We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too much buzz, not enough service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buzz Cafe

Buzz Cafe
48 Marina Bvd | Cullen Bay, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
08 8941 1141
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #154 of 234 Restaurants in Darwin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Nathalia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“too much buzz, not enough service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had lunch at Buzz Café twice in the past week. No problems with the food, Great outlook.
Very poor service on both occasions. Staff were not only slow, but simply did not seem to know
what they were doing! We had to chase up drinks, received the wrong ones. Meals, when they arrived, were fine, but then chasing drinks again. On our first visit, we had to find the wait staff in order to pay the bill. could quite easily have walked, and perhaps less honest customers do. it then took some time for the waiter to actually put the bill together, with some help from the manager, who seemed to be busy entertaining guests or friends.
just not professional at all. I guess the location and atmosphere are enough, and the rest does
not seem to be important. won't bother going back., better options in Darwin.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    34
    28
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Forgotten about..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I visited on a work trip and finished work late and came to join my uncle and auntie for tea who were travelling to Darwin separately to myself.
I arrived at about 10pm and sat down to choose my food quickly (I hadn't expected the kitchen to still be open but my family were still waiting on their meals). I got up to order and it was a few minutes before I was acknowledged by anyone. When I asked if I could order I was told them the kitchen was closed. I asked them how that could be as my family had been waiting for their meal for well over an hour! (Maybe even an hour and a half)
The waitress seemed a bit panicked and spoke with the kitchen. I sat down and a few minutes later she returned to let me know that meals would only be a few minutes and she was very sorry and all our meals would be on the house- great!
She returned with our drinks and then re-informed us that my meal would not be free as mine was not a mistake. I hadn't expected my meal to be free and thought it was very kind of them, but to say it was and then take it back isn't going over and above to satisfy very hungry annoyed forgotten about customers. It put a bit of a sour taste in my mouth to be honest.

The place seems disorganised, my uncle and auntie ordered half a dozen oysters as an entree and received a dozen. Turns out it was lucky that they stuffed the amount up or they would have been even more hungry.

Food was amazing, we all had the fish. If you go here I would recommend that.
If you want good customer service and your meals on time then this is not the place for you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Went there with some work colleagues for dinner. Food was delivered in a timely manner, tasted great and was fresh. No complaints from any of us. Prices were reasonable and staff were friendly.
Location on the water was great and the atmosphere was nice.
Men, enjoy the bathroom! You will understand when you go there!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We only had lunch here. Service was good and food good too. Great position and nice and cool.

Would return again, if ever in Darwin

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

After waiting for a long time we got entree before our drinks or water arrived! Wait staff were run off their feet, not enough waiters until 1 hr later! Salads were excellent and waitress did come and apologise for delays. Management need to lift their game on service as their food was great.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buzz Cafe also viewed

 
Darwin, Top End
 

Been to Buzz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buzz Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.