We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on the Esplanade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra on the Esplanade to your Saves list
Mantra on the Esplanade
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   88 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Saville Park Suites Darwin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
NT Rates for All
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We arrived in Darwin (our first visit there) without a hotel pre-booked so we could get a feel for the city and choose a place in a good location with great views and not too noisy. It was nearly our undoing as some hotels were fully booked or had really high tariffs for the rooms they had left.

When we walked into the Mantra to enquire we thought it would be ultra pricey but were very impressed with the front office manager, Saqib Memon who spent a lot of time organising a one bedroomed apartment for us with an adjoining room for our adult son who was travelling with us, and with a great value for money rate. It more than ticked all the boxes, great view over the esplanade to the sea, clean, well equipped, quiet, a roomy balcony and fantastic location. There was also a really good swimming pool.

During our five night stay the staff were always very polite and helpful.

Thanks Saqib, for a memorable stay.

The thing to be aware of though there is limited uncovered free parking, heaps of covered parking but comes at a price of (from memory) $15.00 / night.

Room Tip: If possible choose a room overlooking the esplanade towards the ocean on a higher floor. Rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thanks Ian R appreciate your fantastic review - Saqib runs our Front Office team and is the driving force behind their guest service focus. I've shared your comments with the entire team which helps reinforce the service we wish to deliver for all our guests.

The team and I look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    201
    102
    36
    17
See reviews for
78
197
26
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We got to the Mantra very late at night, to be given the most awful room, it smelt stale, it was noisy, it was dark with the window being totally blocked by a tree and the toilet was broken. On complaining next morning, we were moved to a room with a harbour view. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was OK but the bath had a chip in it. Breakfast is very good with a great selection. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful, and the location is great for either walking along the esplanade or Mitchell Street shops out the back. Got the impression that this is one of the best hotels in Darwin. We were lucky to witness the sun setting which you can only do from the Harbour view rooms.

Room Tip: Harbour view room is possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hello Ceejay t

Looks like we got you off to a bit of a rumpy start but pleased to see the team managed to address your initial issues however you shouldn't have had to endure them in the first place so apologies for that.

Thanks for the great feedback regarding the rest of your stay experience and we wish you well with your future travels.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Easy check-in at 1am, straight up to 8th floor which is top floor, I'd requested high floor so all good so far. Getting out of the lift, the whole corridor smelt very strongly of stale smoke, even worse in the room, not pleasant. The room itself was nice and comfortable although the king bed is a twin zip. In the morning, it was raining - to be expected in Darwin, didn't expect to have to move my luggage away from the window though as the relatively light rain was coming in and trickling down the wall and soaking into the carpet. Went downstairs for the buffet breakfast which was very disappointing and possibly one of the worst I've ever had.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hi Alex4819

During recent bouts of heavy rain we've identified a couple of persistent leaks coming from our roof area (above level eight) which has effected several rooms - we think we've now got it sorted but if you've ever had one in your home you'll know they can be tricky to track down and can reappear at the oddest times and places!

Also just to reassure all our guests our hotel has a strict no-smoking policy which is enforced with $200 fines - apologies you had to experience the after effects on your recent stay.

With regards to breakfast we generally get great reviews for our buffet selection but clearly we didn't deliver to your expectations so sorry for that.

Thanks again for writing it is appreciated.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed at Mantra in transit whilst moving with defence.
The room was nicely furnished and great for sleeping with heavy curtains in the room.
Great location with just a walk through the arcade to get to the restaurants on Mitchell Street.
Disappointed with the parking facilities, advised of the daily fee of $15 for parking, and then to find that our 4wd wouldn't fit in the undercover parking.
There are a few parks out the front of the hotel- but you have to be lucky to get the park, unless of course, you are the man in corolla that parked and then walked down to Shenanigans.

Room Tip: Would suggest to ask for harbour view on booking if you would like a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hello shellijo

Thanks for posting and great to hear you found our hotel to your liking. With regards to parking our secure facility is rated at a standard height of 2.1m and accommodates most 4wd vehicles. Unfortunately if your vehicle is oversized or has roof racks fitted then as you mentioned you won’t fit. Thanks for the Shenanigans tip we'll have a look at that - we might be able to free up a few more parks at the front of the hotel!

Thanks again for writing it's appreciated.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights before our ill-fated trip on the Ghan. We found the hotel and the decor to be very pleasant, not dated at all as some have described it. I can vouch for the lounge chairs in the lobby being especially comfy seeing as we had to spend hours sitting in them!

Check-in did not go as smoothly as it could have. The staff had not read the special request attached to our booking and when we got to our room we found that we had a queen/king instead of 2 twins (I was travelling with my mother). This was promptly fixed with a visit to reception. We also had asked for the highest room available for our Hotel room with harbour view. Originally we were told that the 4th room was the highest they had available for that style of room, at that time. But moments later when I went back to inform that we needed the twin beds made up, and I asked again (different girl) there was suddenly a room on the next level available. I know special requests are not guaranteed, but if they can be easily accommodated then why not take the trouble to first read them and then do so? It makes a guest feel cared for, rather than a number. We were both very impressed with the room. It was of a generous size, very clean and the furnishing were tasteful and well-equipped. I particularly appreciated the universal charger. My favourite touch though was the toiletries in the bathroom esp the lemon myrtle soap.. divine!

We ate main meals at the restaurant 3 times and the meals were lovely.. particularly the T-bone steak! We ate at the breakfast buffet twice. I would consider the buffet to be standard. Not fantastic, but not bad either. There was a good selection and the offerings in the hot buffet were changed daily. The staff here were very attentive.

Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay. We found all staff; from housekeeping, cafe, restaurant and reception to be very polite and attentive. When our trip on the Ghan was suddenly post-poned due to part of the track being washed away, the Mantra staff were most accommodating and sympathetic to the predicament of the large group of people suddenly stranded in their foyer. Even though most had checked out, they treated us with kindness and accommodated every need. They let us stay in the lobby for as long as we needed (all day!), securely stored our luggage, let us use their complimentary internet to make alternate arrangements, help us charge our phones and were generally just very helpful. They didn't make us feel unwelcome at all. We will always be grateful for their generosity and I would definitely recommend them.

Room Tip: Don't stay any lower than the 5th floor if you want an uninterrupted sea view. The unscreened wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi Retro-girl73

Thanks for writing such a comprehensive review and delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. With regards to room allocations (different girl) only our Duty Managers can alter allocations. This is because it's comparable to completing a huge jigsaw puzzle every day with all the various types, individual requests and differing lengths of stay that need to be factored before alternatives can be offered. Glad we got you sorted however.

If you get the opportunity to attempt the Ghan again in more favourable weather we'd be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANBERRA ACT
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have stayed many times at this property on business and find it to be convenient and well located. Whilst the decor is becoming dated the rooms are large and comfortable with reasonable amenities. Although there is a restaurant on the fground floor, the Mantra's proximity to the many food and entertainment venues in Mitchell street in the city centre makes it an ideal base for exploriing the various offerings. Rooms on upper levels with part or full sea view are the best options, the latter providing good clear views of the Esplanade parklands and the harbour approaches.

Room Tip: Request a room on an upper floor with ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello NOVO1

Thanks for taking the time to write it's always appreciated. Just for the record the hotel was actually renovated just over a year ago (excluding aspects of the bathrooms) - the decor choices were via a "design consultant" so it has generated interesting feedback around style choices!

I've only recently started- come and say hi next time you’re in - always great to meet our regular guests.

Thanks and Regards

Mike Blank
GM Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We arrived in the late afternoon and were pleasantly surprised that our 2 bedroom flat had seaview - and two hours later one of those perfect tropical sunsets, ... .
The flat had a very spacious living room, two bathrooms, washing machine, dryer and kitchen. Everything was very new. Considering some of the older reviews here there seems to have been a very recent refurbishment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks 12Travellingismylife - Having only recently moved here myself I've got to say the sunsets are some of the best I've ever seen! Thanks for posting and good luck with the rest of your travels.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
GM Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on the Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Esplanade

Address: 88 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Saville Park Suites Darwin)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Darwin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located within the heart of Darwin's Central Business District, the award-winning Mantra on the Esplanade, overlooks Darwin Harbour to the Arafura Sea and the city skyline. This beautiful four and a 1/2 star hotel has been recently refurbished and offers 140 one, two and three bedroom apartments as well as 64 hotel rooms. It also has a restaurant, bar, outdoor swimming pool and spa. Apartments have large private balconies, perfect for experiencing a famous Northern Territory sunset. The hotel is adjacent to the Mitchell Street restaurant hub and within walking distance to the CBD, city shopping, Government House, Cullen Bay Marina, the Wharf precinct (and new Convention Centre) and the Entertainment Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra on the Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Esplanade Hotel Darwin
Mantra On The Esplanade Darwin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on the Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.