We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never even made it past the hopeless booking staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Palmerston Sunset Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darwin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palmerston Sunset Retreat
8 Renwick Court, Darwin, Northern Territory 0830, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREE Wi Fi and Parking
Ranked #4 of 18 Darwin B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never even made it past the hopeless booking staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Emailed to request prices. Got email back. Went ahead with booking for a single night's stay. Credit card was immediately charged in error for 4 nights. Called to ask them to fix this. Get told they have a minimum 2 nights stay and I have to find somewhere else. So now they have an empty room and a furious non-customer who not only doesn't have their refund yet, but has nowhere to stay either. RUBBISH.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerstonSunset, Owner at Palmerston Sunset Retreat, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Management of Palmerston Sunset Retreat was of the understanding your booking was for 4 nights.
We were also happy to accommodate your earlier check in at no additional cost.

A 50% deposit was taken ( ie 2 Nights accommodation ) and a confirmation emailed sent which is normal booking practice by our Property. 4 nights payment was not transacted.
Unfortunately there was a misunderstanding and that only ONE nights accommodation was in fact required.
Our property has a min 2 night stay policy and as discussed we would not accommodate a 1 night stay and we would transact a refund to your account.
The original deposit was transacted at 13:26pm
The refund was transacted at 16:08pm less than 20 mins after the cancellation telephone conversation at 3:50pm.
We have also provided email advice and copies of the eFPOS transactions for your records.

We are dissapointed that this misunderstanding occurred and apologise for any part we may have played in it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
7
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I had the pleasure to stay at this B & B recently, had to stay in Palmerstone for a Police reunion and 50th birthday. My only regret was that I could only stay for 2 nights. Bryan and Jan are just wonderful owners and make you feel so welcome. Great location, quiet, roomy basically everything you could want is provided. I'll be back and so should you !!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Was the first B&B we have ever stayed in and was definatly a positive experience, room was fresh and very clean. Bed was amazing and had a nice new bathroom with an awesome shower head. Had a communal kitchen and laundry that was great to use. Owners were very nice and went the extra mile, breakfast was yummy with fresh fruit and lots of cerial to choose from, we even got crossants one morning. Palmerston was perfect out of the hussle and bussle but close enough to travel into the city. Palmerston has everything shopping centre, super clinic, dental service, doctors, cinema, take aways you really dont need to leave the suberb. I would highly recommend this place to stay and will definaly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin River, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We come from a crowded city with hardly any space and wildlife and found Eden to be the perfect getaway for us. We are into nature photography and bird watching and the birdbaths at Eden were an excellent way to photograph some of the common garden birds in the Top End

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Thanks to Jan and Brian for a memorable stay, true Territorians, they could not do enough to help with any info we needed. The rooms are decorated beautifully, intact if my suitcase was bigger, the table and bedside lamps may well have gone missing. Set in a cul de sac, there was minimal noise and to my surprise we were able to sleep in as the beautiful trees created natural light barriers. Jan and Brian have provided a home away from home, with all comforts needed... they are there to help but also non-intrusive. Thanks again, would recommend Palmerston Sunset Retreat to all.... Ali, Brenton, Mia and Lexi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lincoln
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is our first time at B&B accomodation and we were very pleasantly surprised. Our hosts Jan & Brian were very friendly and helpfull at all times. My wife and I were upstairs, and our daughter son in-law and 2 grand daughters had the downstairs suite. Our rooms were very neat and clean, we couldn't have been happier. It was nice to come home to the retreat after a day out and about to enjoy relaxing in the nice outdoor areas provided and watch the large screen TV. Our GPS played up for two days, so next thing Jan brought theirs down for us to use.
The Grandkids loved the pool.
We have no problem to recommend the "Palmerston Sunset Retreat" Delightfull!!
Barbara, Tony, Alison, Brenton, Mia & Lexi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

What a very nice place to stay, hosts Jan & Brian were friendly and very approachable, was just like a home away from home. The room was comfortable and clean and tastfully furnished. Sitting on the balcony each morning eating breakfast listening to the birds, was a great start to the day. We would definately return to the Palmerston Sunset Reatreat and encourage others to do so.
Byron and Lyn

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palmerston Sunset Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmerston Sunset Retreat

Address: 8 Renwick Court, Darwin, Northern Territory 0830, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Tropical Bed & Breakfast in Darwin with Private 1 & 2 Bedroom Suites seperate to owners Accom. Tropical Gardens and adjoining parklands in central location. Enroute to Darwin's major attractions Kakadu National Park, Wildlife Park & Crocodile Farm. The property has a large Saltwater Swimming Pool (Solar heated), wide spacious verandahs with all suites tastefully furnished with quality linen and amenities. Poolside Kitchen & BBQ facilities. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmerston Sunset Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Palmerston Sunset Retreat to your Saves list