We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thailicious

Thailicious
18 & 26/69 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
08 8941 9966
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 230 restaurants in Darwin
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Melb
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was dining alone and the staff were really friendly and the food was fantastic.
I had the Chilli Duck and there was loads of duck in it! Could have used some more chilli but they gave me some extra so all good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    29
    40
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Thaiscrumptious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This place was brilliant. Excellent atmosphere upstairs overlooking the street. The two dishes we ate were mouth- watering GOOD. I will go back there, next time I visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Thai Done Well”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The restaurant doesn't portray to be anything fancy, what it is though is pretty good food reasonably priced for Darwin in a busy location
One of our party mentioned she could have been in a Thai town lots of hustle and bustle from Mitchell Street and the noise of people having a good time
You sit upstairs and that gives you the chane to look over the street life but there are plenty of other table at the back for a quieter evening
All of our food was good and everyone commented on it being such, all the usual Thai fare is available and the portion sizes are large making an opportunity to let everyone mix and match the dishes, one large bowl of rice sufficed between five would you believe
Maybe there was a little wait for our food but the place is busy and the food freshly prepared and it was peak time Friday night
Darwin is toe curlingly expensive so this restaurant proved good value compared to to many in the town

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnderTheStairs
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Overpriced and underwhelminh...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The only thing going for this place is the location.
Slow service, long waiting times, very expensive wine list, and overpriced food that is put to shame by any one of the market stalls in the various markets around Darwin. Dined with 7 other to uniform disappointment across the table. A sit down meal with friends is a lovely experience so you make the most of it so while the overall experience wasn't so awful as to cause us to start rioting (or complain or whatever) I definitely recommende against this restaurant and wouldn't go back myself. There's much better restaurants in town.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Well positioned right in the heart of Mitchell St”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

After walking up and down Mitchell ST looking for a nice place to eat, we decided on Thailicious.
The staff were quick and attentive, the restaurant is licensed, and the wine list well priced and comprehensive enough for this style of restaurant.
I had the Tom Kha soup for entree which was up there with one of the best I have tasted, and the Panang curry for a main which was really big serving which I could not even finish.
Very good value for money and would highly recommend eating here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thailicious also viewed

 

Been to Thailicious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thailicious, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.