We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Mirambeena Resort Darwin

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Mirambeena Resort Darwin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Mirambeena Resort Darwin
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   64 Cavenagh St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0801, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Mirambeena)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 38 hotels in Darwin
perth, western australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“This hotel is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

I booked this hotel even after reading some of the other worrying reviews and after staying there I swear I must of stayed at another hotel to them. We had a standard poolside room which with 2 double beds which is great. It was clean, tidy, modern and up to the standards of all the other Travelodges we have stayed at. The two pools with spa were great for swimming in af any time of the day and the pool bar was a real find. The real jewel is the staff of the hotel. Their service and friendliness was outstanding and I even filled in the hotel comment sheet (something I have never done) just to let the hotel know what an asset they are. I have stayed in 5* hotels in London and the service from the staff was comparable. The location is much closer to the main city area of Darwin than the other hotels I noticed walking around the city. The pool bar is great at night as they are some tame possums that hang around that you can feed and one has a baby that lets you give it a cuddle. Our deal included breakfast and a late check out and we found the full English very satisfying. Our stay at this hotel is one of the most enjoyable stays we have had in our travelling experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeMcDonald, Manager at Travelodge Mirambeena Resort Darwin, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear shed_gal

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Travelodge Mirambeena Resort Darwin.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the resort on your next stay.

Kindest regards
Elliot Agius
Relief Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    220
    178
    69
    46
See reviews for
118
206
71
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NSW South Coast
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

I went away with my family for 5 days , I had my own room. 2 Queen beds, overlooking carpartk but heard no noise from tour buses coming and going all hours of the night. Clean room, cable TV, I had a dripping toilet on arrival.On my way out for the afternoon I mentioned it to the front desk, on my return toilet was fixed and I had a bottle of champagne to enjoy. Staff where friendly and helpful. Pool was warm but not much they can do about that. Drinks and food at pool bar and restaurant a bit steep. Shopping center across the road and eateries close by. There were 2 fire alarms that went off the fisrt morning and we had to evacuate once, but problem fixed and staff informative. There was internet computers for $2 for 5 mins which was helpful to check flights and book a car. Hallways not airconditioned but rooms airconditioner going 24/7.All up a good experience, not sure if a room near the pool would be good .

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeMcDonald, Manager at Travelodge Mirambeena Resort Darwin, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear odie673

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Travelodge Mirambeena Resort Darwin.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the resort on your next stay.

Kindest regards
Elliot Agius
Relief Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

This was the only accommodation my company was able to book at the last minute for our unscheduled requirement for sleep in the middle of two night shifts.

Unfortunately, on opening each of our three rooms, they had a very overpowering damp, musty smell. The rooms were dirty, tired and all electrical appliances were past their re-inspection dates. The queen/king bed was made up of two beds pushed together with a cover to try and keep them from moving apart. The mattresses were fairly hard. The shower was dirty and had mould on the walls. The split system airconditioner leaked water.

We ate breakfast and dinner in the restaurant which supplied good quality food.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeMcDonald, Manager at Travelodge Mirambeena Resort Darwin, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
To the ConnanFamily

Thank you for feedback in the form of a Tripadvisor review. We appreciate feedback, both positive and negative. The positive feedback helps us know where we are going well and the negative feedback helps us identify areas for improvement. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. We have discussed the areas identified in your review.
We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future here at Travelodge Mirambeena Resort Darwin.

Kindest regards
Elliot Agius
Relief Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

Spent one night here in a self-contained 'townhouse' as no rooms were available. Townhouse was spacious but had only basic equipment. Pool is welcome break from humidity but hotel was looking tired and in need of some work. Breakfast OK. Location not scenic but close to centre.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

Was looking for something reasonably priced with a decent pool. Searched via a last minute site and the Mirambeena came up as the cheapest. However, the amenities and service were excellent. Had booked a standard room but think I was upgraded as the room I had was very good. Being the wet season there weren't a lot of guests. (Winter is their busy season). Was just wanting a quiet place to stay so spent my time by the pool with only about 4 other people at any given time. Amenities also include a laundry and gym. Gym consisted of a walker and step machine, some weights and a swiss ball if you were so inclined. Also had a restaurant but didn't use it as the prices were a bit steep. Only a couple of streets away from the centre of town although as the Resort is set well back from the street frontage I didn't notice any city noise. However I had a pool facing room rather than street facing so I guess it could have been different if I had been on the other side. Staff were very friendly and helpful (and it didn't seem forced). A shuttle from the airport is $12 and takes you straight to the door. THe room I had was very modern and clean. Overall had a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeMcDonald, Manager at Travelodge Mirambeena Resort Darwin, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear DocNewZealand

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Travelodge Mirambeena Resort Darwin.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the resort on your next stay.

Kindest regards
Elliot Agius
Relief Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

We stayed in the newly refurbished 4* rooms which were very comfortable. We had 2 queen size beds which was great to put the cases on the spare bed. The 2 pools are very nice and refreshing. Our cheap rate of AUD$62 a night (Hotels.com) did not include breakfast which we thought quite expensive at $21 per person (we had our own museli in our room) and no free internet or WIFI. For this reason we only gave it a 4/5.

The hotel is centrally located to Darwin city sights and there is a Woolworths supermarket across the road. The hotel is just 2 blocks from Mitchell Street which is the main eating and entertainment area of Darwin.

The room was a good size, quiet and kept lovely and clean and the bathroom was a good size with a wonderful power shower.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeMcDonald, Manager at Travelodge Mirambeena Resort Darwin, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear travelpeeks

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Travelodge Mirambeena Resort Darwin.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the resort on your next stay.

Kindest regards
Elliot Agius
Relief Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Beach, FL
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
192 hotel reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Numerous small issues besides price. The standard room has a plugin internet connection next to the bed and across the room from a table. They provide a 6' cable which eliminates using the table. They have no longer cord and said this is the standard room set-up. And for this they want $20 per day. After strongly objecting to this setup, they upgraded me to a business room with a normal setup. Another small issue is that you have to go up and down steps to get into the lobby from the street/parking area. A real pain with luggage. The same is true for many of their upstairs standard rooms. The business rooms are in the main building and have an elevator. We only came to this hotel (reservations) in order to be downtown and had they not upgraded us, I would have returned to the Darwin Airport Inn which we had stayed at earlier in the trip and loved

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Mirambeena Resort Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Mirambeena Resort Darwin

Address: 64 Cavenagh St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0801, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Mirambeena)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Darwin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Mirambeena Resort Darwin 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Travelodge Mirambeena Resort Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Mirambeena Resort Darwin Hotel Darwin
Travelodge Mirambeena Hotel Darwin
Travelodge Darwin
Travel Lodge Darwin
Darwin Travelodge
Darwin Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Mirambeena Resort Darwin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.