We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical pub grub!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cav

The Cav
12 Cavenagh St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
+61 8 8941 6383
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 255 Restaurants in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
383 reviews 383 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Typical pub grub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This place does awesome steak!! And a heap of other great feeds. Have left feeling satisfied and quite bloated each time I've been here. Very good food at a reasonable price and lively atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    76
    12
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brazilian BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Had dinner there on 12 July - lucky we booked as it was packed. Sat outside and had the Brazilian BBQ at $40 per person. What can I say - the food was excellent - cooked to perfection and some interesting tastes. And the service was just right - lovely to see happy smiling faces delivering your food. Would highly recommend the BBQ, but also the a la cate menu - have had lunch and dinner here a few times and the food has always been excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is our local hotel but in 8 months living in town we had never visited. Decided to call in for dinner on our way home from work. What a shame we had never visited before. Service was very friendly and efficient. Good wine list and the menu was interesting. We both enjoyed our salads and the Arancini Ball entree. Will certainly visit again. Can't imagine why we hesitated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Hill, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I would stay here again..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Very well situated hotel with good facilities. Rooms were very bright in the morning due to a sky light which couldn't be covered, but were very quiet at night so easy to sleep. Vacuuming did seem to begin at around 830am, so not much chance of a sleep in. Great hotel though, I would definitely stay again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

More than just a pub. they have good meals and friendly staff. Beer is icy cold and its the only bottle shop open late in the city I could find.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cav also viewed

 

Been to The Cav? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cav, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.