanks for the opportunity to have you stay with us again and delighted to read you enjoyed your stay in one of our harbour view apartments - they do offer great views across the water and some pretty spectacular sunsets!

All the best for your future travels and pop back and see again sometime.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Amazing totally unobstructed panoramic harbour view and first class housekeeping.

Apartment 618 was immaculate and appears to have been recently refurbished. Beds were comfortable and there was a choice of 2 pillow profiles. Bathrooms were classic and much more spacious than newer ones. Housekeeping was very efficient and thorough yet unobtrusive. We even came back to our apartment one afternoon to find the dishwasher emptied!

Our favourite part of the apartment was the generous 6 seat dining table positioned to capture the stunning harbour views day or evening. Unlike may other ocean front locations, Darwin Harbour is spectacular any time of the day or night.

The location is the best in Darwin IMO with the harbour walks, shopping and many Darwin attractions very close.

Our only criticism is that there could be an extra tv in one of the 3 bedrooms. It didn't make any difference to us but last time we stayed in a one bedroom apartment with 2 tvs so it seemed odd to just have 1 in a three bedroom apartment that is otherwise so well appointed.

Thank you Mike and Lisa for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: It's definitely worth paying extra for a high floor premium harbour front apartment because that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi Pamela v Thanks for writing such a fabulous review and delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us. The staff and I look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The Mantra Esplanade is a nice hotel in a convenient location. Some aspects of the hotel are a little tired but overall quite acceptable. The Mantra is located on the Esplande and offers ocean view rooms with excellent harbor views.

The Mantra is located in a convenient location a street away for the main street - Mitchell St. The Mantra is within easy walking distance to both Coles and Woolworths supermarkets and many restaurants, bars and take away food shops are at your doorstep. The local cinema is also just around the corner in Mitchell St.

Be warned though....city view rooms can bear the brunt of the noise of the busy and vibrant Mitchell St and also the live music and party atmosphere from the Backpackers accommodation and Shenanigan Pub directly behind the Mantra. So unless you like to party or are a heavy sleeper I would recommend requesting a sea view room at the front of the hotel.

The staff at the Mantra are friendly, professional and are happy to accommodate requests where possible i.e storing of luggage and late checkout.

The food and room service provided by Finz restaurant is reasonable but nothing to write home about....but okay if you a need a night in.

There is a large area of parkland directly opposite the Mantra which is great for walking along the harbor-side or your daily run. The pool is not huge but adequate. The Darwin waterfront precinct with more restaurants, bars, parkland and the wave pool is with walking distance (if you are enthusiastic) or a short cab ride.

Buses can be caught at the side of Woolworths to travel to Casuarina shopping centre if you need a large shopping center fix. I believe a Casuarina shopping center courtesy bus will also pick up at the front of the Mantra but best to check times / availability with reception.

If you need a comfortable hotel room or apartment in the heart of the city then the Mantra is worth a look. The larger Mantra Pandanas is also located in the city and is a nice hotel if Mantra Esplanade is booked out.

Room Tip: Request ocean view room between level 3-8 at front of hotel for best views and to avoid noise at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Hi SunSeeker S

Thanks for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review and including some great tips!.

The team and I look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on the Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Esplanade

Address: 88 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Saville Park Suites Darwin)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Darwin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located within the heart of Darwin's Central Business District, the award-winning Mantra on the Esplanade, overlooks Darwin Harbour to the Arafura Sea and the city skyline. This beautiful four and a 1/2 star hotel has been recently refurbished and offers 140 one, two and three bedroom apartments as well as 64 hotel rooms. It also has a restaurant, bar, outdoor swimming pool and spa. Apartments have large private balconies, perfect for experiencing a famous Northern Territory sunset. The hotel is adjacent to the Mitchell Street restaurant hub and within walking distance to the CBD, city shopping, Government House, Cullen Bay Marina, the Wharf precinct (and new Convention Centre) and the Entertainment Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra on the Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Esplanade Hotel Darwin
Mantra On The Esplanade Darwin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on the Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.