We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun For The Kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leanyer Recreation Park

Leanyer Recreation Park
215 Vanderlin Drive, Darwin, Northern Territory 0812, Australia
+61 8 8927 4199
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 95 things to do in Darwin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: On November 15th 2010, the YMCA proudly assumed management of the Leanyer Recreation Park. Entry is free to this fantastic venue.The Park consists of dry and wet recreational area's. There are 3 massive water slides where you can ride the water, a water park with swimming area's and a water playground, just the place to get wet and splash around in. There is also a dry play ground, a skate park, a half basketball court, BBQ's, a Cafe and lots of shaded area'sThe newly opened cafe is a great place for a coffee and a bite to eat. it also has catering available to busy mums and other organizations. menu's are available on our website.The Recreation Park is open daily from 8am to 8pm. The Water Park is open Wednesday to Sunday from 10am to 7pm during school terms. During School Holidays we are open every day from 10am to 7pm. On Public Holidays we are also open from 10am - 7pm.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Fun For The Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Take a picnic, sunscreen, hat and enjoy the slides and water play. Slides, water play, lagoon and playground!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    35
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Got all this for free!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We went here just because it was free. That was a good idea. The kids loved it but claimed that the blue and yellow slides hurt where the sections overlapped. The water playground looked the most fun, with a huge bucket that poured water about every three minutes and twenty seconds. There is also a big pool that starts out shallow and gets to be about, I suppose, one meter deep. The lifeguards seem oblivious to their surroundings. The normal playground next to the waterpark and the skate park look good.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous, family fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

What an amazing free venue. Our kids loved it, as did we. Clean, lifeguards keeping a close eye.
Cant believe it was free .Highly recommend.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just gross”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Me and my family had just landed in Darwin and were going to go to Singapore in 3 hours,so we went to leanyer water park. It was 35 degrees celsius and we needed a cool down and went in the water immediately.

The slides were good but extremely crowded. Then after one or two times on the slides I got sick of the traffic.

Then the most hygienic thing happened, somebody pooped in the water and everything except for those slides that pricked you was closed.

Could have got diseased and I don't want to go there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“FREE family fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Leanyer water park is great for the kids!! It has waterslides, a swimming pool, a little water playground for the younger ones who aren’t big enough for the slides, plus dry playgrounds and BBQ areas all for FREE. There is also shower & toilets here along with a canteen and lifesavers to better watch your safety. My partner and his kids usually go but one is too little for the big slides, so we decided to make a weekend for us adults to have a day on the water slides just ourselves!! You can never be too old!! So much fun and all at the cost of bringing your own lunch 

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leanyer Recreation Park also viewed

 

Been to Leanyer Recreation Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leanyer Recreation Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.