We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time I have been upgraded!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on the Esplanade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra on the Esplanade to your Saves list
Mantra on the Esplanade
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   88 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Saville Park Suites Darwin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“First time I have been upgraded!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was a last minute booking due to our flight being cancelled, we arrived and got a great room however I was travelling with my son and we needed a twin bed not a king, so I rang reception and they aid they would split the bed, which I was happy with, then she called back and asked if I would prefer a suite at no extra charge...? Ah yes PLEASE!

The suite was AMAZING, with a wonderful balcony view of the ocean, massive with 3 bedrooms (Comfy beds), 2 bathrooms (one with laundry facilities) and kitchen/dining area. Wished I had stayed here for my whole trip, it was a spectacular finish to a really great holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Kezzwezz,
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Darwin. It can be distressing to have your flight cancelled and disrupt your plans. The fact we were able to offer you an upgrade to one of our suites was great and obviously turned around what could have been a bad ending to your trip into a nice relaxing stay.
If you are intending on returning to Darwin in the future please do not hesitate to contact us and we will ensure we look after you as we have previously.
Kind Regards,
David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    222
    113
    37
    17
See reviews for
88
215
32
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macedon, Australia
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in January 2013, for 5 nights. On arrival the staff were friendly and quick to check us in - but I thought it a bit unusual that after that there was nothing. We weren't even told where the lifts were, onsite restaurant details, pool hours, business centre or Internet options or any other information. This wasn't a problem and we easily worked it all out but I just found the lack of communication a bit strange. We were happy with our room location, we had booked a Harbour view 1 bedroom apartment - number 617.
I found the bathroom wasn't very clean and the apartment had clearly been cleaned in a hurry. The linen/bedding was all clean and comfortable.
On rising after our first night, there was a huge amount of water on the floor of the kitchen which had clearly leaked through the ceiling above. You could see where it had been patched previously. I understand that it was the Wet Season, and we did have a lot of rain the night before but perhaps things should be fixed properly...... We reported this all to reception and they were wonderful. We were promptly moved to room 613 - this room was slightly larger and we got a double sized balcony that opened from the living area and the bedroom. The view here was much better and I would recommend getting a room centrally located in the building for this reason alone. Generally speaking I would recommend a stay here, things are just a bit run down and it can get quite noisy with backpackers in the area. Another thing - watch out for the mini bar, I opened a Crown Lager stubby and some clever person had refilled it with water - wasn't a problem, we weren't charged for it but perhaps stick to cans???
All in all we had a nice stay here and you can walk to pretty much everywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a centrally located room for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Macedoncat,
Thank you for staying with us at Mantra on the Esplanade in January, and for taking the time to give us your feedback.
I apologize you did not get the standard information from the front office team when checking in. This is not our usual standard and have spoken to all the front office team and explained the importance of this information to the Guests. The water leak turned out to be the air-conditioner leaking due to the high humidity and has been rectified. In regards to the mini bar I am still shocked to see some people would go to such lengths to have a free beer and is a very difficult one to stop when the bottle is refilled and the top screwed back on tightly.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a 1 bedroom city view apartment. The apartment was clean, spacious and well appointed. The bed and furniture is confortable. Everything worked and the hotel is very well maintained. The pool was great. We were fortunate enough to get the "mates rates" deal and this accommodation represented excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear SydneyConcordian,
Thank you for staying with us recently at Mantra on the Esplanade.
It is reassuring to read the Hotel meet your standards and felt the stay was good value for money.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights, and experienced the most terrible customer service I have ever received from hotel reception staff.
We had booked via their online booking system 5 months before our stay, and had requested a 1 bedroom apartment with buffet breakfast.
Since we had booked so far in advance, we completely forgot that we had added the breakfast option when we arrived. When we checked in, there was no mention of breakfast at all, including where or what time it was served. We ended up just buying or going out for breakfast for the first 4-5 days.
It wasn't until we went to cook dinner in the apartment that we realised that we didn't have a full-sized fridge or oven in our kitchen. The room also didn't have a proper closed-off bedroom, although we had assumed it was the right room as it was bigger than your standard studio. This prompted us to look up our online booking, and it was only then that we realised that our room was not a true '1 bedroom' as per the description, and that we had been missing out on our breakfast!
We went down to reception, and were told that our room was in the same 'category' as a 1-bedroom, but they would see if we could get moved. That afternoon, we were given a room that had a proper bedroom with a door (& second TV), and the full-size fridge as per the description of the room on their website.
When we asked about the breakfast, we were told that since we booked online, we 'should have known what we had booked' and it wasn't their fault. We said that there had been no mention of breakfast location/time on check-in, and their response was 'well do you know now?'. To that we said 'well no, because no-one has bothered to tell us!'. They were extremely rude about the situation and provided us with no compensation even though we had missed out on 5 days of breakfast that we had paid for. They wouldn't even provide us with complimentary parking for our hire car.
The sound proofing in the room was terrible, and we could hear a lot of noise from the 'locals' and the pub from the 4th floor (we were on the city side).
Otherwise, the actual rooms aren't too bad and are nice and modern.
On one of the days, a new towel provided in the bathroom had brown stains on it when I went to use it (see photo), and the housekeeping staff kept making our bed with the end not tucked in.
The TV reception was terrible, and the cable channels are very limited (3-4 options).
The pool area is nice, however the water temperature is very warm, so not exactly refreshing in Darwin's hot climate.
Can't really comment on the food at the restaurant, as we never ate there (was a bit pricey).
Parking is limited, and to use the undercover park is $12 a day. Don't expect this to get thrown in as a 'freebie', as we couldn't even get complimentary parking when we complained about our room/breakfast. All street parking around the hotel is metered from Mon-Fri 8am-5pm for $1.50 per hour.
There is also no free wi-fi, so you have to pay for that too. We didn't bother, so not sure how expensive that is.
We wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone purely based on the customer service provided, and I'm sure that there are other hotels available of equal standard where the staff actually care about your stay and your satisfaction.

Room Tip: Due to the poor sound-proofing and noise on the city side, worth paying for a 'harbour view'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Michelle,
Thank you for staying with us at Mantra on the Esplanade.
In regards to your comments I have been made aware my Front Office Manager has contacted you and dealt with the issues at hand. I hope the personal contact reinforces our commitment to improving our customer service and without your feedback this could not be possible.
Thank you once again and would be more than happy to welcome you back if you are to visit Darwin in the future.
Kind Regards,
David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

As you will see by my other reviews I have had to stay in a number of hotel in Darwin for work, and this is just another. It is pretty good really, but can be noisy. I've stayed in about 5 different rooms now and the latest one is right opposite the lifts. They haven't had the foresight to turn the lift arrival bells off during the wee hours, so that keeps you restless. They also have cyclone protection bars either side of the balconies which can become someone’s largest ever xylophone when bored as I found out!! The rooms are clean and neat, both the normal ones and the apartment with kitchenette ones. Staff are friendly and in terms of position (relative to the CBD) you're right in amongst it. I worried that this was going to add to the noise, but if you're on the front side of the building you hear little. I have had to walk around the front to get in one night as the indigenous locals were wanting it to be their hotel too, so the staff locked all the doors! The pool is nice but not lit so don't think you can swim in the late evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear SHowe,
Thank you for staying with us at Mantra on the Esplanade recently.
I am happy to read you found the Hotel clean & tidy and the Staff friendly.
I have taken note of your comments in regards to the lift arrival bells and am currently ascertaining if this can be turned off during the evenings.
Thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back when next in Darwin.
Kind Regards,
David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel while conducting business in Darwin. Excellent location with great staff. Room was comfortable and had a view over the city but had no noise issues and was easy access to local restaurants and bars. I would defiantely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Wayne D,
Thank you for staying with us during a recent Business trip to Darwin. It pleases me to see the Staff were great and the room was to your liking and comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra on the Esplanade in the future whether it is for Business or Pleasure.
Kind Regards,

David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed here while on business in Darwin. Great location on The Esplanade and close to Mitchell Street. Reception and restaurant/bar staff were excellent and couldn;t be more friendly or helpful. Room overlooked the town and was comfortable and clean and no noise from the bars on Mitchell Street. The only let downs would have to be the mini bar was not refilled each day and the price of beer was a little on the expensive side even for Darwin.

Room Tip: Recommend the Ocean View Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Boozehounds,
Thank you for staying at Mantra on the Esplanade during a recent business trip to Darwin.
i am glad to see the location suited you and the Staff were friendly and helpful. I have spoken to the Food & Beverage Operations Manager in regards to the Mini bar and we apologize it was not replenished everyday as it should have been.
We look forward to welcoming you back if you have the need to visit Darwin in the future.
Kind Regards,
David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on the Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Esplanade

Address: 88 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Saville Park Suites Darwin)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#7 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Esplanade offers guests an unrivalled location near Darwin Harbour and the convenience of close proximity to Darwin's CBD. The property boasts panoramic views across the harbour, out to the Arafura Sea and presents the ideal vantage point from which to experience a famous Northern Territory sunset. Accommodation options include 64 hotel rooms, plus 140 one, two and three bedroom apartments, all designed to reflect the local tropical style and comfortably casual laid-back ambience. Apartments also feature a large private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen and laundry and the convenience of an in-room office in selected apartments, providing modem and facsimile plus ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message services. Mantra on the Esplanade offers 24 hour reception, 24 hour room service, concierge, outdoor pool and spa, beauty salon, same day laundry service (excluding Sunday), business and secretarial services, tour desk and foreign exchange desk. Business guests can choose from two conference rooms, Bathurst and Melville rooms, accommodating up to 50 delegates. Conveniently located onsite is the Finz Restaurant and Bar boasting a range of contemporary a la carte cuisine choices. Guests can enjoy a cold beverage from the bar, or dine in style at the perfect location for a casual meal, romantic dinner or family feast. Mantra on the Esplanade is an ideal accommodation choice for travellers and perfect for people relocating to the Northern Territory or those on a long stay work assignment. Leisure travellers will enjoy the hotel as a base to explore the Territory's lively capital city and a host of stunning natural tourist attractions, all located within close proximity to Mantra on the Esplanade. Short and long-term rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mantra on the Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Esplanade Hotel Darwin
Mantra On The Esplanade Darwin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on the Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.