We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Cafe Boatshed Coffee House

Boardwalk Cafe Boatshed Coffee House
54-56 Marina Boulevarde, Darwin, Northern Territory NT 820, Australia
+61 8 8981 0200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #157 of 248 Restaurants in Darwin
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This place is bad, expensive bad coffee with arrogant owner and rude staff. Terrible food. don't go. Pitty it's sometimes the only place open down at Cullen Bay.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    36
    26
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ordinary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We visited this cafe after checking out other reviews on Trip Advisor but were disappointed. 3 children wanted pancakes (pretty much the only kid friendly breakfast item on the menu) and when I went to order them was told they had run out! How can you run out of pancakes? Had they run out of flour and milk? Having spent a week making pancakes in the outback for 9 people I was tempted to step into the kitchen and offer them a hand but really wanted someone to cook for me for a change. Anyway we ordered a couple of serves of raisin toast (burnt) for the kids and then they disappeared to the kids room (smelly) to watch The Little Mermaid. (so I guess that's a plus). Our breakfasts were average and for the price I guess it just wasn't good value.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem Land
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Boardwalk at Cullen Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Have visited the Boatshed many times for Lunch and found the food great and reasonably priced nicely shaded looking over the marina with good staff make this a must

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Serving mugs of hot coffee in bowls with no handles is not quirky - it is just plain dangerous. And then I received my muesli & yoghurt in a coffee mug.....crockery issues perhaps?
Chasing the cooked breakfast around in a frypan that spins erratically was also not a recommended way to charm patrons either.
Final straw - the lack of customer relations from some of the staff. This used to be a great venue - but the locals are now saying steer clear and let them aggravate the tourists

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“good coffee and breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Read about this in the local tourist magazine and thought I'd give this barrista a try. It is a 'pick a table, counter order and have the food brought out. I got my eggs benedict and was finished eating well before the latte was done. after waiting 15 more minutes I headed to the barista counter. My order was coming up - I got it take away. But it seemed obvious that the barista's local fame was overwhelming the operation, especially during times.
The coffee was good, better then most, but the long wait for it - over 45 minutes - made it only average.
I'd recommend for breakfast and coffee, but avoid weekend peak times.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boardwalk Cafe Boatshed Coffee House also viewed

 

Been to Boardwalk Cafe Boatshed Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Cafe Boatshed Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.